We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Views and nice spacious house.”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
justwanta...
Myersville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and nice spacious house.”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

In the middle of Penneshaw and Kingscote. Beautiful isolated property with great views of the American River. Very clean and spacious with three bedrooms.

A few words for Americans
The property comes with a washing machine but no dryer. It does have a clothesline apparatus outside and a drying rack inside. There is no drop off laundry service in the island.

No dishwasher so you will have to wash your dishes.

No central heat - there is a split system ductless unit in the kitchen and a wood stove in the living room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Kestrel Downs. It was lovely to meet you when I called by to check that all was well. It is always interesting to experience different domestic cultural customs. Australians dry their clothes on outdoor clothes lines, as it is eco-friendly, many items can be dried at one time and it imparts a fresh air fragrance to washing. Indoor clothes dryers, if present, are more often used for emergencies. Also, Australian houses do not have central heating. The usual means of heating/cooling a home is with reverse cycle air conditioning, such as the unit we have in our living area. Log fires like the one at Kestrel Downs, are also very popular for their warm ambiance. Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu2007
paris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Forest and Sea”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in the house, the fact that we are in the middle of the forest and yet with a superb view on the bay, the wallabies hoping around on the way to the house... Sally was very nice and nicely checked if we were happy during our stay in a non-intrusive manner which we really appreciated.
We really enjoyed making fire during the cold nights, and the house was well prepared to welcome us as home.
The kitchen is very spacious, modern and clean, and we were very happy with that too.
Our toddleralso felt in love with the 2 statues at the entry and wanted to give them a kiss every time she was passing by them...
Thank you Sally for an unforgettable stay

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Glenelg, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The perfect getaway for lovers or family. We stay 2 nights I could have stayed 2 weeks. The views from most rooms of this lovely home are astounding. The mattresses on the beds are the best I have ever slept on anywhere. (I have travelled to many parts of the world)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waynebwil
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay +++”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a wondeful 3 night stay at Kestrel Downs. It could not have been better. Sally was responsive and a pleasure to deal with. The home is pristine and well equipped. We had all of our breakfasts and dinners there. We took advantage of the BBQ and wood stove. The location is perfect and the views spectacular. We especially enjoyed the wallabys who visited at dawn and dusk. Thank you Sally for an unforgettable visit to Kangaroo Island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYgrapegu...
Geneva, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasteful, and relaxing”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The house is tastefully appointed, in a beautiful and location that is within convenient driving distance from the ferry, Kingscote, and American River. Wonderful views, very quiet (you can't see or hear any other houses) and relaxing, with abundant wildlife. Rolling over in bed at daybreak to look out the window at the wallaby convention mere meters away was just one of the many special things that we experienced. KI is a magic place, and this puts you right into the heart of it. Plus, Sally was great to work with. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Relax in style and comfort”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A lovely place to enjoy the view, the wildlife and the comfort of a great holiday house.
The fireplace was a bonus on a cold evening, the kitchen was great for cooking and the beds were very comfortable. Drinks on the verandah in the evening with the birds and wallabies was special. Loved the island and all its attractions and the locals were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and comfort
Liked least: Access from the road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have stayed forever - beautiful house in a spectacular location”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Can't say enough about this wonderful house! Central to all of the spectacular things Kangaroo Island has to offer but once you arrive at Kestrel Downs you feel as though the outside world has disappeared completely. The house was beautifully presented and appointed with everything you could possibly want - good sized bedrooms (with very comfy beds!), lovely big bathroom and beautiful spacious kitchen and living area. The views were amazing, so much so that even though we were on holidays, most days we got up before daylight, took our coffees out onto the verandah and watched the sun coming up over the water. Late afternoons and evenings found us in the same location watching the blue wrens and other wildlife enjoying themselves in this wonderful place. Kestrel Downs is a credit to its owners and we hope they will allow us to return next year. Our next stay will definitely be longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil, peaceful feeling that comes with the house and it's location.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing