We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over many years & made it my families regular stay. I have now choose to stay elsewhere. The rooms are tired and unfortunately Hindley Street has become very undesirable even on a week night when it's quieter. The location of the hotel is still great in that it's walking distance to everything. The last time I stayed here the room was unbelievably hot. This normally wouldn't be a problem but new hotel policy dictated that the air conditioning be turned off over the cooler months. The room was stifling so much so my kids had to strip down to underwear & sleep on top of the bed without covers. I used a wet face washer to keep cool.... The rooms seriously need revamping. The staff were friendly and professional & apologetic regarding the air conditioning policy (they came up to my room & agreed it was very hot) . . It was an absolute miserable stay, with the hot room and the fighting in the alley nearby, well let's say never again! We won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Public R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was my first visit to Adelaide and, as such, wasn't aware of which areas to stay in and which to avoid, sadly this hotel seems to fall into the latter. The hotel itself has a generally shabby feel to it, once you pass beyond the lobby which appears quite opulent and grand. My room had a very outdated feel to it, with a bathroom which was functional and acceptable but thats about it. The fitting were very 1980s including bedside radio controls which didn't work.

One of my biggest bugbears is hotels which claim to cater to the business market yet fail to provide free wifi. Once the system is set up, it doesn't cost the hotel anything to allow its guests to hook into their network - why oh why does this hotel only allow free wifi "for 30 minutes if buying a drink in the bar" ? When I'm staying in a hotel for business purposes, I need to access my email 24/7 - and preferably in my room! I know that, while it is becoming the industry norm in Europe and Asia to have hotel-wide free wifi for it's guests it has not yet become the case in Australia but...it needs to.

Breakfast at the hotel was very average, with the usual mix of hot and cold offerings. But as with everything regarding my stay here, it was just "acceptable". Even as a single male traveller I was advised not to venture out of the hotel after dark by both the taxi driver taking me there and a local (in a neighbourhood coffee shop) as Hindley Street is of dubious safety in the evenings and nights. On any future trip to Adelaide I would elect to stay elsewhere, probably closer to Victoria Square.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very quick trip to Adelaide, only staying the one night.

We arrived at 8 AM, and were offered an early-check in; which was fantastic since we had been up since 4 AM. We also received a free room upgrade, which was great!

Hindley Street is not the best street, but it is so close to everything that it didn't really matter. Check-in staff was very friendly. The room was clean, so was the bathroom.

Did not try the breakfast, as it was a bit expensive, and there are many cafes around. It was a lovely stay from start to finish.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanberraCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear CanberraCaro

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I have taken note of your comments regarding our breakfast and would just like to advise we do have several options available which we consider competitively priced when comparing with other hotels.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in a corner room on the newly renovated eighth floor with a magnificent view. Huge corner window with comfortable seat to enjoy the vista. Central location, easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Very large bathroom with separate bath, beautifully finished. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ssss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Ssss64

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards



Simon deJong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel.
The hotel was great value for money - we got a room with 2 king beds for $110 per night on wot if. The rooms are modern and newly renovated. Bathroom has a large modern shower head. Room service was good and well priced.
This hotel is very central.
Only negatives were it was noisy on a Friday and Saturday night as there is a night club across the road- it was difficult to get to sleep on these nights.
Sauna/gym/pool arent as modern as the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLCperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear LLC Perth

Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, it is always a pleasure to read when one of our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the noise and would like to advise we a constantly working with the Adelaide City Council to ensure the best possible outcomes for our patrons.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Nicely renovated. Good value.
A very good basic hotel.
Cetrally located near all main attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneysider02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Sydneysider02

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I was please to read that you enjoyed your stay by commenting on the facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

we were in adelaide for a week and used this hotel as home base on trips to the outback and cooper pidi. it is a verry nice clean hotel close to amenities and a short train ride away to the beach.

Room Tip: corner rooms have best light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.0 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.9 km away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,710 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.7 km away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $117 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing