We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very comfortable 5 nights at Blackman's Bay...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 19 Blue

19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
The Main Living Area Dining and Relaxing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
The Main Living Area
Dining and Relaxing
We Supply a Really Informative Folder of our Area
We Supply Fluffy Bathrobes!
19 Blue has a Great Shower.
Welcoming Wombats!
Eggs for Breakfast?
Parking This Way!
Water View from Verandah
19 Blue Holiday Cottage  is Clearly Signed.
Plenty of Parking out Front
Looking Through an Archway
Just Outside Your Door
Relax on the lovely Deck - Breakfast or a Quiet Read? Deck Chairs Provided.
Meet The Alices - we provide Fresh Eggs!
Black Mountain Parrots Visit the Banksia Tree in the Corner!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shpeck
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very comfortable 5 nights at Blackman's Bay, Hobart”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

19 Blue was stocked with every home comfort - Books, CDs, DVDs and even Bacon and Eggs for Breakfast. Thanks Judith and Chris for a very comfortable stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your review - it was a pleasure having you both to stay and we are glad you found 19 Blue comfortable and a home away from home - that's our aim! Warm Regards,
Judith and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
211sylvia
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Broad Beans for dinner.”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We loved staying at 19 Blue! The decor is delightful and the rocking chair a treat for tired travellers. Quiet, comfortable and suburban. The vege garden a pleasant surprise.
I especially enjoyed the broad beans. Thank you Judith and Chris.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most perfect little cottage”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

On my first visit to Australia in February 2014 we spent most of our time in Tasmania and had the luck of stumbling across the most perfect little cottage on line!
Close and easy drive to Hobart centre, the Huon Valley and easy access to endless stunning roads down the Channel and state wide.
The cottage had all the necessities and then some! We just kept finding the cutest little luxury touches that made the 10 day stay very hard to see the end of.
One thing that can’t be missed is the lovely hosts Judith and Chris who gave a genuinely welcoming family feeling. On top of their hospitality an absolute must is their moving, privately owned ‘Live History Walking Tour’ of the colonial women’s prison near the Cascade brewery - ‘Louise’s Walk’.
If you like comfort, views, the sound of waves in the morning, easy access to tourist sites, history and relaxing stays …. 19 Blue is a must!
Sandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise J
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable and private with everything you need”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We catch up with friends every few years and this is the first time we've chosen an alternative to either staying with friends or staying at a city hotel. You need a car to access but it's well worth it and close to the city and Kingston shops at any rate. It poured with rain on the Friday we arrived and it was nice to sit in front of the heater, enjoy a coffee and a skim through a magazine before we began our visiting with friends. The bed is very comfortable, the accommodation spotlessly clean and the breakfast and access fo the vegie garden an added bonus. Free wifi access was also much appreciated by my husband . We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bed, cleanliness and privacy
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
Thank you so much Colin and Denise for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at 19 Blue. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Judith and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kramer62
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“19 Blue - one of the best”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at 19 Blue for 4 nights and wished we had booked a couple more. Judith and Chris were the perfect hosts and the cottage had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. The location was really close to public transport into Hobart - a short 15 to 20 minute ride. Judith and Chris provided us with helpful information on how to get around Hobart and things to do during our short stay. We want to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness of the property had their organic backyard garden
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max P
Werribee, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay side located cottage.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday cottage is located in a peaceful location 10 minute bus ride from the CBD. Spotlessly clean, well stocked with all one needs and gracious hosts. Top notch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: wifi connection not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Thank you so much Max and Barbara you were a pleasure to have staying in 19 Blue - our longest stay visitors to date!

Thank you also for the delicious Cygneture hand -made chocolates - sinfully good!

Lastly our thanks for the glowing review left on TripAdvisor for our convict-drama Louisa's Walk.

We are so glad you enjoyed both of our experiences.

Judith and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing