We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We only stayed one night and found that it had an ideal location. We had been worried by it being on the main road, but our room was around the side and it was quiet. The rooms were functional and comfortable. Free parking was an advantage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    704
    176
    42
    12
See reviews for
275
638
70
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I had two nights at the Woolstore and had a 1 bedroom apartment with a full bathroom, a second toilet, full kitchen, laundry, dining area and lounge room. It was very comfortable and spacious and we must have been very lucky as the location in the hotel was wonderfully quiet. It was upstairs and down into one corner with only one room next door which was unoccupied. The view wasn't wonderful but we didn't book the hotel for the view and we spent very little time in the apartment as we were out and about. We didn't have a car but I can imagine parking would have been a little difficult.

The location is good as you can walk to the waterfront, Salamanca markets and Battery Point. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on that. The staff also looked after our bags when we checked out as our flight wasn't until the afternoon. Overall, we definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Wow. After a few very average nights in other soulless Hobart hotels we checked in here. Brilliant one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and laundry facilities in bathroom. Could not be more surprised at how nice it was compared to the dull, cramped and overpriced hotels we'd been in.

Stay here. Great location, friendly staff, complimentary parking! Beautifully converted old building into nice apartments. Cheap internet access at $5 for 24 hours. Just very customer friendly in all aspects. Stay here. I will again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

After an horendous night at another hotel, we were lucky enough to get into The old Woolstore for our second night in Hobart. We had a 2 bedroom appartment. You cant fault it in any way shape or form. Friendly, very helpful, everything you could possibly need for your stay. We will be back :)

Room Tip: would all be good ours was brilliant....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed there for a few weeks in Spring 2011, excellent apartments, location couldn't be better. Street noise is always a big concern for me when I travel and at this hotel you can get a really quiet room, unlike the Grand Chancellor across the street.

Room Tip: As for a room on a quiet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nagafuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We managed to book a spa room on a website called "wotif" for about half the normal rate which was of the best things i have done in along time. The room was a huge self contained apartment with full kitchen, large spa area and an extremely comfortable king sized bed. It had a room length horizontal window that looked out over the harbour which was amazing at night time. It is located within very easy walking distance to the city centre and also down to the Salamanca restaurant area. Very nice place to take that someone special for a romantic weekend away, i highly recommend this place if fits within your budget as it is quite pricey if you can't get an online deal. Hobart is a lovely place and great jump off point to explore southern Tasmania

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Perfectly located to CBD, waterfront and numerous shops, restaurants and bars. I have been to this place a couple of times now and simply will not contemplate staying anywhere else. It is exceptional value for money compared to elsewhere in Hobart. On this occasion, I booked a 1 bedroom self contained apartment and the amenities were first rate. Has an excellent restaurant and seperate bar. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
391 reviews
0.9 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
519 reviews
0.5 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing