We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Mantra 1 for 3 nights in Feb. & found it quite pleasant.
The rooms were spacious, clean & comfortable & although being on the Davet St corner we did not find the traffic noise a problem. Sure the car park is a bit dingy but hey, its a car park.
Great position for walking to the wharf area, CBD, Salamanca & Battery Point ( Jackson & Ross Bakery is excellent).
My only complaint is the cost of internet access which must be due to managements charges to the provider because it is ridiculous. Many smaller properties around Tassie provided free access.
Unfortunatly I was charged twice for the services & only yesterday received advice re my credit.
Only one complaint but for me it is a big one.
Oh, & the staff were most helpful & pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for your review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the location convinient to everything you needed.

Regarding Internet access - regrettably due to our business model, we are unable to absorb the cost of internet ourselves and as such have to outsource it to an external providor. I will raise your concerns with them directly, as we do not charge anything to them for this service.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Warm regards,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    292
    131
    46
    34
See reviews for
123
311
42
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here with a friend over a long weekend. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and basic amenities were provided (small fridge, kettle, tea and coffee - also a washing machine.). We had a 3 story split level apartment - i suspect the other rooms in this establishment are not split level, so you should specify if you want this style of room. It had a large bedroom (2 single beds) on the bottom floor, bathroom and entrance on the middle floor and kitchen/open plan lounge on top floor. No balcony. It was 5 mins walk from Salamanca Place where there is a variety of restaurant and the Salamanca market. We also had a car park for a couple of days at a very reasonable price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomebodyFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Hobart staying at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road.

We only have the two 1 Bedroom Apartments that are presented as split level, and can certainly be requested on booking.

I'll look forward to welcoming you back again on your return to Hobart!

Many thanks again,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Mantra has a great location for tourists as it is near Salamanca Place, the city and Battery Point.It is a converted Art Deco style building and this is reflected in the layout of the rooms which are a bit unusual. Our apartment had a smallish bedroom straight off the entrance and a massive living area separated by kitchen and bathroom. The apartment was spotless, and well fitted out, but we had a few quibbles - the pillows (way too soft) and no complimentary biscuits with the tea and coffee. Also while the accommodation is non-smoking when we entered the lift it smelled like someone had smoked half a packet in it. The Wifi charges are a bit steep.Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redaurella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. I've taken on board the "quibbles", and will certainly look at finding a solution to them as it is often these smaller issues that you remember about a holiday, rather than the overall enjoyment!

I am glad you enjoyed the location, and your time in Hobart.

Many thanks again,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In my reservation I'd requested a room with a view of the park - at check in I was informed that they were all full so we headed up to our room. It was large and spacious but the bedroom had no natural light and the living room window looked out onto the neighbouring wall. I really wasn't pleased so we went back down and were offered another room - this one was much brighter and had windows that looked out over the park in one direction and Mt Wellington in the other. Much better. After a long day of driving it was great to stretch out and relax in the room before heading out to explore Hobart. The fixtures were modern and clean, and there was some street noise and people yelling in the park at night but nothing that bothered us too much. The main entrance to our room was through a staff/commercial style elevator so if you're looking for an impressive entrance look elsewhere.. Overall it was good value in a location that's great for the Salamanca Markets and MONA Ferry.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel - I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Room preferences are so personal, and I am sure that we could have satisfied previous reviewers with your original room allocation (something quiter) and vice versa as those park rooms do offer great outlooks but to the detriment of 'quite enjoyment'! Also, I am glad this could be fixed quickly after your checkin, we do endevour to offer a mutually agreeable solution as quickly as possible.

Glad to read your comments regarding the location and local attractions - Hobart is great to visit at any time of the year!


Many thanks again,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Mantra typically has nice accommodations, and this place certainly has all the ammenities you'll need for a comfortable stay, but there's just something 'off' about the place. The floor plan is unusual, the contemporary furniture doesn't quite fill the space, and as others have said the walls are bare giving it a stark feeling. Road noise was more than usual, as this hotel sits on the corner of two busy streets.

That said, it's not a bad place to stay, just could be so much better with some interior design help.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. I'm sorry you found a place a bit 'off', but am glad you expanded on this statement with some good constructive comments I can work with in improving our product. We are in the process of finalising a soft refurbishment of the units, which will include furniture replacement, and items for the wall; and should guests ever require quiter rooms, we are more than happy to note this as a request and do our best to accommodate.

Many thanks again,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had three night here in a big room at the back with partial views of the park and harbour. It was really clean, quiet and convenient to the harbour attractions and markets. Yes it's obviously had a previous life as commercial space but really had everything we needed. Even though the reception isn't 24/7 the staff are really accommodating about making arrangements for anything out of hours

Room Tip: At the back off the main road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishandgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. I am glad you enjoyed the location, and our accommodation. We do our best with the business model we operate under to keep the reception open during convinient hours, and are currently reviewing to see if we can extend these hours slightly. We do have an after hours service, so you are never really 'alone' - they can help with wake up calls, booking taxis etc, or contacting onsite management should the matter be urgent.

Many thanks again,

Campbell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had a wonderful stay here at the Mantra. Was there for 3 nights. The staff was helpful. The apartment was wonderful. Centrally located and close to everything. Will certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themanwhostayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review, and your kind words. Our location is fantastic, so close to everyone, and I will share your comments with our staff.

Many thanks again,

Campbell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 48 in Hobart
1,163 reviews
0.5 km away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
320 reviews
0.3 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
354 reviews
0.3 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing