We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable fish and chips”
Review of Fish Frenzy

Fish Frenzy
Ranked #83 of 645 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Enjoy the freshest seafood, fish 'n' chips & hot chowder on Hobart's historic waterfront Fish Frenzy is famous for its delicious, daily fresh fish and chips, grilled seafood, salads and amazing hot seafood chowder. Come in and discover what the locals take for granted. The fast and friendly service is complemented by the incredible waterfront location of the restaurant, overlooking the docks and working port. Every visit to Hobart should include a stop at Fish Frenzy! Dine in or take away. Savour Australia - Finalist - Awards for Excellence 2016. Along with most credit cards we also accept WechatPay, Alipay and Bestpay.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our first night on Hobart, we decided to have dinner at fish frenzy after reading some amazing review. It was bit busy, the outside tables had good heating, so it was wonderful to dine outside. The food came pretty quickly and it was pretty good. The fish were very well cooked and the chips were standard. The chips could have been seasoned well. It was bit expensive, but pretty standard for restaurant in CBD.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ajaay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great review, thank you for taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading reviews we expected so much more. The food came out way too quick to be freshly cooked for our order. Food was not too bad but overly priced for the overall product.

Thank ch3atday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We definitely get our food our very quickly and every dish is freshly cooked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you like fish and chips Hobart waterfront is great for you, This was just one of the places recommended to us. After eating fish and chips in England, these were far better but still they are fried food, and this is not the best way to eat fresh fish.

Thank Pepperjackm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Fish Frenzy and writing the review. We have great grilled seafood options as an alternative to our battered and crumbed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On visits to Hobart I have eaten at Fish Frenzy for many years. The food is fresh and inexpensive. Fish and chips, calamari or prawns and chips, are as good, mostly better, than anywhere else. The oysters are delicious. Service is quick and friendly. [The lady with the red hair is always a treat with her jokey manner.] And, it is inexpensive. What more could yolu want to cheer you up on a dull day in Hobart, or even a sunny day, or any day? For lunch and dinner, with friends or on your own, the view over the Derwent and the wharves close-by makes for a lively scene.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for you lively enjoyable review! Glad you enjoy Fish Frenzy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very efficient service at Fish Frenzy. No booking allowed, but service is fast and wait is never too long. getting here early would guarantee you a table by the window in front of the water, which is quite nice. Prices are obviously a touch higher than the lower key / take out places just down the street, but i thought it was well worth it.
Portions are large, and the fish and chips was very tasty. we opted for the beer battered flat head (you can pick tempura, beer battered or crumbed), deep fried calamaris, and a large fries, for 2 people, and were very happy with it (could not finish the fries).
good choice of drinks, beers, ciders, wines, but i felt that they were pretty expensive for the size/quality, especially 10$ for a small bottle of cider.
Still a good dinner overall, happy to come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank streetfoodlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A very good review, thank you for taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Frenzy also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Fish Frenzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing