We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A green oasis with a stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 19 Blue

19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
The Main Living Area Dining and Relaxing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
The Main Living Area
Dining and Relaxing
We Supply a Really Informative Folder of our Area
We Supply Fluffy Bathrobes!
19 Blue has a Great Shower.
Welcoming Wombats!
Eggs for Breakfast?
Parking This Way!
Water View from Verandah
19 Blue Holiday Cottage  is Clearly Signed.
Plenty of Parking out Front
Looking Through an Archway
Just Outside Your Door
Relax on the lovely Deck - Breakfast or a Quiet Read? Deck Chairs Provided.
Meet The Alices - we provide Fresh Eggs!
Black Mountain Parrots Visit the Banksia Tree in the Corner!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Werner R
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A green oasis with a stunning view”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything is catered for in this well set up home away from home. Judith was a good host and the breakfast of bacon and eggs was much appreciated. She offered us access to the nectarines and vegetables from the garden and also had eggs from their chooks for us. It is close to beautiful Kingston beach and Blackman bay beach. I would highly recommend this to visitors to Hobart.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandE...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Well thought out”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Many thanks to the owners, Judith and Chris, for providing such a comfortable place to stay close to Hobart. While the rented unit shares the property with the owner's house, the lush, well tended garden around it gives lots of privacy and creates beauty. It is actually nice knowing where to find the owner if there is a problem, not that we had any. Judith, it was so nice to meet you. Thank you for the lovely welcome.

Every little detail was thought out to provide a comfortable stay at 19 Blue. I enjoyed the breakfast supplies including fresh baked bread, butter, home made jam, fresh eggs, bacon, delicious yoghurt, fruit preserves, milk, coffee, tea, and more. There is plenty of space for 2 people, spacious bathroom, comfortable seating, heater if necessary, and even a washing machine. We had only one very small discomfort, and that was that the bed was too hard for us - but others may not be bothered by this. I very much liked the bedding which included duvets and sheets, which meant that we were comfortable in all temperature conditions. I would also like to comment on the fact that the house was spotless. I so appreciate that!

Instructions for getting to the location were very clear. We were delighted with the well kept appearance and the nice decorating. It is very easy to get to Hobart from here, although you can certainly find enough to keep you interested close by - with beaches and walks, and even shopping and restaurants. In fact, we were so comfortable at 19 Blue that we simply relaxed at the property for a whole morning instead of running off to do sightseeing. So peaceful.

Another note would be as to the Wi-fi. It is offered, but service is very weak and spotty. My husband would say that is a good thing since I spend too much time on my computer anyway. So this isn't a complaint, just a comment.

We highly recommend 19 Blue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and clean accommodation, breakfast offerings, gardens
Liked least: hard bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane m
2 reviews
“delightful”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A delightful holiday cottage with a warm and welcoming feel, lovely touches and amazing breakfast goodies, peaceful lush garden, just lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming feel with invitation to share the garden harvest
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Thank you so much Jane for leaving this lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at 19 Blue. You would be so welcome back any time!
Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calmtrave...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and good value for money”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had 3 nights in this holiday house and it was very enjoyable. Cute house with lovely gardnes. Everything you need is there. Blackmans Bay is a nice location and it was a very short trip into the city. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money, nice house
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for leaving this very positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at 19 Blue!

Judith & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garkless
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

19 blue was the perfect base for us discovering southern Tasmania.
From here we did Port Arthur, Hobart, Bruny Island and the Frecinet peninsula.
The house is smashing. Cute little garden, balcony. Cosy lounge with fire and tv, and well stocked kitchen area. We loved cooking our beautiful golden chook eggs and the home baked bread was gorgeous.
The bedroom was well appointed comfy and cosy. Nice hot shower and all the usual bathroom facilities.
There is a good selection of shops just around the corner including bakers, grocers, bottle shop and grocers.
The cottage garden is lovely. Not sure what I would change. Perfect location, perfect couples retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely Review, Gail. It was a pleasure having you and Keith to stay at 19 Blue. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Warm Regards,

Your Hosts - Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland...
North Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A Little Blue Tasmanian Gem”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

19 Blue is without doubt the perfect holiday home for any couple looking for a comfortable, friendly and convenient stay in the Hobart area. Your hosts make you feel most welcome. Their neat and clean holiday home is welcoming. 19 Blue is a gem that we will visit again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy and well located.
Liked least: Nothing. We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for leaving this review Jackie. 19 Blue awaits your return with great pleasure - you were perfect guests!
Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaeem
San Jose
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Hobart”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice little cottage located close to restaurants and activities without being in the middle of a noisy town. Quiet and comfortable at a very reasonable cost. Breakfast is included in the fridge and the eggs, bacon and bread were excellent as well as the preserves and yogurt. Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2015
Thank you so much for going to the trouble to write a Review for 19 Blue. We think it is so convenient for all Southern Tourism destinations and, as you say, away from the bustle of the city.

We love making our guests feel welcome and enjoy providing all those little extras that make it feel like home...................

We would love to see you back again.

Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing