We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at daydream Islandd Resort and Spa a few days ago. The island and location are beautiful. The grounds were kept extremely tidy to. I had read reviews on TA about this resort and was sceptical. Firstly I would rate it 3 stars no more no less. I took alot of food with me but still it was not enough. There are limited dining options available in the low season, you are limited to Mermaids, Fish Bowl or Call and collect. I found mermaids and fish bowl both good options although Mermaids can get expensive. Call and Collect was terrible and that is an understatement, we ordered this twice as it was only thing available and it was so so so so bad and expensive at that. As for the rooms they are all basically the same they are dated but comfortable. Our bathroom was not clean on arrival. There are plenty of activities to do but most of them you have to pay for even the living reef adventures. The crusies that you can access are really good but the snorkelling at lovers cove is very poor. I got a cheap deal from Living Social so I cant complain to much but i would probally think twice if I had to pay full price. As for the people holidaying there - all types families, couples, older people. There is about 3 pools which were great and a few spas to. The gym was basic but workable and the sauna was good to. Mini golf should be free the course is very worn. There is a big movie screen outside which looked awesome but we had a young one so couldnt go. I think if the food was more reasonable more people may write better reviews.

Room Tip: Doesnt make much difference, go for the cheapest option.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joelene21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,009)
There are newer reviews for Daydream Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,618 - 1,624 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

I fully agree with the other reviewers here. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful location. It is really a tropical paradise. The staff is excellent. They are all friendly and helpful. Jason was particularly helpful at one point. The problem with this resort is availability of food and high prices for food and beverages when you find it. From the moment we arrived I felt like a "food hostage". After all, you are on a private island, and it is not possible to find alternatives. When we arrived we were told that all the restaurants were closed ! All that was left was the take-away outlet. The excuse...well Sir, this is Winter (what do you expect ?) when its only 90 degrees F. At other times you will find one or two restaurants open. It seems dishonest to me to advertise four restaurants when you only have enough staff to circulate and open one or two at a time. If you try to find menus and prices before you go in....impossible....it is top secret. I will say the breakfast buffet is terrific. Ours was included. Check that before you go...a discount price might have the buffet as extra charge. They watch this carefully as you go in. In fairness, food and restaurant prices are high anywhere in Australia. Here they are higher yet. Since the buffet ends early at 10am, you will need a snack in the afternoon to get through to dinner time in order to shell out $80 to $100 for your family at the restaurant of THEIR choice later. The answer..grab an apple or banana on your way out of breakfast for later. By mid-afternoon, the two pool bars will have run out of the less expensive snacks. I'm sure this is on purpose. The answer...buy what you can find after breakfast and store it in your mini-bar for the afternoon. If you enjoy beer or cocktails, be prepared to pay. The least expensive light beer is $6.50 while others are $7 or more. Cans of soft drinks are $3. Mixed drinks start at $7 and we doubt that there was any liquor at all in those fruity type slushy drinks. The mini golf was advertised as free, but we were told that now there is a $10 charge because of expensive upgrades. Dishonesty again. We wanted to see the reef but staff suggested it would not be worthwhile for us older folks who did not want to snorkel, or dive, or use the waterslide and whatever else is out there for younger people. Not worth it for the "glass-bottomed" boat alone. So here we are...paying top buck to be near the reef, and we may as well have been inland. In fact, that is what I would do in the future. I suggest you do the same. If you are already booked then try to take some food and drink with you.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have a guaranteed higher price but not a guaranteed better view. Check the room first...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Daydream was disapointing purely due to the fact you think you are going to a amazing resort and it is a let down. The resort is very old and tired, there are people absolutely everywhere. The pool area is full of people drinking booze. Feels more like a singles resort as opposed to a family. You must make a booking at the restaurant and there are only 2 on the island (second one is on the other side of island).

In general, I would't recommend to plan a holiday just to Daydream but would suggest to stop over for a night if you are around the other islands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
You are correct the Resort is “Amazing”. I was surprised by your comment that you felt the island is more for singles, the island is very popular with families; Daydream does cater to a great many travellers including romantic couples and groups.
The Resort has four main dining options but also offers the option of picnic hampers. There is a minimum of two dining options available on the island. These are rotated to allow all guests to experience the restaurants on the island. Daydream Island caters to all tastes.

Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream, as we have every confidence your experience next time around will be extremely positive.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Daydream in February 2012 as part of our honeymoon trip to Australia & Asia.

We were very much looking forward to spending time to what was described as luxury accommodation with a 4.5 star rating, in an idyllic setting.

To say things are very different is putting it mildly! Daydream Island is NOT a 4 star hotel in fact it only comes close to a 2 start rating on all levels.

We paid for a reef view room, really not sure what the difference is between this and a garden view as they all face the pool, sorry ‘garden’! Our balcony was so tiny there wasn’t even room to turn around the chairs to face the water, I mean pool!

The bedroom itself was very basic and the bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly during out entire stay, shower was not wiped down and toiletries not replenished on a daily basis for example!

We were informed that there would be a number of dining options to choose from during our stay. The truth was that only one dining option was available each night, Mermaids Restaurant or the Buffet ($47 per person not including drinks!)
The price of food was at extortionist prices, a bottle of 500ml water was $5 in the store!
There were a number of activities available on the island such as snorkelling, I am more than happy to pay for the renting of the mask, fin’s & snorkel equipment as this is the norm anywhere you will visit. However it was Stinger season during our stay which means you need to wear a stinger suit in order to enter the water safely, at Daydream Island, they charged $15 for the hire of a suit on top of the snorkelling equipment! Deplorable!

The pool services or lack of services as the pool bar wasn't open during our entire stay!
Pool towels were available from the pool bar but as it was not open unitl 1130 (in our case didn't open at all) we had to trek back to reception to get fresh towels where we would haev to queue for 10 minutes as we waited for people to check out! Bear in mind too, just one towel per person too!

I could go on and on and on with the list of items which just did not come up to a 4 star expectations!

When we asked why only a limited options were available we were told it was low season! We were nerve informed of the limited services that would be available to us prior to our arrival.

We had planned to stay 6 nights but cut our stay short by 2 nights in order to get out of the dullest resort we have ever visited.

We approached the management on our departure as we wanted to give our feedback on our stay and to ask for answers on some of the issues we had during the stay. A member of staff did agree to meet us and arrived with a sheet of paper and a pencil to take our feedback!

To date we have not heard anything from Daydream on our feedback, so take our advice and do not stay at Daydream!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hyvaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the feedback following your recent stay on Daydream Island. It is certainly disappointing to hear that Daydream did not meet with your expectations on your recent visit.
All of your comments will be fully investigated and addressed.

The Resort offers various forms of accommodation including Suites, Ocean and Garden rooms.
The rooms have double sliding opening doors and feature a small balcony to take advantage of the tropical breezes ocean view as well as the tropical gardens

I would like to clarify your comments with regard to our pool bar, Splashes Pool Bar opens daily and is only ever closed if there is very bad weather, such as was experienced last week.
Poor weather can impact on a guest holiday experience, and as much as the Resort would prefer to have perfect weather, there are times when the weather does impact upon the guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream.


Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Dont bother there's better places to spend your dollars!!!! Never again. It's all about excuses and bad training. This is a 2 star resort at 5 star prices. Its all about profits.
* Tvs. Back to the eighties
* tennis courts you have to lift a piece of synthetic grass to cover the base line due to holes.
* I have never turned a burger down but $18.00 for the worst cardboard burger. Wouldn't even feed it to curlews/fish.
* alot of people unhappy we spoke to about various things. I cannot believe 4.5 stars.
* do yourself a favour and tell people don't Goto daydream.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emergencyexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
With regard to your comments on your dining experience the vast majority of people have their expectations exceeded. Our tennis courts are being converted to an all weather surface in the coming months.

Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream.


Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you like to transport back into the eighties daydream island is for you. The staff all seem nice, so that is a bonus. But as many other reviews have said the place is very tired and needs some serious renovations. We stayed here in January 2012. Now we had an ancient tv that did not really work well. Had to be 10 years old at the minimum, and the other rooms I peeked into were the same. We had read on trip advisor six months earlier that the manager had a update plan in progress to fix up the old tellys. Wrong, he lied. How such an update can take more than 6 months to simply install some $200 LCD tv;s is beyond me. That is all a 24 inch LCD TV costs now so there is no excuse. Pop in to JB Hi Fi, it is not that hard. Our bill for the week would outfit 10 rooms. $14.95 to watch a movie on a 10 year old square soft, fuzzy, not quite colour tv is quite the joke. Now we did not go for the tv, but with two children some nights we just wanted to relax in our room and a DVD or childrens tv program would have been handy. No DVD player anyway and if you did have one a movie would have been a waste of time on the soft telly anyway.
Food, atrocious. two choices per night, but in our case one. Waterfall Buffet $47 pp even if you only want a bowl of chips. Mermaids the other restarant was booked out most nights by 5pm, ($38 at mermaids for fish and chips) so back to the $47 buffett . So one night we ordered a take away pack from receiption, not possible, you must order a day before we were told by receiption. So again we are stuck at the Waterfall buffet, 2 adults at $47, plus 2 children, next problem 6pm bookings full, so next sit down is 8pm. Well we have a young child of 2 and 5 who cannot wait till 8pm, and we cannot get in anywhere else. No food. There was nowhere, the otherside of the island had a cafe that closed by now. No toaster in your room. Woeful. We pay over a $100 for very average food at the buffet, and that is not the finish, do you want soft drink, well yes for $47 for a bowl of pasta and bread roll that would be nice, but a refillable cup for soft drink is $5. That is from a simple pour machine where a refill costs in reality 40 cents. Wine and beer extra. I understnad mark ups but its ridiculous.
I advise anyone who wants to stay here to do so if you get a great bargain of say $80 a night. Bring some food also and a toaster or small grill machine. You are not allowed this in your room, but if you go in holiday season you are stuck eating average food at $47 a head, and thats if you can get into the time you wanted. Your food bill at this island will kill you, so pay more at another island and get some options. Never again sadly, but if some changes to the resort were made it could be great again. Painting, updating, renovations, some actual cafes or casual dining that are open late and dont close at 5. Places where young couples or families can get say a sandwhich or a bowl of chips if thats all the want. Room service with the same thing if thats all somebody wants. I would not call this place a resort as it falls down in so many areas. The staff save the place from being a one star, and maybe you could give it a 3 star, but honestly due to the food situation I would give it two stars. People paying top money for their rooms will be upset i am sure. Again the food was not just our opinion, we saw lots of other people complaining about the price and the fact they did not want a buffet, just something like a salad, and were greeted with the same answer, buffet $47, and the other place is full, so come back at 8pm. Quite a few older couples told us they were going to check off the island on the 2nd night due to many things.(poor food choice one of the main ones) It was almost faulty towers watching the line of people lining up to get into the buffet to be told its $47 a head, plus $5 for a plastic cup for soft drink, and that nothing else was open, only other resturant full (not great anyway) and no they cant have a pasta or a salad, they must pay $47, and sorry this session full come back in two hours. Daydream markets itself as 4.5 stars. They are dreaming. 2 stars, beware. But again potential to be good if the owners would actually read the feedback. We left the from in the box for feedback as they value this it says on the brochure, but like a few of our friends who dropped the form in the box with our email address on it, nothing. Still 2 months later, nothing. So the managers/owners dont care and dont listen to guests. We also believed the managers would fix things after reading trip advisor 6 months earlier. They had not. Trip adviser is a very honest review system, and we are glad we read it before we went, the comments are all pretty spot on.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a new tv, not the old square boxes that are ten years old.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It was my first time visiting Day Dream island as it was the chosen destination for a wedding we were to attend. From the moment we arrived i will agree that the welcome was nice with 2 men playing guitar and handing out shell necklaces. You are then herded into a room where the manager explains the facilities and location and what is happening a nice touch but a room with minimal couches and places to sit down.

We were taken to the reception building a short walk over a nice reef pool with sharks and various sea animals interesting and nice. The reception building is very dated and full of dusty old fake flowers and dusty fish hanging from the roof it is also not air conditioned so it was hot, sticky and very uninviting. Upon check in our room was not ready no problem as it was only 11am.

We wandered off to have lunch at a restaurant near the pool which was a very nice location with various birds around and beautiful pool and ocean views. The service was very slow and uninformative. 2 steaks sandwiches and 2 cocktails plus a can of coke was $80 which i thought was very expensive. When paying the person charged our account to the wrong room instead of paying on card like when wanted then proceeded to serve someone else instead of just paying and fixing up her mistake later which took about 15 minutes of our wasted time. Overpriced for the poor service one receives.

When we got our room we were told our bags would be sent up as part of the service 3 hours later i rang and asked where our bags were they told us the porters had been busy with lots of arrivals so i accepted that and waited another hour. Upon getting rather annoyed as i wanted to go for a swim i went looking for the porters and they told me that bag got delivered to room .... which was not our room so another half an hour for them to chase the bag up not happy thankfully nothing was taken.

I wanted to go to the other side which is a 15 - 20 minute walk to get a swim shirt for the pool and apparently there is a golf buggy that operates for guests convenience between 10 am and 2 pm not very convenient if you ask me so i went looking for it at 145 pm to get a lift nope they've shut for the day and wont take me over so i gave up on that idea.

We decided to have drinks in the pool and waited 20 minutes there for service not busy at all just the staff were busy wasting time and chatting then 4 cocktails was $68 dear i thought well average but not for the bad service.

Dinner that night was going to be in the main restaurant and was a seafood buffet for $70 my partner does not eat seafood and they dont do a la carte for anyone not eating the buffet so we tried the small dine and take back to your room waited 20 mins to order and then an hour and a half (in the hot lobby and at a price of $55) for a small fish and chips and crusty old parmigiana not happy didn't have time to wait and complain so had to eat it.

Breakfast was included in our room and might i add very nice in the morning although the sausages were very over cooked and tough but the rest was nice with fresh fruit and pancakes.

The wedding was over the other side which was nice in a glass chapel and they were doing transfers thank god. The food there was brilliant no complaints apart from the function room not being air conditioned. Atrociously hot and not enjoyable.

The gardens on the island are beautiful and it is a credit to the team that do them wonderful and green and the paths are always neat and tidy very nice!!

The rooms were quite nice looks like ours had been repainted, new bed covers and a new air conditioner which was welcomed. The balconies were tiny and hardly enough room to stand out there. The beds were very hard and not nice.

Overall i was very disappointed for the price it was to stay and the price of everything on the island if the service was of a 5 star standard I would certainly have had no complaints. But with poor service it was not good and i doubt i would waste my time going back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrRedgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
10.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
18.2 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,395 reviews
18.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
17.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
562 reviews
11.4 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range: $304 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing