We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
307
370
166
60
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
370
166
60
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua restaurant spin cafe magnetic island quarter duck deluxe room room service beautiful room ferry terminal an upgrade mini bar would stay again castle hill lille quarterdeck marina strand executive
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 946 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

My first stay at the recently refurbished Ville did not disappoint. Rooms are furnished in a tropical style, comfortable and quiet. Great view of the ocean. Room service for breakfast was good and delivered on time. Would stay again.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms on higher floors are good
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ExplorerGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVilleResortCasino, Manager at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thanks for the review ExplorerGabor! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

I stay here pretty regularly for business and it is usually quite good, this trip wasn't an exception to that. The only downfall this trip was I ordered some room service steak and after about a 30min wait (which was fine) my meal was very disappointing. The steak was very underdone, asked for Medium rare, and got rare (pic attached), and the chips were cold. Not sure how long it was sitting under a warmer for but was pretty average.

I would have asked for it to be cooked more but this stage it was already 9pm and wasn't prepared to wait longer to eat.

The room facilities are excellent now, and the ocean views are fantastic. The new pool area looks amazing and cannot wait to use them when it warms up!

Room tip: ocean view rooms are excellent.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVilleResortCasino, Manager at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Hi Matt - thanks so much for the review. We're so pleased to hear how much you enjoy staying with us. Unfortunate to hear about your disappointing in-room dining experience, though. We're really sorry that your meal wasn't up to standard. We're more than happy to cook you another meal if you're not happy, but we totally understand why you didn't on this occasion. Looking forward to seeing you back next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Great venue for a recent work trip made, didn’t stay as we were only there to run a conference. Food and drinks were readily available and staff efficient and friendly.
Terrace out the back overlooking magnetic island was fantastic and a really nice vibe after the conference was done, while we waited until we needed to get to the airport.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVilleResortCasino, Manager at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Thanks so much for your review David! We're delighted to hear that you were so happy with the way your conference turned out. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

My family and I have long awaited the opening of the new 'Palm House' at 'The Ville' as we were regulars at the old 'Aqua' which was great.

What have you done ?

The price has increased and the quality has gone backwards.

Seafood - Dessert size bowls for 'seafood waste shells', prawns no bigger than small shrimp that one would not use for bait, no taste at all and crab that has past its use by date about a week prior. Terrible seafood.

Cooking station - Then lets talk about the 'cooking station' ? Over 30 minutes to be served a tuff , overcooked 70 gram steak. No gravy option ? Full of grizzle could not even rate it a 1.

Dessert bar - well if you are not 6 foot tall you cant even reach most of it. Sliding doors that allows at most two people at a time to access it. Spoon size 'desserts'. Terrible.

Customer Service - even after all of the above we decided to give 'Palm House' another go as a buffet fits in well with a 'mixed party' of adults and kids. I phoned today to make a booking. Seven (7) phone calls between 4-5pm with no answer. At last an answer. I requested a table 'inside' for the sole reason one of the party had a disability (one leg) but I was told that an inside table (close to the buffet) could not be guaranteed just because of disability.

I then phoned back sometime later to lodge a formal complaint.

The result?

I ended up being transferred to the same rude 'non English' speaking female I wished to complaint about.

Terrible customer service 'The Ville'.

We have booked elsewhere.

Avoid this place people. it is a disgrace.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVilleResortCasino, Manager at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hi Deano - We're really sorry that you were less than impressed with your experience at The Palm House and for the trouble you had afterwards. This is certainly not in line with the service we strive for and we'd like to chat to you about it to find out more information.

Could you please email us at tsv.marketing@the-ville.com.au and we'll get the venue manager to get in touch with you to talk through your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

First impressions - good check in. Room (resort suite) looked amazing. I have to say that all the staff from restaurants to casino to rooms were very polite a and obliging. Unfortunately that’s were it stops. The food (tried Quarterdeck, Palm House and Spin) was mediocre at best. The blurb advises you to forget what you knew about buffets. I would advise forgetting about the Palm House altogether. Bland, boring and overpriced. And then the room. Looked amazing but the walls, floors, ceiling are all paper thin. You can hear everything from everywhere. So after 3 sleepless nights, thanks to very inconsiderate guests either on the side or on top, we checked out a day early. Could not stand it anymore. Lastly the hotel was no atmosphere. You are a mile from town (which is also dead and run down). As a resort destination it is sadly lacking a good vibe. Do yourself a favour and do the resorts in Cairns instead. This place would be hard pushed to get repeat business from a discerning traveller. They will undoubtedly attract the bogans who wish to party on weekends and disturb everyone else.

Room tip: Don’t bother
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cheffie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVilleResortCasino, Manager at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hi Cheffie - Thanks for taking some time to give us some feedback about your stay. We're sorry to hear you weren't happy with the experience. You've made some really good points about things we can improve on so we'll pass on your comments to the management team so we can rectify these issues. Hopefully you'll give us another chance the next time you visit Townsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews