We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay location perfect for top end attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Rooms are a little dated but clean and just what you need for a short stay
Service was good and facilities' that you need are all there
Really nothing bad about the Chancellor perfect spot to hang out for a few nights

Room Tip: Book higher floors if you are a light sleeper as there is a bit of party noise from street below on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

As usual our stay at the Grand Chancellor on Hindley has been enjoyed by us all. All staff throughout this facility could not be more helpful. We always choose to stay at the GC because of its location to a lot of premises in the city centre which means we can walk to where we want to go.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 574annettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We, a family of 3 stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a great homely experience.
My 'ok' experience changed into a 'wow' when I got a microwave in my room considering that I may need to warm up milk for my kid twice everyday! This sounds like "what a big deal", but trust me, was a big deal!
Hotel is in the CBD and hence very close to all kind of eating joints, public transport centers etc. The very famous Rundle Mall was just on the right turn from hotel and other attractions like ICC, museums, old market etc were also in walking distance!
Room was spacious, bath was nice. Other things in room was standard like the iron, coffee kettle etc.
Wifi was complimentary and was on unlimited devices.
Hotel breakfast could be better. I regretted signing for it, as everyday the spread was same. They literally didn't change a single item anyday!
Housekeeping was good.. room service was prompt.
Overall a great comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanchan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for that great review Kanchan! It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. With a large number of our staff having children of their own, we try to remember the little details that make travelling with your family easier, I'm glad to hear it helped. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for many more family holidays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel Grand Chancellor is right in the city centre, with shops , bars , restaurants minutes away....literally 2 minutes walk to Rundle Mall
Hotel is clean, friendly and would recommend
This hotel is also fairly close to the airport ( 15-20 mins in a taxi)
Train station is only 5 mins walk from the hotel

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Willmack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It is always lovely to hear that our guests would recommend us to others, there is no higher form of praise. I hope we are able to welcome you back again on your next Adelaide visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Great access to many of Adelaide's features including Oval, Mall, cultural precinct, gardens and universities; fabulous customer engagement from staff and very comfortable accommodation; highly recommend the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide to all business and holidaying visitors

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wendycI6777LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us Wendy. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Mostly good! Coffee details when went to make a cup of coffee there was no coffee satchels. Staff were a little put off by this, then very efficiently corrected the mishap.
When wanting to book another night there was a little confusion as to the pricing on the room,rang from room with a certain amount then another amount when at reception.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lyndas533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback Lynda. I am glad to hear that we were able to efficiently correct those errors and will certainly discuss with the team to ensure they aren't reoccurring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

An easy stay - from booking through our airline to the actual stay and then on to checking out.
We would stay again and would recommend to others. Great location and clean rooms, the hotel is older but everything was in the room that we required. We enjoyed the ability to use the WiFi whenever we wanted to. The staff were friendly and easy to deal with. The TV programmes were varied, we took advantage of the availability of newspapers each morning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oianah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review Oianah. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your week with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.0 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.9 km away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,350 reviews
0.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $116 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing