We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitehaven Beach

Whitehaven Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.26*
and up
Whitehaven Beach Half-Day Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uninhabited Whitsunday Island is home to this beautiful beach, one of the world's most spectacular.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is the place of your dreams. Never seen anything like it, so beautiful! All the different colours of blue in the ocean, and the pure white of the beach. Just amazing. I'd recommend it to everyone!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,284
    153
    58
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Ok to look at for 5 minutes! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Visited white haven beach yesterday on a two night tour with power play cataraman. While the white haven beach is pretty that's about all there is to say. There aren't any shops, restaurants, bars or even toilets on the beach so very limited. Nice but overall disappointed with whitsundays the other islands were less pretty and just green with trees in comparisons to all the other islands in Queensland offering far more!

Helpful?
5 Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wow...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

i've seen pictures, but it's nothing compared to standing there and seeing one of the most amazing places in this world!
i can only recommend getting on a sailboat and sailing the whitsundays, stopping at whitehaven beach. it's definately been one of the most memorable stops during my trip on the east coast of Australia

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whitehaven Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

No matter where I've travelled, Whitehaven Beach is definitely one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Stingers are present in the waters mainly in the summer months so light stinger suits are advisable for swimming.
Winter months are most spectacular, sailing or boating anywhere at any time in the Whitsundays automatically creates a feeling of serenity and tranquillity. Blue Pearl Bay is located on the north-western side of Hayman Island and has good protection from all winds except north-westerlies. Watching the sunset from here in the afternoon is a most spectacular end to a day on the water. There are many places to snorkel or dive and the abundance of coral and marine life is amazing, even in a metre of water off the beach. .
I return many times to this tropical paradise and from the minute I arrive the worries of the day melt away to a calmness that is so revitalising and nourishing to the soul.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whitehaven Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can I add that hasn't been said about this magnificent beach, regularly in the world's top beaches and deservedly so. The sand so fine and white,the water clear clean and of beautiful colours and the area so tranquil. And there are kilometres of it. If the chance comes and you are in the region, don't miss it. Best when the stingers are not around and one can swim in normal gear, but great for just walking along the beach and marvelling at the colours of the water

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehaven Beach also viewed

Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitehaven Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing