We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Because we were driving for 850km, my husband and I decided to hire a cabin in a caravan park for a much needed rest at the end. We requested a cabin at Stuart Range, which is the type of accommodation we have sought all over Australia. This usually provides us with a comfortable lounge couch or chairs, and cooking facilities that allows us to maintain our individual diets. If we didn't want cooking facilities, we could book a room in a motel. Although I booked 500 km ahead, when we arrived we were not booked in and the staff were critical of their colleagues. They did not mention the camp kitchen and by the time we read about it, we had already been out to buy food. We were amazed to find that the 'cabin' at Stuart Range was nothing more than a very basic room with an ensuite. As a cabin it did not supply cooking facilities, or comfortable seating. As a motel room, it did not provide the nicety of bedside tables, comfortable seating or bedside lights. The TV was so high it was difficult to watch. The bed linen was placed on the unmade bed and the fridge and air con not turned on. The advertising is misleading for Australian travellers who understand what a cabin is.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank najneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

During low season, the owners close down the larger shaded area and pile up all campers in a small cramped courtyard. We were assigned a narrow slot between a bunch of raucous teenagers and a large camper which kept its noisy air conditionning on all night.
To make things worse, the edge of the courtyard was lined up with plastic bags and other garbage items blown by the wind.
Lights in the bathroom automatically turned off after a few minutes.
Do yourself a favor: try one of the other campgrounds in town!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

After the long drive down from the Red Centre we were looking for somewhere cheap to spend the night in Coober Pedy. Having been camping for over a week an exhausted from driving 1000km we splashed out on a real bed getting a basic 'cabin' (hotel room actually!) at the Stuart Range park. For $75 it was good value (BYO linen) for a private room with ensuite, aircon, TV and small fridge. It was clean and there though we didnt need it, a good pool, laundry and camp kitchen for campers / caravans. One of the best bits about this place is the ajoined Pizza Bar. Family Pizza for $20 with the Lot (Yani's Special)... awesome. As I said the 'cabins' are actually hotel style rooms, clean and well appointed for the budget traveller. Considering the price of most things in central Australia its a good find.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zalgariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CamperMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank KI_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carolin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
191 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.9 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
137 reviews
1.0 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $147 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing