We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I really want to say good things about this hotel because when we aired our concerns about our room the staff were incredibly obliging. But I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you had a room on the top - fifth - floor. We were on the fourth and when we entered the room were disappointed to find that while we had booked and paid for three guests the room was only set up for two. There was a window in the room but this looked out onto a wall and a water heater, and had "blurry contact" over the glass - a bid to obscure the view, I can only guess. However, that was the least of our worries. The bathroom had no ventilation and the room was so stuffy and hot! Added to this, during the night there was a thudding noise coming from the wall right near our sleep deprived heads! It was intermittent, we guessed it was water pipes knocking, but enough to keep us awake. To the hotel's credit when I called down to reception the next morning the staff were very obliging and after offering a fan for the stuffiness, when told about the noise, they offered to change rooms for the second night of our stay. I must admit the second room was a massive improvement, however, I doubt that you would pay the same tariff for this room as the other. Two problems with the second room - no remote for the TV in the bedroom area so we couldn't watch movies in bed - just what we wanted after a full day of shopping - and the bathroom wasn't overly clean - no hair or anything, just a bit grimy and, curiously, apple stickers at the top of the back of the toilet door. Very curious! Don't think we will be booking here again, sorry :(

Room Tip: Ask for one of the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed here for a work trip. It was so weird. My room was huge and outdated, with two queen beds and there was a carpark next to my window - the noise from the pub next door kept me up all night. I couldnt get the shower water to go hot so had a nearly cold shower. the ironing board was hidden is a strange alcove. As with all mercures, such a dark room!
The staff were very nice and helpful though.
Dinner onsite was pretty average - very pricey for food you could get at the pub cheaper and probably tastier.
Decor felt like it was picked up at a 70's reject sale.
Breakfast was the usual mercure standard of undercooked eggs and weak cofffee.
I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdeaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed 4 nights and walked around the city and gardens. We found this to be an excellent position as it was close to railway, bus, tram and city loop bus. Also short walk to Museum, Art gallery, Gardens and river walks.
Happy hour in the bar was great value at $3 a glass, & had good value casual meals. The restaurant upstairs was also good value with quality meals. Staff were all friendly. Room was average but clean. Air-conditioning lacked an in room temperature controll so we found it a bit warm and stuffy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delamore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel great location. Room quite spacious. Tram outside door. Railway Station and Casino across road

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albarbhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nemo01Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clearo67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJI101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,358 reviews
0.4 km away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 56 in Adelaide
959 reviews
0.1 km away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#23 of 56 in Adelaide
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.2 km away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $96 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing