We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had read the reviews and asked for a higher floor room when we booked - which we got. Service was great. Room good. Car parking in Market Street was not a problem at all - it was raining, and the short walk from the car park to the hotel was all under cover. Location fabulous - a short walk to the harbour and Salamanca Place. The small restaurant in the foyer was so handy for breakfast. Don't forget to turn right outside the hotel and visit the bar on the corner - it was an old garage and has been revamped in petrol head style. Fun. ( Next to the "Budgie Smuggler" burger bar!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Collins Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for a week in mid February 2012 and was impressed with it's small boutique style and quiet location even though it is only a short walking distance to most of Hobart's attractions. We were upgraded to a first floor apartment which was quite spacious and well appointed but extremely stuffy when the air con was turned off regardless of outside temperature. When the air con was on, even on the lowest fan speed, it was noisy enough to be distracting.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby cafe was adequate but for good coffee in the same building there is a Doctor Coffee which provided an excellent brew. My wife and I were both requiring reliable internet access for work and were disappointed that the in room responses were extremely slow to the point of being useless. The ground floor wi-fi was excellent but I was unable to send Outlook based emails from any optusnet address despite following in house instructions to the letter. By the way, Optus mobile phone service in Hobart suburbs and nearby attractions is terrible.

As other reviewers have noted there is no parking provided but it is available in the adjoining Market Place car park and on the street nearby for varying times and rates. On street parking is generally free from 6pm until 8 or 8.30am weekdays and all weekend. It is pretty easy to get a park on the street in the area. Thrifty car rental is just around the corner in Argyle Street.

Hobart is a great place to visit. Highlights for us were Mt Wellington, Port Arthur, Mona, Richmond, Meadowbank Winery for lunch, Mt Field National Park, Salamanca Place, Battery Point and best of all Peppermint Bay cruise. The Hotel Collins makes a good base for visiting these and many other attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend, Friday 10th Feb to Sunday 12th, booked thru a Qantas package. After emailing them to ask for a room with a view, as we'd read the reviews here, they said they'd upgrade us if they could. True to their word they did, we were on the 9th floor with a wonderful view of Mt Wellington and a bath in our en-suite. Love to have a bath whilst on holiday. but the cheaper rooms don't have one, so really appreciated the upgrade. Room smallish but adequate with stylish decor. Hotel very centrally positioned within walking distance of all harbour attractions and heaps of galleries and museums. Friendly service. Def stay again.when in Hobart.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view and keep your fingers crossed for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Not a good experience when we first arrived as it was a unseasonally hot day and the room air conditioning was faulty. Apparently, there was a small problem with one of the air conditioning units in the hotel.) But it did not take long before the front desk moved use to another room, albeit a smaller one. For convenience the location of the hotel is well located - five minutes walk to either the waterfront restaurants, the city area; and slightly longer walk to Salamanca Square.
If you are driving note there is no provision for off-street parking but there is a public carpark with discounted rates next behind the hotel. Free street parking is between 6pm and 8am the next day, and free all day parking on Saturdays and Sundays. There is a small restaurant/cafe in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is altogether a good hotel. My room was in great conditions, especially when compared to the other hotels I have stayed at in Australia. My impression is that Australian hotels tend to be a bit more poorly maintained than hotels in other parts of the world. My only complaint about the room is the shower. The shower head is fixed and so you need to stand right underneath it to shower. However, if you do so, your right arm will constantly run into the sharp corners of the soap holder. I scratched myself a few times from that.

The location of the hotel is good. Collins Street itself, especially the section of it on which hotel is located, is not that exciting. But the hotel is quite close to the harbor front and Salamanca Square. In all fairness though, downtown Hobart is so small that I think any hotel in the area will be close to the harbor front.

The staff is friendly enough, and probably more so than the staff in other hotels I have stayed at in Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

On arrival were upgraded to a better room (as I like a room away from the lifts to minimise noise). The room had everything you needed, flat screen tv,free internet cable connected.
But we found it rather small ( not sure how big the other room would have been). The safe & fridge were in the wardrobe so didn't leave a lot of room for clothes etc. We had 4 bags as we were in Australia for 4 weeks and manged to get some bags on top of the wardrobe (but they came down rather dusty). This would not probably bother lighter travellers.

Breakfast was not included but you had a choice in the lobby downstairs they also served meals of an evening. We only ate of a morning and this was fine. (wheelchair users would find this hotel okay as had large lifts etc).

It was quite near to the front at Hobart and restaurants and shops.( The hills were not too bad to the shops but was quite flat to the front and restaurants)

Would have no hesitation at staying at this hotel again, the staff were wonderful and the level of cleanliness in the normal areas was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Good hotel and location but rooms a little small otherwise a great place to stay..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PudgyWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.7 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $138 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing