We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Highlight of Australian OutbackTour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Underground Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highlight of Australian OutbackTour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in all - two on way to Uluru & Alice Springs & one on way back. Well worth extra day going as we had a wonderful all day tour with Ken. Couldn't believe how much there was to see in & around a small Outback town. Ken & Ana were great hosts & we immediately felt right at home - welcome bottle of wine after long road journey from Adelaide with extra stress of nearly running out of fuel - Don't forget to fill up in Glendambo as there are no more petrol stations between there & Coober Pedy!

Room Tip: We loved our en-suite double but other rooms looked very nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
151
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were really impressed with our stay at 'The Underground B&B' in Coober Pedy. Ken & Ana were the perfect hosts, helpful, very informative, knowledgable and friendly but not intrusive. The facilities and amenities were fabulous, there was everything we could have wanted and more. We could cook or BBQ if we wanted and eat indoors or out. We would have loved to have stayed longer if we had been able to. We will definitely return and highly recommend a stay with them.

Room Tip: A travelling family with young kids would be best to ask for rooms 2 and/or 3 allowing them access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great space for a family, group of friends or a master room with ensuite for couples - the most luxurious way to experience underground accommodation. Modern, warm & welcoming with all the facilities. Outdoor spa in an undercover bbq area. Reasonably priced for a couple staing in main room with ensuite.

Room Tip: Couples - choose the room with the ensuite. Much more comfortable having your own bathroom and it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Ana hosted our group to William Creek for a transfer to Fly over Lake Eyre and we stayed at the Underground B& B that night. The service, experience & personalities of both Ana & Ken was the highlight of our 14 day roadtrip from Perth - Brisbane and their local knowledge opened our eyes to things we would have otherwise missed. A terrific couple with a fantastic B&B, equipped with a covered area to relax in adjoining the B&B meant there were many areas to retreat to for conversation/eating or relaxation. The B&B Accommodation was 5 star. The Service was 100 stars! Do yourself a favour and book a tour with ANDO tours & stay at the Underground B& B if you are headed out to Coober Pedy. Kylie

Room Tip: Look on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Great to have access to local knowledge from Ken and Ana, who were forever helpful as well as being great company. I liked staying a bit out of town ( but still very close), gives you a real sense of the place. And being underground was an experience, but there was an outdoor open air space to eat and relax too. Coober Pedy is an interesting place, don't miss out on a few nights there, especially if you get to stay at the Underground B & B. Colleen

Room Tip: one couple's room has its own bathroom, so get that one if you can for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far North SA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I've stayed here on several occasions both by myself during business trips and with my family. This is a great facility for those with children (bath, microwave and practically soundproof rooms for babies and small children) but there are a few stairs to be aware of. During several business trips we used the outdoor area for debriefing sessions, sorting & processing documents and meetings. Really can't recommend this place enough to do it justice. Ken & Ana are great hosts and the place is awesome.

Room Tip: Don't be pretentious - be a normal, friendly person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The better half and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid July with two friends. A very pleasant stay indeed: the underground accom is spacious, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Not claustrophobic at all. The kitchen is well appointed and a pleasure to use. Room 1 has an en suite bathroom; we were in rooms 2 and 3 which share a bathroom: It was excellent. Upstairs and outside is an enormous partly-enclosed entertaining area with spa. We didn't use the outside area much as it was comparatively chilly at that time of year, but our travelling companions used the spa and loved it. Iwas told that in summer daytime air temperatures can reach 45 and ground temps reach 65, so the constant 20-odd degrees in the underground section would be bliss. Ken and Ana are most genial hosts, happy to help in whatever way they can. Ken does day tours to Lake Eyre and other parts: well worth investigating.

The underground section has a number of steps, so if you're not good with steps bear that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezlxq1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.0 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 8 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.7 km away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.8 km away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing