We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, secluded, exotic ... amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Bedarra Island Retreat
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have had the good fortune of staying at East Bedarra Island Retreat a few times with my wife, her parents and, on one occasion, with my young children (by special permission of course). The location is to die for - completely exclusive. The warm ocean water, secluded beaches and meandering rainforest walkways make this the ultimate getaway destination for the people seeking privacy and relaxation. The amenities are world class - you'll feel like Richard Branson!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

After being to many very special places in Australia and around the world East Bedarra Retreat provided us with an experience that is hard to define in a few words.

You set the pace! Not a tour operator or a resort manager, you. Walk through spectacular scenery, snorkel, swim, kayak, walk on the reef at low tide or just relax in a property that's just right. And for those with a little experience quality reef fish can be caught right at your door.

No deadlines to meet - no people - no pressure.

Caretakers that are there when you want or invisible if that's what you want.

Not just a holiday - an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Not applicable to this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

From the moment we stepped of our water taxi we knew we were in a very very special place. From the amazing deck out over the water we could sip champagne and watch the sunset, read a book, watch tv, listen to music or simply be. On our first morning we had fresh fish for breakfast that we had just caught. Over our incredibly relaxing week we walked near the reef at low tide, ate oysters, strolled through beautiful tracks to see even more of our beautiful home for the week, ate pawpaws from our garden and recharged our batteries. The accommodation was amazing , to be able to wake up every morning and see the water from our bedroom was a special treat. Everything was immaculate , the kitchen a delight to cook in , the garden a treat to wander in and the Moet on arrival had us knowing we were in for a week full of wonderful memories. We will be back again and again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Peaceful & relaxing. The deck is massive with lovely little sitting spots and a daybed.

The trip over was much shorter than I thought it would be (25 mins) and Mission beach is undoubtedly one of the more nicer and quieter beaches on the nth qld coastline.

The atmosphere on the island is incredible! Even though there are a few other places dotted about the island, you still feel like the only ones on it and you never see anyone! This is the first time in a while that we have actually put our feet up and completely zoned out.

We haven't seen a turtle yet but we arrived not long after cyclone Ita, so the water isn't as clear as it usually is - but still gorgeous. The hosts Lindsey and Ben were very helpful and welcoming.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After a year of Chemo and operations it was my dream to revisit East Bedarra Island Retreat. A time to celebrate life and share this time with my family. To wake up each morning looking at every sunrise on the deck and walking on the beach was enough to appreciate how special this location is as there is no place like this in the world, for serenity, everything is provided to make you feel completely chilled and relaxed . I'm now ready for the year ahead and can't wait til I next return . I can recommend if you are wanting to rejuvenate and feel as if you've pressed the refresh key this is a must do.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coralan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our second visit to Bedarra. 10 years ago I proposed to my wife here. This visit, we found that the house had been renovated and was even more spectacular than before, which says a lot because It was magical then. There is such a Zen like vibe and coupled with the snorkeling, kayaking and hiking, it offers the complete choice of serenity and/or activity. We love this paradise. What the beautiful pictures don't show is the aura of bliss that envelopes you from the moment you arrive.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

East Bedarra Island Retreat is the premier romantic getaway, remarkable relaxing holiday, and overall the most beautiful experience I have ever had. I have never been so happy and stress-free in my life. The privacy and serenity was perfection.

It is perfect for any type of individual. You can spend your days snorkeling, laying in the sun, kayaking, reading, hiking, swimming, watching the wildlife, feeding the fish, and basically whatever you want your dream vacation to be. We spent 4 days there which felt like weeks of relaxation, but I would have stayed weeks more.

The descriptions and photos provided are absolutely accurate, but nothing can really prepare you for the beauty of Bedarra. I would head there any day for a romantic getaway, honeymoon, family time, or any excuse basically to go back there. One of my favorite parts was feeding the eel our left over food and spotting the fish as I snorkeled. The turtles are incredible! Colin and Elaine, the caretakers, were so incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, but we were given complete privacy. We were there for New Years and it was the best way I've ever spent a holiday. Please, take me back to Bedarra.

Room Tip: No need to choose a room, this retreat is made for one booking only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
20.3 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
161 reviews
14.9 km away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
32.0 km away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 km away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
17.8 km away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
90 reviews
16.0 km away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 22 in Mission Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bedarra Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bedarra Island Retreat

Address: Bedarra Island, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedarra Island
Price Range: $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — East Bedarra Island Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private, luxury villa accommodation for couples is set on one of Australia's most coveted waterfront locations on the Great Barrier Reef making it one of the best honeymoon destinations in Australia. Escape to a tropical island, where rainforest meets reef and blue oceans caress unspoiled beaches. A private retreat and luxurious oasis, where love and romance are a celebration and nature is your host. Whether it's just the two of you barefoot on the beach, or an intimate gathering, Bedarra Island is the perfect island wedding location to exchange your vows. Large wedding receptions of 200 guests can be accommodated on nearby Mission Beach, leaving the newlyweds to enjoy a private island honeymoon.May through October is known as the dry season in Australia’s tropics, with perfect temperatures (20°C/68°F) and clear blue skies. So if you’re feeling the winter blues, escape to the East Bedarra Island for a romantic winter getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Bedarra Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Bedarra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing