We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Trip in 6 Months”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Second Trip in 6 Months”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

We (family of 4, kids are 5 & 7) loved Daydream so much last time (July 2008-see review) that when we had a few days off we knew we had to return. It was just as good this time, although a bit of a different experience. Being peak season, there were many more activities happening & all the eating places were open every night. Although there were heaps of holidayers, we never felt 'crowded'. We hired stinger suits ($10 a day per suit) and did heaps of snorkelling. The movie night at the outdoor cinema was good and we got takeaway meals from the restaurant and had them (the pizza was yum!). Our room was in a different section this time and the room was exactly the same as the last one - roomy and clean. Both our kids got sick on different nights and the night staff and housekeeping were excellent with helping us out. One of the kids was sick in the middle of the night & they changed the bed etc. and the next morning we returned from breakfast to find the room had already been re-cleaned and sorted out. We've had two lots of friends visit Daydream recently and all have loved it. Daydream is a lot of fun for families and we can't wait to return again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    616
    383
    232
    204
See reviews for
697
777
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

After reading many reviews before my holiday to Daydream Island I can finally leave one of my own.
My partner and I are a mid twenties couple. We ventured off to Daydream Island in January 09.
Unfortunately while we were there it was monsoon season, however although the rain was heavy, it was still warm and we were able to swim everyday comfortably. I definitely wouldn’t go again in monsoon though.
The highlight for me was the living reef, before going to daydream I had seen the pics of the reef and never thought that it was going to be much benefit to us but I was wrong it was absolutely wonderful and we were mesmerized with how great it was hundred of fish and I even was able to pat a Stingray.
The food was great we never ate at the fishbowl as it seemed to be a little tacky, Waterfalls was great and offered a variety of different themed foods (Italian, Mexican and Seafood etc). Mermaids was my favourite although the portions were small the food was delicious, the service was great and the price I didn’t think was too bad (2 x entrées 2 x mains 1 x desert and drinks ($130). Also definitely book every morning for dinner so that your night goes smoothly.
Was definitely a family orientated place with not a whole lot of bars. If you want a relaxing holiday you will definitely get it here with the spa, band at night in the foyer and lounges near the pool. I would recommend going on the Camira sailing trip it is definitely value for money $165 for snorkelling, swimming at Whitehaven beach, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea included aswell as soft drink, beer and wine included.
If you a looking for a bit of a party with lots of drinking and music probably not the best place to go.
We never had any major while we there our rooms where serviced daily and not inconveniently at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only criticism I had was we never seemed able to get any pool towels from the splash bar or reception.

  • Liked — The living reefs
  • Disliked — not enough night activities for young people
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tash0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

My new wife and I decided to holiday on Daydream Island after viewing all the brochures on the Whitsundays. What a disaster!

The island facilities were dated and dirty. Firstly, the room was horrible all the paint was faded and the furniture was falling apart. The room balcony was more like a window ledge and covered in tree leaves and branches. It barely had a roof over it so when it rained everything got soaked.

Not all the restaurants opened as advertised, therefore if you didnt book ahead the others would be completely full and you would not be able to get a table. Disgraceful for the price you pay! Even worse is they dont even offer room service. Breakfast was the only thing included and the breakfast was awful, dehydrated mushrooms, uncooked tomatoes, half cooked bacon, the list goes on. We ate it once and felt sick.

As far as activities goes, on wet weather days we were offered a uno card pack, thats it. And even on the partly sunny days half the activities werent operating. The island forest walk was covered in huge spiders which terrified my wife and there is no warning about it whatsoever.

No phone coverage and no warning to tell you either despite the island being so close to the mainland. After an awful 2 days we spoke to a manager who I can only describe as a thug who had no interest in customer service at all. We ended up checking out early cutting the holiday short. I then took my wife across to Hamilton Island best decision we made all holiday.

Avoid at all costs!!! Really dont waste your money and spoil your holidays!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — complete waste of money, rude staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tralize85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

We stayed with a group of 15 friends for one night for a work Christmas party - ages ranged from 42-1. There was something for everyone!

The arrival was lovely, greeted by friendly staff with shell lai's & the Bali boys singing on the jetty. Unfortunately for us the airconditioner in the main foyer & Waterfalls dining area was broken for the weekend & this made eating really uncomfortable - the air con was also broken on the ferry so it was a relief to get to our air con room!

We all spent most of our time in the pool - which was nice (swim up bar was great & staff very friendly). There were a few feral people staying at the resort that wrecked some parts of our stay as they threw a ball at my head (alebit accidentally) and were also were a bit obnoxious around the kids that were with us.

Seafood buffet & breakfast at Waterfalls was beautiful (although uncomfortable with no air con). Drinks were a bit overpriced but all the islands are the same. Putt putt was heaps of fun & very clever the way it was all layed out - maybe tacky but fun all the same. The living reef pools were great! Lit up at night & plenty to see.

After reading some of the other comments, I think they're a bit harsh. It's not the most expsensive island to stay at- but good value for money & good for family's.

I would stay there again but make sure it was for more than just one night.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — Broken Airconditioner!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

This place is magic! I cannot understand all the negetive comments, Day Dream Island is absolute paradise. The whole island is looked after so well, every resturant you go to has plenty of staff and people to help. Our room was beautiful, large and spacious. Yummy buffett breakfast. Internet is reasonable, $10 for one hour. Mermaids resturant food is delicous is you want to treat yourself. Yes the food is more than usual but understandably as you are on a small island and they need to ship in the food. The mini gulf is great only $10.00. This is an awsome place for familys, kids just love the fish life and the pools! I just went with my partner and we thoroughly enjoyed it! we spent 4 nights at Day Dream and it felt like the perfect amount of time but of corse could have stayed forever. I am a travel agent and would sell Day Dream Island to anyone! =)

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

If you are looking for an all round experience ie, relaxation , good food, coffee etc then Daydream will disappoint on the food front terribly. It has dated buffet style dinners, dreadful self serve "pub" food and a limited "a la carte menu" all pricey and very average. If you wish to drink espresso or "real" coffee with breakfast forget it as its instant only in a big jug. YOu can get real coffee but only after 10am. The glasses and plates were dirty and I was given a teaspoon with a bug on it! The food disappointed. The spa did not as I found the staff professional and skilled at their jobs (I might add the resort adverises the spa has healty meals available and it does not as you simply eat on the spa balcony but order from the average menu in the restaurant downstairs which doens't have a healthy option to choose from). I might also add the Giligan's Bar and Health Hut serves pringles chips, ice cream and chocolates not a healthy offering in site except for smoothies made with tinned fruit!

The gardens are quite lovely as is the wildlife on the island especially for children. Couples can enjoy romance at Lover's Cove at Sunset.

The rooms have no fly wire on the sliding doors so you're either stuffy and hot or air con going all night..

The main building decor is cheesy and outdated with multi coloured carpets and hanging fish decorations which I guess goes with the buffet offerings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service/food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

After reading some of the mixed reviews we were a little apprehensive before our recent short holiday to Daydream Island.
Our flight was direct to Hamilton airport at 8.20am and were charged $50+ for a 30min boat transfer to Daydream Island. (for a similar 30min trip we were charged $26.)

We were greeted at the jetty by a hostess and the beautiful tones of the Bali Boys singing "Galviston". After a fantastic introduction with maps,programs etc, we were left at reception.
Whilst waiting for our room we had a self guided tour of the resort and were amazed by the beautifully manicured tropical gardens,waterfalls, pools, swim up bar,water sports etc. and the Coral Coast views. Truly Paradise for us over 50,s who like the quiet life and also those with children who are kept busy with the day and early evening activities (bingo,trivea.etc).

Although the island caters for weddings there is no nightclub type venue for singles (18-30), hence the variation in reviews.The food venues also reflect this with a more refined menu at Mermaids, a confused menu at Waterfalls and a family style menu at the Fishbowl. (nothing for the 18-30,s).
Waterfalls had low patronage due to the expensive ($42-$55) and confusing menus.egs BBQ night. Beef in plum sauce? Asian night. Salad? etc

The Bakehouse (closed at night) offers more healthy options of salad wraps etc. and was always busy.

The breakfast was fantastic-hot/cold/cereal/fruit/juice/tea+coffee.
The room was large and had great views of the Coral Coast and the wildlife. The beaches are coral (not sand) and there are sun-lounges provided.

All things considered I would return tomorrow!!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THE INSPECTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
10.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
18.2 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
18.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23.0 km away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing