We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family holiday with kids was very relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday with kids was very relaxing!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights on one of the most relaxing family holidays ever. Daydream Island is great. Yes the food and beverages are a little expensive but you have to remember you are on an island and you are supporting daydream so the island survives, if more people opted to travel to Australian islands instead of overseas to fiji or bali then the prices would drop a little. We travelled with a 4 year old and a 2 year old both had a fantastic time there was lots of things to do for children on the island, there is a huge playground at one end of the island, the bakery did a fantastic milkshake for kids, of course there was lots of different pools to try out and our main hightlight was the living reef. We took our kids on the guided fish feeding tour and it was brilliant where else in the world can you hold a baby shark and feed and pat huge stingrays it was a major highlight and we really enjoyed this as a family.
The island is very kid friendly the meals at Mermaids where fantastic for children (not all deep fried like most places) the adults meals where very good not sure what other reviews are saying but the food was not average infact it was close to 5 star and the staff where very efficient. The Tavern was more like a pub meal but that was described in all the brochures, as we did go in low season not everything was open so we tended to go to Mermaids most nights. The call and collect menu I agree wasn't the best menu we did it one night as we where tired but that's really what it is for.
My only gripe was the lack of things for children to eat at lunchtime as my kids have daytime sleeps I couldnt take them out to eat at mermaids so the only real option was the bakery which served pies,sausage rolls .. splashes pool bar did do a light lunch but only sold fairy bread as an option for kids lunches but apart from that I really can't complain.
I also had one of the best massages of my life in the spa and rejuvenation it was amazing.
Lovers cove was also fantastic although we didn't snorkel my kids could fish feed right off the shore and we had many large and small colourful fish come to the service to be feed which was a real treat for them.
All the staff where so helpful and polite on daydream island and always went out of there way. We all really hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: We had a garden room over looking the pool these where nice, we also did get an interconnecting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    616
    384
    234
    204
See reviews for
697
780
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed on daydream for the 2nd time in march as we loved it so much the first. A beautiful small resort with excellent friendly staff and a great view of the ocean from our balcony room. We had a fabulous dinner in the Mermaids restaurant. I'd recommend a visit to anyone staying in the Whitsundays.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ataylor03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights and had a peaceful, relaxing break in a beautiful location.
The previous reviewers must mark a tough card or maybe had bad weather, as we were more than happy with every aspect of the resort including the food.

The living reef which weaves around the resort is quite unique and the variety of large sharks and rays which surface only feet away is amazing.

We ate somewhere different every night - The Buffet (Waterfalls) was a bit overpriced ($47) but plenty of food, Fishbowl Tavern good pub fare at reasonable prices ($24), Call and Collect - basic food (steak sandwich/chips, Fish/Chips etc $20) but quite ok, Mermaids - a la carte about $35 for a main but well worth it. The freshly caught fish on a bed of Mash was outstanding. Add a bowl of steamed veges for 7 bucks.

Breakfast buffet very good, and I'd recommend the bakery on the other side of the island for a cheap, light lunch (toasted chicken, avocada and sundried tomato foccacia for $9).

Not sure what all the whinging is about?
The pools are perfect to relax around and there are plenty of sunlounges and umbrellas.
Kick back on the beach with one of the best views on the planet and soak up the beautiful surroundings.

Plenty of other pools away from the poolbar if you don't like the drinkers. Each to their own.

Walk through the rainforest and marvel over the ambience of Lovers Cove at the end. Then to the bar for a cocktail ($15) and watch the sunset.

Island resorts are not cheap to run and a couple have closed down in the Whitsunday's in the past year. It would be a tragedy if Daydream suffered a similar fate.

Yes the TV's are dated, but they are functional and television isn't the main attraction here anyway.

Our room was clean, the view was wonderful and every afternoon we had several cockatoos sitting on our balcony next to us only inches away.
Wallabies and other wildlife move about the island casually enjoying their small part of paradise.

The cost of extra activities is expensive, but it isn't compulsory and we just wanted to chill anyway.

Our luggage was transported to and from our room seamlessly, and any problems we had were quickly sorted by the friendly staff.

Would recommend Daydream to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic and peaceful holiday in location to die for.
Weddings were held on Saturday and there is a chapel overlooking the sea where memories would last forever.

Will definately return one day!

Room Tip: Definately get a room with ocean frontage. Ours overlooked the pier and we watched the launches come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocko50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at daydream Islandd Resort and Spa a few days ago. The island and location are beautiful. The grounds were kept extremely tidy to. I had read reviews on TA about this resort and was sceptical. Firstly I would rate it 3 stars no more no less. I took alot of food with me but still it was not enough. There are limited dining options available in the low season, you are limited to Mermaids, Fish Bowl or Call and collect. I found mermaids and fish bowl both good options although Mermaids can get expensive. Call and Collect was terrible and that is an understatement, we ordered this twice as it was only thing available and it was so so so so bad and expensive at that. As for the rooms they are all basically the same they are dated but comfortable. Our bathroom was not clean on arrival. There are plenty of activities to do but most of them you have to pay for even the living reef adventures. The crusies that you can access are really good but the snorkelling at lovers cove is very poor. I got a cheap deal from Living Social so I cant complain to much but i would probally think twice if I had to pay full price. As for the people holidaying there - all types families, couples, older people. There is about 3 pools which were great and a few spas to. The gym was basic but workable and the sauna was good to. Mini golf should be free the course is very worn. There is a big movie screen outside which looked awesome but we had a young one so couldnt go. I think if the food was more reasonable more people may write better reviews.

Room Tip: Doesnt make much difference, go for the cheapest option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joelene21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I fully agree with the other reviewers here. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful location. It is really a tropical paradise. The staff is excellent. They are all friendly and helpful. Jason was particularly helpful at one point. The problem with this resort is availability of food and high prices for food and beverages when you find it. From the moment we arrived I felt like a "food hostage". After all, you are on a private island, and it is not possible to find alternatives. When we arrived we were told that all the restaurants were closed ! All that was left was the take-away outlet. The excuse...well Sir, this is Winter (what do you expect ?) when its only 90 degrees F. At other times you will find one or two restaurants open. It seems dishonest to me to advertise four restaurants when you only have enough staff to circulate and open one or two at a time. If you try to find menus and prices before you go in....impossible....it is top secret. I will say the breakfast buffet is terrific. Ours was included. Check that before you go...a discount price might have the buffet as extra charge. They watch this carefully as you go in. In fairness, food and restaurant prices are high anywhere in Australia. Here they are higher yet. Since the buffet ends early at 10am, you will need a snack in the afternoon to get through to dinner time in order to shell out $80 to $100 for your family at the restaurant of THEIR choice later. The answer..grab an apple or banana on your way out of breakfast for later. By mid-afternoon, the two pool bars will have run out of the less expensive snacks. I'm sure this is on purpose. The answer...buy what you can find after breakfast and store it in your mini-bar for the afternoon. If you enjoy beer or cocktails, be prepared to pay. The least expensive light beer is $6.50 while others are $7 or more. Cans of soft drinks are $3. Mixed drinks start at $7 and we doubt that there was any liquor at all in those fruity type slushy drinks. The mini golf was advertised as free, but we were told that now there is a $10 charge because of expensive upgrades. Dishonesty again. We wanted to see the reef but staff suggested it would not be worthwhile for us older folks who did not want to snorkel, or dive, or use the waterslide and whatever else is out there for younger people. Not worth it for the "glass-bottomed" boat alone. So here we are...paying top buck to be near the reef, and we may as well have been inland. In fact, that is what I would do in the future. I suggest you do the same. If you are already booked then try to take some food and drink with you.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have a guaranteed higher price but not a guaranteed better view. Check the room first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Daydream was disapointing purely due to the fact you think you are going to a amazing resort and it is a let down. The resort is very old and tired, there are people absolutely everywhere. The pool area is full of people drinking booze. Feels more like a singles resort as opposed to a family. You must make a booking at the restaurant and there are only 2 on the island (second one is on the other side of island).

In general, I would't recommend to plan a holiday just to Daydream but would suggest to stop over for a night if you are around the other islands.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
You are correct the Resort is “Amazing”. I was surprised by your comment that you felt the island is more for singles, the island is very popular with families; Daydream does cater to a great many travellers including romantic couples and groups.
The Resort has four main dining options but also offers the option of picnic hampers. There is a minimum of two dining options available on the island. These are rotated to allow all guests to experience the restaurants on the island. Daydream Island caters to all tastes.

Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream, as we have every confidence your experience next time around will be extremely positive.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Daydream in February 2012 as part of our honeymoon trip to Australia & Asia.

We were very much looking forward to spending time to what was described as luxury accommodation with a 4.5 star rating, in an idyllic setting.

To say things are very different is putting it mildly! Daydream Island is NOT a 4 star hotel in fact it only comes close to a 2 start rating on all levels.

We paid for a reef view room, really not sure what the difference is between this and a garden view as they all face the pool, sorry ‘garden’! Our balcony was so tiny there wasn’t even room to turn around the chairs to face the water, I mean pool!

The bedroom itself was very basic and the bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly during out entire stay, shower was not wiped down and toiletries not replenished on a daily basis for example!

We were informed that there would be a number of dining options to choose from during our stay. The truth was that only one dining option was available each night, Mermaids Restaurant or the Buffet ($47 per person not including drinks!)
The price of food was at extortionist prices, a bottle of 500ml water was $5 in the store!
There were a number of activities available on the island such as snorkelling, I am more than happy to pay for the renting of the mask, fin’s & snorkel equipment as this is the norm anywhere you will visit. However it was Stinger season during our stay which means you need to wear a stinger suit in order to enter the water safely, at Daydream Island, they charged $15 for the hire of a suit on top of the snorkelling equipment! Deplorable!

The pool services or lack of services as the pool bar wasn't open during our entire stay!
Pool towels were available from the pool bar but as it was not open unitl 1130 (in our case didn't open at all) we had to trek back to reception to get fresh towels where we would haev to queue for 10 minutes as we waited for people to check out! Bear in mind too, just one towel per person too!

I could go on and on and on with the list of items which just did not come up to a 4 star expectations!

When we asked why only a limited options were available we were told it was low season! We were nerve informed of the limited services that would be available to us prior to our arrival.

We had planned to stay 6 nights but cut our stay short by 2 nights in order to get out of the dullest resort we have ever visited.

We approached the management on our departure as we wanted to give our feedback on our stay and to ask for answers on some of the issues we had during the stay. A member of staff did agree to meet us and arrived with a sheet of paper and a pencil to take our feedback!

To date we have not heard anything from Daydream on our feedback, so take our advice and do not stay at Daydream!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hyvaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the feedback following your recent stay on Daydream Island. It is certainly disappointing to hear that Daydream did not meet with your expectations on your recent visit.
All of your comments will be fully investigated and addressed.

The Resort offers various forms of accommodation including Suites, Ocean and Garden rooms.
The rooms have double sliding opening doors and feature a small balcony to take advantage of the tropical breezes ocean view as well as the tropical gardens

I would like to clarify your comments with regard to our pool bar, Splashes Pool Bar opens daily and is only ever closed if there is very bad weather, such as was experienced last week.
Poor weather can impact on a guest holiday experience, and as much as the Resort would prefer to have perfect weather, there are times when the weather does impact upon the guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream.


Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
10.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
18.2 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
18.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23.0 km away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing