We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lizard Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We flew to Lizard Island from Cairns. We were not given any information about the plane when booking. If you don't like small planes, this may be a problem. But, it's only an hour flight and it's worth it if you can stomach it...no bathrooms on the plane... (or take some medicine to get you through the flight). We were flown to the island on a plane that seated 12 passengers and flown back on a plane that seated 6 passengers (though, on the return flight, one passenger had to sit next to the pilot and one passenger had to sit in the back row by themselves (meaning, at least one couple was separated from their partner because of the small plane). We were promptly greeted and taken to The Lodge for a welcome drink. Then we were taken to our room...Anchor Bay Suite #31. Whoa! The atmosphere/ambience of the room was amazing and the view is a slice of heaven on earth. It was hard to leave the room...but we made ourselves change and go out so we could go enjoy all the island had to offer. Relaxing on the beach, snorkeling off the beach, hiking, taking a 'dingy' (not a dingy by my definition...it was a nice-sized little motor boat with a shade structure) to other parts of the island and private beaches for more snorkeling and a picnic lunch. Note: when you order a picnic lunch, they pack double of what you requested if your lunch is for two...so we had way more food than we needed or could eat. So much fun! We also did a 1/2-day snorkeling trip (which is an hour snorkeling)...it was all we needed. A full day trip would have been too long for us...aka, boring (we ready to stop snorkeling after 40 minutes). But that's just us.

The food in the restaurant was very good, but not excellent (which is what we expected for the expensive, all-inclusive price). The portions of food were good for us because we don't like to over fill. However, if you feel the portions to be small, you could ask for another order (the same or something else). There was one night where I decided to try something new and didn't care for it at all. They had no problem bringing me a different order. The staff is very friendly and willing to offer helpful advice about what to do on the island. However, the serving staff wasn't as attentive as we expected. Not sure if that is because they are mostly young and not as experienced serving in a 5-star restaurant. There were many times where we waited way too long for someone to refill our water glass or before we had to go find someone and ask for more water, or whatever. They weren't very good about checking on you to see if you needed anything. But, whatever they did, they did it with a smile.

Overall, we loved our time there and are glad we went. However, we expected excellence for the price...and that is not what we would rate it overall.

Room Tip: Anchor Bay Suite numbers 27-38 are the best location and views, in our opinion. If you're looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InquisitiveTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    74
    11
    19
    9
See reviews for
83
409
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We spent six days there. Everything was excellent, including the food (second time we were there and the first time it was not as brilliant). The reef is gorgeous, as are the facilities provided by the resort, especially the dinghies included in the price that you use for going on your own to private beaches. Simply astonishing.
Plenty of money, but the bottom line is that we long to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdalpozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This resort is right on the coral and we spent hours off the beach seeing the beauty of the coral and fish.It,s an expensive resort and we could only afford 3 days,wish it was 3 weeks but a great place and when we win the lottery we will be back.Can not fault the resort..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlup44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Nothing to say but perfection, so thank you lizard for another great holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were at Lizard Island for 4 days and we wish we could stay more. It is very special with those pristine white sand beaches, with the Cod Hole dive site nearby. We had excellent dives there. We had very good days by the beach and we saw some of the nicest sunsets we have ever seen.
We recommend that you make a reservation for a candlelight dinner on the beach. It was great!!!! We had our last night dinner in a table on the sand, we were barefoot, the stars were bright there, the fire of some torches lighted around, the wines and the food were perfect. It was a moment to last forever in our memories as one of the best in our lives.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ro_teixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester county, ny
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Lovely island ....the only thing on this island is the resort. Just coming from Southern Ocean Lodge we were expecting a lot. Everything here is beautiful but just a tiny notch below SOL. Great snorkeling, a clean quiet beach, a very good food. Unless you are a serious scuba diver 3 nights here is plenty...no night activities at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

WOW WOW WOW. My wife and I had an amazing experience here. It's quiet the beach is super pristine and beautiful and there is a nice reef for snorkeling. It's very romantic as well... <3

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Property: Lizard Island Resort
Address: Via Cairns, Cook Shire, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Island is truly secluded from the rest of the world. With 24 powdery-white beaches and 40 luxurious suites, it is the most northern resort in tropical Queensland and is located directly on the Great Barrier Reef. A National Park covering 1,013 hectares with 24 sandy beaches and a lagoon, Lizard Island is accessible only by private charter from Cairns Airport in northern Queensland, Australia. Cairns Airport is accessible from all major Australian airports and directly from some cities in Asia. The island is reserved for the fortunate few who will experience an unforgettable holiday like no other. Enjoy secluded picnics and sunset beach degustation on private beaches, five star cuisine in the beautiful Salt Water restaurant and indulgent spa treatments in the Essentia Day Spa. Relax in style in premium accommodation and take in the wonders of Australia's Great Barrier Reef - right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive
Lizard Island Resort Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing