We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not even want to go anymore!”
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not even want to go anymore!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

With a recommendation from a friend I enquired about booking in at Urban Central for 1 week. Don't get me wrong, it all sounds very nice but I cannot bring myself to stay somewhere with such awful customer service- and that's just over the phone!
First off, I checked online for prices and availability- both of which were good so I decided to call instead of having to register with another online company. When I spoke with the first female on reception I was told that the online price would be $30 cheaper for the week than to book over the phone. When I tried to do this, there was some sort of computer (phone) fail- so I called back to ensure the bed! I was then told give my credit card details (usually for a deposit) but this time I was to pay the entire balance before I was even in the state! I announced how unusual this was and was told that it was their policy to pay for the duration of the stay before arrival, although I had intended to pay cash on checking in. This hurdle over, I have just had to call and cancel the booking due to transport issues i.e my bus did not come and I am unsure now when I will be in Melbourne. First phone call- on hold for 5 minutes- no progress! Second phone call, I was bluntly told that I would have to pay for 2 nights - over $60. I had reasonably expected to lose one nights money, not two!
I have found that on visiting around 30 hostels in the last 6 months that policies change between establishments, but I have to say that the ones in this hostel are the worst! So although I did not even stay here I definately will not inthe future!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svenfromswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    154
    60
    19
    30
See reviews for
19
59
122
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

After travelling from Vietnam to Australia, walking the streets of Melbourne in search of a hostel we stumbled upon Urban Central. Blatantly tired and in need of a nice clean fresh room to sleep in the lady at reception decided to put my boyfriend and I into a long stay 4 dorm room. We walked in took one look at the bomb site that looked liked it was last cleaned a year ago-food lying on the floor also, went to reception complained and then were moved to a normal room...cant believe she had the cheek to even think we'd be happy in a long stay room when there were plenty more rooms available. once in the better room the stay was OK. Seriously though I'd not recommend this to any one on the basis of the experience at reception.

Kitchen was also always busy all day long and in general the hostel had a bad vibe about it.
There are plenty more place to stay in Melbourne so shop around first.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murbikiss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here for three weeks and though the room was clean, as a rule the staff were unhelpful, and unfriendly save one or two. They seem to be burnt out and basically did not care about anything you needed or any concerns you had. Also they ripped me off saying that I did not give enugh notice when I left and that I was paying for an aextra night. I objected and then later enquired if my friend could use my bed for the night I had paid for and they admitted that they had sold it to someone else, so thay got my money plus someone elses. It was outrageous, perhaps they are on comission !! Also it has to be the loudest place I have ever stayed in my life. The freeway that runs beside the building is so loud and goes 24/7. I was as a rule unimpressed with the place, they treat you like a number and that is not good.

Room Tip: Dont stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Booked for one bed in a 4 bed dorm ensuite during low season (with promo rate) ended up having the whole room alone. Communal kitchen is provided on the ground floor, so you can cook yourselves. Ideal for student traveller on a tight budget. Close to tram stop, 24/7 maccas, and convenient store. Not bad.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Contrary to what lonely planet claims about melbourne hostels: "generally the quality of hostels in melbourne is very good", I found the opposite, the quality of melbourne hostels to be bad- high prices for dingy places- all kept boyant by the sheer numbers of travellers visiting the city.

Urban central bucks the trend. The hostel is clean, the kitchen is spacey and well run, and after trying a few hostels previous- this hostel was the best on price too. Its good to be given a sense of dignity as a fellow human being in an australian hostel for once!

Room Tip: Book early to get smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Andy_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hostel is very clean, spartan (in a good way). Very well located, very close do a tram station that can lead you to everywhere. Yhe facility is huge, nevertheless, the rooms, with only 4 person have nice space and the security is very good. The staff is friendly. The breakfast is great. The kitchen is awesome. This hostel have a nice bar, in witch you could not only watch games (rugby and Oz football), but good parties but I could sleep very well, despite the parties. Everybody was nice with me, including the other guests. I would gladly comeback and I recommend it fore sure. If you will travel to Melbourne, make sure to check in Urban Central.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafa-Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My friend and I got a double room with private ensuite and it was well worth the money. It was a clean, spacious room with a clean, tidy bathroom complete with towels. We like our privacy so it was nice to have our own space. Very friendly staff and nice open kitchen/eating area to mingle with other visitors. Also the free breakfast (and free rice/pasta) is great bonus! Only complaint is that it is a bit farther out from most places and you have to walk a bit, but then again the transportation system in Melbourne really isn't the greatest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
536 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Property: Urban Central
Address: 334 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank adjacent to the famous Crown Casino. The city is a 10 minute walk and with public transport on our doorstep, St Kilda is only a 10 minute tram ride away. Shopping around Urban Central is located close to local cafes, shops and the famous South Melbourne Market. If you enjoy good coffee and eateries Southbank restaurants overlooking The Yarra River are 5 min stroll from Urban Central. On the way to visit Port Melbourne beach you could pick up a bargain at Direct Factory Outlet about a 10 minute from our accommodation venue. Stay, Play at Urban Central! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing