We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Down to Erth B &B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venushill B&B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dug Out B&B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
364
16
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
16
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of wineb and bwell equipped kitchengreat hospitalityan extra nightensuite roomon arrivalother guestsstayed two nightsplace to staywealth of knowledgea great experiencealice springsunderground homefriendly hostsstaying undergroundnoodles
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 381 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Big Smoke Melbourne to Coober Pedy--what an impressive contrast! In 45+ yrs of travelling, I've concluded that satisfaction w/accommodation means everything...so I'll start by saying: "Why would anyone visit C.P. without staying underground?! We couldn't have chosen better than Underground B&B -- the whole apt. (as opposed to motel) is pleasing to the senses, as well as having everything imaginable thought out in advance by hosts Ana & Ken. Whatever the temperature above ground, below & within it's consistently comfortable (w/o cold A/C fans) for eating/resting/sleeping. For me and my companion, the 2 kms from town location was perfect for the stillness & feel of being in outback country, the privacy, the opportunity to "noodle" for opals @ on the property, and especially star-gazing! Down-to-earth friendly, go-the-extra-mile hosts, Ana & Ken displayed their knowledgeable long association w/CP & opal mining. Ken took us on his interesting tour which ignited CP's unique past whilst linking it to the present.

Room Tip: There's one room with ensuite, however we stayed in the room with shared bathroom & it posed no problems at all.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Who would have thought living underground could be so agreeable!
The house is a cool and refreshing change after the heat of the desert, and is really nicely decorated inside. Our hosts were excellent, and had some very fine opal jewelry for sale, of which we bought a few pairs of resonably priced earrings.
We will be staying there again when next passing that way, and would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We flew into Coober Pedy and were meet by Ana as per the web page said they would. The rooms are just lovely, clean and very welcoming. We had room 1 which has an on suite which is really good and considering your about 7 meters underground it worked really well. Just getting out of bed could be a problem as you have no idea of daylight untill you go outside. Ken and Ana are great hosts and really make you feel more like family than guests. Because we flew in we did not have any transport they lent us the car to get onto town and have a look around. We have travelled to a lot of different countries and have never had sevice like that before. Thank you Ken and Ana.
Ken also does tours and we can recommend going on one with him as he is a great guide. He also has a share in an opal mine and took us to have a look at what they do to find the opals, which is also interesting.
So if you want something different and great hosts then stay with Ken and Ana. Roy & Brenda. New Zealand.

Room Tip: Room 1 has on suite other 2 share
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This boutique B & B was a real haven. The rooms were spotless and ours was brightly furnished. The hosts had left the motel in the capable hands of friends, Deb and Harry, who made us very welcome and shared their passion for the area with us. Having breakfast outside on the verandah was a perfect beginning to the day, book-ended by the beautiful sunset from the same spot. The hosts suggested and organised tours, which were simply amazing. A trip with Radeka's to the Breakaways and Crocodile Harry's was a real highlight. Fabulous accommodation.This was the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We were in room 7. Fabulous.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzipan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Underground b&b is a place that I will always remember for all the right reasons. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated and every conceivable traveller's need was considered and catered for, and we were very grateful to find chocolates and wine awaiting us upon arriving after a very long drive. Set amongst a beautiful panoramic view of coober pedy, the b&b was a tranquil oasis best appreciated from the spa area in the excellent company of our hosts, Ana and Ken. These two wonderful people went to extraordinary lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable and happy and I will never forget the wonderful hospitality that they showed us. My only regret was that we could not stay longer- simply a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise Flourentzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews