We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed in a 3 bed apartment with 2 kids (8&10) and the grandparents. We arrived early and the room wasn't quite ready, but we stored our luggage at the hotel and went for a wander to have lunch. The hotel sent a text to let us know the room was available after only about 30 mins. The room was great, 1 double upstairs along with the large, modern bathroom. 1 twin room and other with bunkbeds off the lounge area downstairs. Kitchen well equipped with dishwasher, microwave etc although we ate out every night. Overall our room was clean, modern and well equipped and plenty big enough for the 6 of us. The location was fantastic, adjacent to the main street in the Salamanca area with easy access to an assortment of restaurants, coffee shops and the Saturday markets which are well worth a visit. This was my 1st trip to Hobart and I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebR286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    234
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
154
233
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Salamanca Inn during our trip to Hobart. The rooms were very clean and looks like it has just been renovated. The Hotel is definitely right in the city centre, close to the markets, bars and lovely restaurants. I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a great place to stay - lovely modern and large room, great beds, large bathroom and good cooking facilities. Staff could not be more helpful. A receptionist remembered us on our return after two weeks touring Tassie. It is very central - handy for Salamanca market if you are there on a Saturday and it has the added advantage that parking is free. However wi-fi is 20$ for two days. The only downside was on our second stay when cooking smells came into our room in the early evening but weren't in the corridor.

Room Tip: Queen rooms have better views than King rooms but there is not much in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambiSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Perfect location, perfect accomodation. The staff have a "slick professionalism" to them. Just brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twissell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at Salamanca Inn for two nights, it was very close to Salamanca Markets and great restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Hobart.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louisen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Had a great stay at the Salamanca Inn - such a great location, just a few paces to the Salamanca Market - great to take purchases back and then return for more shopping! Rooms are so well thought out with everything you could need. We had a small kitchen, large fridge - great quick freezer for ice cubes. Free new or recent release movies and free parking.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Did not find the room noisy at all, but it may depend on where you stay in the hotel.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SummerAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom with our 2 children. Great location and free parking for car. Free use of washing machine and dryer a bonus. Will recommend

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Titirangi0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing