We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a 4 star!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Be very careful when choosing this caravan park. It was not a 4 star and the cabins are motel rooms. They are average to small rooms with no cooking facilities you have to use the outside kitchen and this does not have a microwave. We put our family of five in one room and I paid the price for the children but then had to pay extra for another mattress to be brought in and also extra for the linen and it ended up being and expensive stay.It says the rooms are with or without linen but I was told I couldnt use my own linen. We spent two nights climbing over each other as there was no room to move, if we had known they were motel rooms we would have booked in elsewhere to a real cabin.The lady at the front desk was not impressed when I asked to have a look at the room before we booked in. I thought this was quite an acceptable request and the young girl in the front desk was very rude when I had concerns about the extra charges. The whole of Coober Pedy was booked out and that was the only reason we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinnie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    83
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
50
119
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling Oz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is a comfortable caravan park but certainly not the 4-Star it somehow wangled. Very busy in June and full each night. No taps available for caravan connection. Rubbish not collected frequently and bottles overflowing. Toilets are closed for 3 hours each day for cleaning (rude). You pay for everything, water for the caravan, showers, BBQ, hot water for washing up. Yes we understand there is a problem obtaining water in the town. Fees $27 for 2 people in powered site whereas latest RACV book gives them as $20. Maintenance very lacking in the Gents toilet, only half the lights working, and most hooks/hangars in toilets showers missing and not replaced. Girl in office permanently on phone to boyfriend and regarded our arriving as a distraction. BUT that having been said, camp was quiet at night and our space was generous, and we were comfortable. And the shower was good and hot once paid for. Suggest downgrade to 2.5 to 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Because we were driving for 850km, my husband and I decided to hire a cabin in a caravan park for a much needed rest at the end. We requested a cabin at Stuart Range, which is the type of accommodation we have sought all over Australia. This usually provides us with a comfortable lounge couch or chairs, and cooking facilities that allows us to maintain our individual diets. If we didn't want cooking facilities, we could book a room in a motel. Although I booked 500 km ahead, when we arrived we were not booked in and the staff were critical of their colleagues. They did not mention the camp kitchen and by the time we read about it, we had already been out to buy food. We were amazed to find that the 'cabin' at Stuart Range was nothing more than a very basic room with an ensuite. As a cabin it did not supply cooking facilities, or comfortable seating. As a motel room, it did not provide the nicety of bedside tables, comfortable seating or bedside lights. The TV was so high it was difficult to watch. The bed linen was placed on the unmade bed and the fridge and air con not turned on. The advertising is misleading for Australian travellers who understand what a cabin is.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank najneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

During low season, the owners close down the larger shaded area and pile up all campers in a small cramped courtyard. We were assigned a narrow slot between a bunch of raucous teenagers and a large camper which kept its noisy air conditionning on all night.
To make things worse, the edge of the courtyard was lined up with plastic bags and other garbage items blown by the wind.
Lights in the bathroom automatically turned off after a few minutes.
Do yourself a favor: try one of the other campgrounds in town!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

After the long drive down from the Red Centre we were looking for somewhere cheap to spend the night in Coober Pedy. Having been camping for over a week an exhausted from driving 1000km we splashed out on a real bed getting a basic 'cabin' (hotel room actually!) at the Stuart Range park. For $75 it was good value (BYO linen) for a private room with ensuite, aircon, TV and small fridge. It was clean and there though we didnt need it, a good pool, laundry and camp kitchen for campers / caravans. One of the best bits about this place is the ajoined Pizza Bar. Family Pizza for $20 with the Lot (Yani's Special)... awesome. As I said the 'cabins' are actually hotel style rooms, clean and well appointed for the budget traveller. Considering the price of most things in central Australia its a good find.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zalgariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.4 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 8 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.2 km away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
1.0 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 8 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Property: BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing