We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$122
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Down to Erth B &B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
363
16
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
16
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of winewell equipped kitchengreat hospitalityan extra nighton arrivalother guestsstayed two nightsplace to staywealth of knowledgea great experienceliving roomunderground homefriendly hostsstaying undergroundnoodlestown centrealice springs
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 380 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Ana hosted our group to William Creek for a transfer to Fly over Lake Eyre and we stayed at the Underground B& B that night. The service, experience & personalities of both Ana & Ken was the highlight of our 14 day roadtrip from Perth - Brisbane and their local knowledge opened our eyes to things we would have otherwise missed. A terrific couple with a fantastic B&B, equipped with a covered area to relax in adjoining the B&B meant there were many areas to retreat to for conversation/eating or relaxation. The B&B Accommodation was 5 star. The Service was 100 stars! Do yourself a favour and book a tour with ANDO tours & stay at the Underground B& B if you are headed out to Coober Pedy. Kylie

Room Tip: Look on the website.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Great to have access to local knowledge from Ken and Ana, who were forever helpful as well as being great company. I liked staying a bit out of town ( but still very close), gives you a real sense of the place. And being underground was an experience, but there was an outdoor open air space to eat and relax too. Coober Pedy is an interesting place, don't miss out on a few nights there, especially if you get to stay at the Underground B & B. Colleen

Room Tip: one couple's room has its own bathroom, so get that one if you can for convenience
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I've stayed here on several occasions both by myself during business trips and with my family. This is a great facility for those with children (bath, microwave and practically soundproof rooms for babies and small children) but there are a few stairs to be aware of. During several business trips we used the outdoor area for debriefing sessions, sorting & processing documents and meetings. Really can't recommend this place enough to do it justice. Ken & Ana are great hosts and the place is awesome.

Room Tip: Don't be pretentious - be a normal, friendly person.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The better half and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid July with two friends. A very pleasant stay indeed: the underground accom is spacious, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Not claustrophobic at all. The kitchen is well appointed and a pleasure to use. Room 1 has an en suite bathroom; we were in rooms 2 and 3 which share a bathroom: It was excellent. Upstairs and outside is an enormous partly-enclosed entertaining area with spa. We didn't use the outside area much as it was comparatively chilly at that time of year, but our travelling companions used the spa and loved it. Iwas told that in summer daytime air temperatures can reach 45 and ground temps reach 65, so the constant 20-odd degrees in the underground section would be bliss. Ken and Ana are most genial hosts, happy to help in whatever way they can. Ken does day tours to Lake Eyre and other parts: well worth investigating.

The underground section has a number of steps, so if you're not good with steps bear that in mind.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezlxq1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed two nights on a trip from Adelaide to Alice Springs and loved the place. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves, but would be fine if the other rooms were occupied. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Ana was away visiting her mother, but Ken was a superb host; gave us good advice on town attractions and restaurants. Ken also runs ANDO Tours and we had a brilliant day on the Painted Desert tour. After seeing The Breakaways, Moon Plain and the stunning Painted Desert, Ken's friend, Tony Williams, invited us to see cattle drafting on Mount Barry Station.
Without wishing bad luck on the farmers we must go back when it is dry. Will definitely stay here again, and maybe do the Heritage Tour.
Thanks Ken.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptynestatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews