We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Bedarra Island Retreat
Reviewed 20 September 2017

At the beginning of September, I was taken to the most stunning location. My husband had planned a last minute surprise honeymoon for us, and I had no idea what to expect.... but it certainly wasn't this place. It's been almost 2 weeks since we left and I'm still blown away and scrambling to find the words to describe our time away. I knew places like this existed, but I never thought I'd see one. And now that we have, I just want us to go back.

The 3 hosts we were greeted by are super friendly and inviting and they let us know all the things to do and see. The house is beautiful and each detail inside and out is fantastic. Going to bed and waking up listening to waves and the sight just from our bed, had us waking with smiles on our faces.... But that front Deck! When we weren't out and about on the island snorkeling or kayaking right around the island, we were out there,right on the water-Day and night, taking in that amazing view and watching Whales! 2 days in a row we spotted a couple of whales all from our doorstep. The pool that is carved into the rock and filled from the ocean is awesome.

This was exactly what we needed. A chance to unwind, relax and just be with each other. We have incredible and special memories from our honeymoon at East Bedarra Island. I hope we return here one day, because it was just that perfect!

I could go on and on and still never feel like I've done this place justice. You really should experience this place.

Room Tip: amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank TiffH-04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

What an amazing holiday! Complete relaxation, with total privacy. Marg and Mike, the caretakers, more than helpful and very friendly at all times. Beautifully set up and decorated. A fabulous, very large deck with amazing views and variety of seating and relaxation arrangements. Amazing sunsets, which can be enjoyed on the deck, or take a short walk up to the lookout to enjoy the sunrise. The double kayak supplied is a great way to see around this beautiful island paradise. It was also great for us as we caught many and varied fish species from the kayak every day, coral trout being abundant and a great treat for lunch most days. Carefully planning helps with self catering and to make sure you have adequate supplies of food and drinks for the entire stay. Basic pantry requisites are supplied, which Marg advises well of in the lead up to the stay. We hired a boat from Mission Beach boat hire, which was a good way to spend a day seeing the surrounding islands. Our transfers with Mission Beach Charters were fuss-free, with Bec and Jase being very helpful with planning, information and advice. They looked after our hire car while we were on the island and had it waiting at the boat ramp for us on our return. Gene and Sharon, owners of East Bedarra Retreat, are also extremely helpful in planning your holiday and ensuring you have the perfect escape to paradise.

Room Tip: This is a stand alone villa, privately owned and operated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gpbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stars1907, Manager at East Bedarra Island Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Pauline, thank you for your review and the time to write it as you will appreciate guests who have not yet visited or experienced this magical luxury island retreat, would find it difficult to picture what to expect from travel to food provisions to location and what to expect. I m so delighted that you both loved it as much as we do, it really is difficult to explain until you are actually there on the deck, snorkeling, kayaking and really being part of the island. Im so happy that you both caught so many coral trout what a treat! We look forward to when you next return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I took my family to East Bedarra for a week getaway and what a getaway, we had so much fun (that's without any temptation to use ipads, phones etc - the kids forgot we had them). The beach's were crystal clear, with clean sand, palm trees, coconuts etc, the perfect holiday. The seclusion was great, sunset and sunrise were amazing, fishing was excellent, snorking over the reef was awesome and kayaking was superb with clam water, we could kayak around parts of the island.
I highly recommend a visit, as it has all the creature comforts you need including a full kitchen, bbq, ensuite, nice beds etc ...

Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jbryden1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stars1907, Owner at East Bedarra Island Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor this will assist new guests researching. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future. This week we have had the whales sighted from the deck, one of the many beautiful features of East Bedarra Island Retreat during winter and the days are 28 degrees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

So well designed. The most relaxed and refreshed i have ever been. Stunningly beautiful. Easy. Love the place. Super surprise present. Island is beautiful. Every moment has been enjoyed. This place has everything you need. I will be back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend an incredible 5 nights experiencing the tranquil magic of East Bedarra. We spent a lot of time just relaxing on the deck, watching the moods of the ocean. Fish, turtles, amazing beaches, breathtaking views. The private pool was great, a night-time dip under the stars is hard to beat.
A half day spent kayaking and snorkelling around the Island is highly recommended.
Beautifully clean and well appointed .The boat trip to the island was a great way to start the adventure.
Hopefully we can return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie7692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

What a place!!!
The moment we arrived on the beach at Bedarra Island we felt we were a million miles from anywhere. Our hosts, Mike & Marg met us off the boat and showed us around the island and the amazing house before departing themselves back to the mainland. The house is everything you could wish for on an island escape and more. From the king size bed, to the private pool & beach, to the sound of the waves, to the sight of fireflies at night...just superb.
From the moment we booked our stay to the time we had to depart, we have never experienced such terrific customer service. Our hosts gave us all the necessary information prior to leaving home to ensure we booked our transport, found the best local produce (including local wine) before we left the mainland for our 30 minute boat ride to Bedarra Island.

What an amazing total experience!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

My wife and I had researched at great length retreats all over QLD... Somewhere secluded, relaxing, and unforgettable. We know East Bedarra Island Retreat was the place! We arrived by water taxi and were met my our wonderful hosts at the gorgeous beach.
As soon as we stepped onto the Island, we knew this would be an unforgettable experience - just pure luxury!
We prepared our own meals most of the time, which was actually really nice, and enjoyed them sipping champaign by the pool. There were just so many places we could relax! The 'love seat' on the deck of the Villa, hammocks, deck chairs with amazing views, breakfast each morning losing ourselves in the panoramic 180' views of the surrounding Islands... I've never seen or experienced anything like this in the world. The natural saltwater pool is the perfect place to be at night - gazing up at the stars, listening to the waves crash on the beach.
We also went snorkelling right out out the front of the property and saw many beautiful fish. We also borrowed kayaks and explored some beautiful landscape.
The owners were genuine people that looked after us from the first phone call to the very end.
I highly recommend this retreat to anyone seeking an unforgettable escape from the world in a location unlike anywhere else in the world.
Perry.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
4  Thank perryhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
20.3 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
14.9 km away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
32 km away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
376 reviews
8.5 km away
Taihoa Holiday Units
Taihoa Holiday Units
#2 of 22 in Mission Beach
103 reviews
31.7 km away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#2 of 5 in Cardwell
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bedarra Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bedarra Island Retreat

Address: Bedarra Island, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedarra Island
Price Range: C$765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — East Bedarra Island Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private, luxury villa accommodation for couples is set on one of Australia's most coveted waterfront locations on the Great Barrier Reef making it one of the best honeymoon destinations in Australia. Escape to a tropical island, where rainforest meets reef and blue oceans caress unspoiled beaches. A private retreat and luxurious oasis, where love and romance are a celebration and nature is your host. Whether it's just the two of you barefoot on the beach, or an intimate gathering, Bedarra Island is the perfect island wedding location to exchange your vows. Large wedding receptions of 200 guests can be accommodated on nearby Mission Beach, leaving the newlyweds to enjoy a private island honeymoon.May through October is known as the dry season in Australia’s tropics, with perfect temperatures (20°C/68°F) and clear blue skies. So if you’re feeling the winter blues, escape to the East Bedarra Island for a romantic winter getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your East Bedarra Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Bedarra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing