We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing! Truly unique experience.”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Luxurious shower room
Press a button to shower in the morning sun!
Steeped in history, tucked away in the gardens is Monty's Hideaway
Steeped in history
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing! Truly unique experience.”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My partner and I absolutely loved our stay at Monty's Hideaway! Definitely recommend. We would love to stay there again :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Dear Catherine, thanks for staying with us and for your kind words. Perhaps we'll see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree D
1 review
“We'll be returning!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

When we arrived at the Old Bishop's Quarters, the view immediately took my breath away. Rebecca's clear and easy instructions had us finding the Hideaway easily. They fantastic restaurant recommendations had us walking all over Salamanca Place and King St (Solo Italian restaurant was particularly good and Doctor Syntax had wholesome food and a quiet atmosphere). The Hideaway itself was an architect's dream. Smart use of material, great underfloor heating and fantastic quirks such as the retractable roof. We will definitely be returning to the Hideaway when we return to Tasmania. What a treat!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacypay
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Incredible Value”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was one of the coolest (if not coolest) places I have ever stayed and I travel about 300 days a year. The quality in construction and design of this converted shipping container is mind-blowing. It's complete with a contractable roof over the bed and an insanely modern bathroom. It puts most Tiny Houses on HGTV to shame.

The owner was incredible sweet checking in on me multiple times prior to arrival so that she would be at the property when I showed up. The internet was not working for maybe 1 minute. . . . her husband and son fixed it promptly. There is a secluded outdoor patio space right outside the sliding glass door that has a gorgeous view of the city below. The container gets a lot of natural light which I enjoyed.

The unit is on the grounds of a very historic home that the owner lives in. Even though you are sharing the garden and grounds with the family, I did feel as if I had my "own space" and was not bothered by the proximity. The home is located in a well off area- a residential tree lined street which is easily walkable to Salmanaca Market and the area with lots of restaurants.

If you can't tell, I LOVED THIS PLACE. Hobart is a charming town and I would not hesitate to stay here again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thanks for your lovely words. Glad you enjoyed staying in Monty's Hideaway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn P
1 review
“Secluded, modern space in historic surroundings.”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Monty's Hideaway is just as good as it looks in the photos and our host Rebecca could not have been more helpful. The privacy is great - being tucked into the back corner of the garden.
The view from the sliding glass doors and the little deck to access the Hideway, is towards the Derwent, beyond Wrest Point Casino and the houses that hug the shoreline (once you get past the neighbours' backyards). The screening plants they are establishing across the back fence should improve this outlook over time. The more unique experience came in the form of the above bed uninterrupted view of the clear night sky and the beautiful blue of the Autumn days we had whilst we were there. This was a real treat with lovely floor heating to help keep away the chill. The total space is small, but cleverly designed and well appointed with modern fixtures. It was heated cosily and immaculately clean on our arrival. We walked to Salamanca Place for dinner and we found easy access to the main routes in and out of Hobart for our day-tripping by hire car which we were able to park in the driveway near the main house during our 2 night stay.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thanks for your feedback and comments. Always appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing