We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rojodan
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed a 4 night stay in March in this quality apartment. The well appointed kitchen and living-room, Tom and Pam's and the goodies in the pantry, made us feel very welcome. We were close to all that Hobart has to offer and appreciated the welcoming atmosphere of the apartment. Johanna and Robert

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian E
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Expect the Unexpected!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Hi Tom/Pam
Thank you for an excellent accommodation you prepared for us. Your generosities with those yummy goodies in the fridge (special mentioned the Cherry Jam obviously hehehe) + the stuffs from the pantry made it so special. Your location is so close to everything & made it so easy for us to travel from A to B. We'll definitely coming back & choose your apartment again.
Your apartment is highly recommended. It's Gold.

Keep smiling
Josephine & Brian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner(next door) didn't bother us
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargD
Lake Macquarie
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A hassle free and affordable alternative to busy Hobart accommodation”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We found The Gardens Apartment through Tripadvisor and booking was simple. Following my request Tom phoned and answered all my questions and completed the booking straight away. As we were staying for 8 nights we needed space, good, safe car parking and some kitchen facilities. We had all this and more.

The kitchen was well set up so that cooking was a pleasure, with lovely crockery and cutlery and all pans and implements that you could possibly need. A washing machine in the apartment was a bonus. The jams, yoghurt, fruit etc supplied on arrival were appreciated. We had plenty of space both upstairs and down to store our luggage and good hanging space for our clothes. Comfortable leather lounge chairs made watching the large TV enjoyable.

The separate WC and bathroom were stylish with lovely towels etc supplied. The bedroom upstairs had a most comfortable queen bed with beautiful linen and plenty of space for our bags. Lighting was good and the ceiling fan was appreciated as we had a couple of unusually hot nights.

The covered carport was excellent for parking and it was an easy drive into either Sandy Bay or Kingston for groceries. Hobart was only a 10 minute drive but we found it easier to take the local bus to Hobart on the days we wanted to visit the city as we then didn't need to find car parking.

This comfortable, stylish apartment is a good base for exploring Port Arthur, the Huon Valley and further south. Tom is most helpful with advice on where to go and what to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eala-bhan...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful little gem in a perfect setting”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The apartment is beautifully appointed with superior furnishings and appliances and is set amidst a well-tended shady garden. Tom and Pam are genial friendly hosts who willingly share there extensive knowledge of the area. Nice little touches like finding home-made jam and basic provisions in the fridge and lovely toiletries in the bathroom are indicative of the warm welcome that await guests. The location is peaceful and relaxing with local beaches nearby. Access to central Hobart by car or bus is easy .
The Gardens Apartment was ideal for us on our first trip to this lovely island and we definitely hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tom's warm welcome and the high quality and design of the property
Liked least: We found no drawbacks whatsoever!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57hanna
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Contemporary, comfortable, clean accommodation in a convenient location”
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

When searching for accommodation in the vicinity of Hobart I was very excited to come across Tom & Pam’s gardens apartment. It SOUNDED just like my kind of place in which to stay and it proved to BE just that! I loved it. It’s ideal for 1 or 2 adults, it’s clean, modern, and cleverly compact in its design. Whatever I needed was there and my feedback & suggestions for improvements were welcomed.

Tom & Pam manage the apartment very efficiently; they are welcoming yet respect their guests' privacy. Any information provided both before and during my stay was timely, sufficient and helpful. I appreciated the welcoming touches of coffee & tea supplies, the fruit and chocolates and some first day breakfast supplies. By NO MEANS are guests made to feel that they’re to replace these!

Location is perfect: easy access to public transport (bus) was great for Hobart CBD but it’s also a convenient location for driving to places in Hobart's surrounds.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was sorry I could not stay longer due to prior bookings. Would not hesitate to book this accommodation again when I next visit Hobart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I could quickly feel at home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantzi
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings and nice apartment”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

All facilities were clean and in good repair. The gardens are very lovely, but not really accessible or visible from most of the cottage. As the apartment is actually part of the house, I felt reticent to invade their privacy and walk past the doorway. Tom was welcoming upon my arrival, even though it was late in the evening. I was surprised to be informed that provisions were supplied for only the first night and breakfast, and that I would have to purchase my own basic provisions for the rest of my stay. There was a selection of jams and jellies, a half liter of milk, and some cereal. Coffee was supplied, but written instructions implied that it be replaced upon use. Perhaps these arrangements could be made more clear when booking. The apartment is small, but very comfortable and has all mod-cons, including a washing machine and clothes line. I did not find the washing powder and dish washing supplies in the hidden cupboard under the sink, so I bought my own.
Hobart and all its attractions are easily accessed by car, and the bus route is within a short walk from the apartment. The area is very quiet and peaceful. Tom is a charming host and very accommodating.
The bedroom is up stairs, so would not suit anyone with a physical disability which prevents the use of stairs. It would not be suitable for children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet area
Liked least: the printed list of do's and don'ts
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Chantal,

We believe we provide an precise description of our accommodation and our guests invariably give us 5 stars for “Accuracy of Description”. As you are the first guest ever to give us less than a 5 star review, we feel compelled to respond.

The apartment, which by definition is not a cottage, shares an adjoining, fully-soundproofed wall with our house and the gardens are accessible from the apartment without walking past our doorway in two ways - either by the steps between the two doors or the path between the carport and the street.

We offer a self-contained, self-catering accommodation with a gourmet kitchen and have never claimed to be a Bed & Breakfast. The “complementary tea and coffee pods provided, and some breakfast goodies for our guests' first night” are greatly appreciated by our guests as you will see from any of our other reviews. Nowhere is it expressed or implied that the use of these bonus extras requires them to be replaced. We don’t feel the need to repeat all this when our guests enquire as we assume they have read our listing.

The cupboard under the sink is not deliberately hidden, it has a push/push catch as we cannot put a handle on it without it being hit by the adjoining drawer. But your point here is well made and we will put a “push to access cleaning products” label on it forthwith.

Again, we clearly state in our listing that our apartment is unsuitable for the elderly, those with disabilities and children, precisely because of the stairs.

Tom & Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart F
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a gem and what great hosts”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and it was such a fantastic find. It is handy to the city, 10 minutes by car to the Salamanca Market, a regular bus service, and the taxi from town at 1.00am was only $20. it is a gorgeous apartment, Pam and Tom have filled the fridge and cupboard with jams and other condiments, and it had a coffee maker. Pam gave us lettuce from her garden and we were invited to join them on Christmas Day.

Tom loaned me a bike and I enjoyed riding on the cycle friendly road which goes right past the door. I rode out past the Shot Tower, a must to visit. Everything around Hobart is easy to get to, we had a rental car and driving was easy. Tom told me of some good vineyards and it was a very pleasant day sampling wine and many of the vineyard have a restaurant or cafe attached .

We had a great stay and only regretted that we could not stay longer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts were extremely helpful and pleasant
Liked least: We had to return home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing