We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
90
2
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
2
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonmission beachwater taxiprivate beachultimate privacymillion milestotal privacybeautiful deckpure luxurybreakfast each morninghigh tidesea turtlesnatural beautyoutdoor showerwonderful caretakersdeck chairsthe great barrier reef
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 97 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

What an amazing holiday! Complete relaxation, with total privacy. Marg and Mike, the caretakers, more than helpful and very friendly at all times. Beautifully set up and decorated. A fabulous, very large deck with amazing views and variety of seating and relaxation arrangements. Amazing sunsets, which can be enjoyed on the deck, or take a short walk up to the lookout to enjoy the sunrise. The double kayak supplied is a great way to see around this beautiful island paradise. It was also great for us as we caught many and varied fish species from the kayak every day, coral trout being abundant and a great treat for lunch most days. Carefully planning helps with self catering and to make sure you have adequate supplies of food and drinks for the entire stay. Basic pantry requisites are supplied, which Marg advises well of in the lead up to the stay. We hired a boat from Mission Beach boat hire, which was a good way to spend a day seeing the surrounding islands. Our transfers with Mission Beach Charters were fuss-free, with Bec and Jase being very helpful with planning, information and advice. They looked after our hire car while we were on the island and had it waiting at the boat ramp for us on our return. Gene and Sharon, owners of East Bedarra Retreat, are also extremely helpful in planning your holiday and ensuring you have the perfect escape to paradise.

Room Tip: This is a stand alone villa, privately owned and operated.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gpbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stars1907, Manager at East Bedarra Island Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hi Pauline, thank you for your review and the time to write it as you will appreciate guests who have not yet visited or experienced this magical luxury island retreat, would find it difficult to picture what to expect from travel to food provisions to location and what to expect. I m so delighted that you both loved it as much as we do, it really is difficult to explain until you are actually there on the deck, snorkeling, kayaking and really being part of the island. Im so happy that you both caught so many coral trout what a treat! We look forward to when you next return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

I took my family to East Bedarra for a week getaway and what a getaway, we had so much fun (that's without any temptation to use ipads, phones etc - the kids forgot we had them). The beach's were crystal clear, with clean sand, palm trees, coconuts etc, the perfect holiday. The seclusion was great, sunset and sunrise were amazing, fishing was excellent, snorking over the reef was awesome and kayaking was superb with clam water, we could kayak around parts of the island.
I highly recommend a visit, as it has all the creature comforts you need including a full kitchen, bbq, ensuite, nice beds etc ...

Room Tip: Best views
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jbryden1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stars1907, Owner at East Bedarra Island Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor this will assist new guests researching. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future. This week we have had the whales sighted from the deck, one of the many beautiful features of East Bedarra Island Retreat during winter and the days are 28 degrees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

So well designed. The most relaxed and refreshed i have ever been. Stunningly beautiful. Easy. Love the place. Super surprise present. Island is beautiful. Every moment has been enjoyed. This place has everything you need. I will be back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2017

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend an incredible 5 nights experiencing the tranquil magic of East Bedarra. We spent a lot of time just relaxing on the deck, watching the moods of the ocean. Fish, turtles, amazing beaches, breathtaking views. The private pool was great, a night-time dip under the stars is hard to beat.
A half day spent kayaking and snorkelling around the Island is highly recommended.
Beautifully clean and well appointed .The boat trip to the island was a great way to start the adventure.
Hopefully we can return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie7692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

What a place!!!
The moment we arrived on the beach at Bedarra Island we felt we were a million miles from anywhere. Our hosts, Mike & Marg met us off the boat and showed us around the island and the amazing house before departing themselves back to the mainland. The house is everything you could wish for on an island escape and more. From the king size bed, to the private pool & beach, to the sound of the waves, to the sight of fireflies at night...just superb.
From the moment we booked our stay to the time we had to depart, we have never experienced such terrific customer service. Our hosts gave us all the necessary information prior to leaving home to ensure we booked our transport, found the best local produce (including local wine) before we left the mainland for our 30 minute boat ride to Bedarra Island.

What an amazing total experience!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews