We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, quiet underground stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of JAM B&B

Welcome To JAM B&B
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome To JAM B&B
Combined Dining & Family room Romantic Getaway Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Welcome To JAM B&B
Combined Dining & Family room
Romantic Getaway Bedroom
Romantic Getaway Dining
Romantic Getaway Lounge
Romantic Getaway Ensuite
Combined Family & Dining Room
Bathroom
Queen size Bed with option of additional single bed
Queen size Bed with option of additional single bed
Beautiful and spacious 'share' kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Coober Pedy, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
X3134ZFan...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique, quiet underground stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fantastic stay. Julie was very warm and welcoming. Stayed in the room with own kitchenette. Everything was warm and inviting (especially their cat,who was sitting on my lap within 5 mins of being there). Gave us a tour of the house they rent out , which was fantastic for large groups or if you don't mind sharing. From Adelaide we went to Alice Springs . We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed there on the way home.
One tip though don't leave your shoes outside as their dog(very friendly) seems to like shoes. luckily it only tastes them but doesn't chew them

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Thank you Annette for such a lovely Review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan57Pe...
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A family surprise ”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We met our young travelling family in Coober Pedy; they chose this B&B for us as a surprise and led us in. I had no idea what we were headed for but was pleasantly surprised to find a large spacious, well appointed fully furnished underground home suitable for all 7 of us. Breakfast was included.
Our hosts Julie and Marc made us feel very welcome and were wonderful with the children. A beautiful oasis in the middle of the desert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonM248...
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed there for two wonderful days in May. The propriotors are great to deal with and and share a yarn with.
Although some say it is a little hard to find there is signage around directing you, I gave them a call about 10km out and they were able to give me simple directions on the phone.
Rooms were great and you have a lot of space to relax.

If i ever pass up there again i will defiently be staying here.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff N
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My Wife and I recently moved from Darwin to SA and drove down. The second last night we stayed in JAM B&B. During the drive my Wife says "Oh we're staying underground tonight".. I was a bit worried UNTIL we got there, Jules was wonderful and welcoming, we both felt at home right away and after a long road trip this was welcomed! Our room was lovely and comfortable, well equipped and modern and even though the over night temperature dipped to about 10c the room stayed so toasty and warm.
We were greeted with a huge smile and a bottle of wine and some chocolates!. I enquired about the fire pit on the driveway and Jules response was "light it up!"..

I cannot rave enough about this place, we had a fire and watched the stars roll by in this incredible little B&B feeling welcomed and comfortable.
If we travel back to Coober Pedy for a little holiday or travel back to Darwin we will be staying here again!..

Oh and Coober Pedy is a GREAT little town full of life and Character. If you're a fan of Vin Diesel's Pitch Black film there are props from the movie all over the place. Definitely a must see..

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gorilla_a...
Malua Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Really really cool....stayed in some average motels along the way and thought I'd spend a little more a give Jam a go and was super happy I did.

Really lovely owners and not only was it comfortable and homely there were just some little extra bits of detail to make your stay a good one.

Next time I'm in Coober Pedy I definitely staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIVD
Dee Why
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super friendly hosts, best hole in the ground! ;)”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

J & M are the best hosts you could wish for in Coober Pedy. They are good people, super friendly and we were lucky to stay at their place for a night over the Easter weekend. Of course it is super cool to stay in a fully underground house in Cooby, but it was our hosts who made all the difference. We arrived dusty and dirty, with a minor accident (an oil can exploded in the back of my pick-up - arrgh!) that needed cleaning up and they allowed me to wash out my car in their underground yard. They even did a load of laundry for us to help clean up. The room came with full breakfast, fresh bread and coffee, which was much appreciated. Before leaving, they provided us with all the tips and directions we needed for exploring Cooby. Thanks again J & M!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart-L...
Grafton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not just a hole in the ground but an amazing oasis as well.”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Julie and Marcus are the perfect hosts. They make you feel as if you are a part of the family. The accommodation is brilliant, underground and comfortable and very well appointed. We were in the 'Love Shack' and our friends were in the main house but we all had the best Coober Pedy experience thanks to these amazing people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing