We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
245
622
204
67
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
622
204
67
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast equitable place collins street great location lane way central location yogurt spa suite good size would stay here again tea coffee free wifi federation square twin room bed was comfortable reception staff the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Check in was nice and quick which was good as we arrived after 11pm. Room was good size, bed was very big and comfy, room was nice and very clean, bathroom was lovely. Only thing I would say was the room was always quite dark but then we were in the CBD surrounded by buildings and the location is super perfect, cafes directly out the front door, trams round the corner, within walking distance of shopping so perfect for our weekend in what has become one of our favourite cities.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andyreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Andyreece,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfortable and spacious; as you made the most of our central location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer.

Our central location within the Melbourne CBD means that we are surrounded by other tall city buildings which can affect the amount of natural light which is able to enter some rooms. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

I am delighted to hear that Melbourne is now one of your favourite cities and I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Sam Tobin
Guest Services
Causeway Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

This was a hard review as Causeway 353 had both the good and the bad (not really the ugly though). The check in was the first bad experience and it took nearly 30 minutes with more forms than a government department. The girl at the front desk seemed confused by what needed to be filled out and a credit card deduction of $50 for already paid for rooms was annoying - never had this before. This process needed to take 5 minutes maximum and was not a good start. Paying for wifi is ridiculous in 2018 and paying per half hour, hour or whatever is more than ridiculous. Any hotel that does not offer free wifi (even at slowish speeds) has missed the boat.
The rooms are small and dim but the location is very good and this is where the good kicks in - walking out into a ‘food’ alley is energising and the short stroll to anywhere in the CBD is great. After returning for a second booking, the second checkin was much much easier and the young man efficient and friendly (and took a few minutes).

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Stevokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Stevokid,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stays with us. While I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central, inner city location, it is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion.

As is common with hotels internationally, when guests check-in we process a pre-authorisation of any outstanding accommodation amount, as well as a nominal $50 security bond in case of any incidental expenses such as minibar, parking or accidental damage to the hotel. This is not a charge but simply an amount frozen in the guest’s account by their bank on the hotel’s behalf. Upon check-out any un-used portion of the security bond is released immediately by the hotel however the timing on when exactly it becomes available within the account is at the discretion of the bank and can take a number of business days. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

I would also like to note that we now offer all guests unlimited high speed complementary Wi-Fi to take advantage of and in fact, no longer offer any chargeable Wi-Fi options at all. Upon investigation of your review it has been found that some rooms may still contain since referencing Wi-Fi prices. These signs are now in the process of being updated as a matter of urgency and I apologise that they may have prevented you from making the most of our Wi-Fi on this occasion.

I apologise that your initial check-in experience was took longer than expected however I am pleased that your second check-in occurred much more efficiently and smoothly. Please rest assured that your feedback will be used to work constructively with the receptionist who processed your initial check-in, towards ensuring that check-ins for all guests are as smooth as possible in to the future.

If you would like to discuss any element of your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at samt@causeway.com.au. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind regards,

Sam Tobin
Guest Services
Causeway Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

We were extremely impressed with the price and location of the Hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet. There were a number of places to eat right outside the entrance and either walking distance or a quick tram ride to shops and attractions. Will definitely stay here again

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AbbieChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear AbbieChris,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, quiet and such great value; as you made the most of our central location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer.

I am delighted to hear that you plan on staying with us again and I speak on behalf of the whole team here when I say that we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Sam Tobin
Guest Services
Causeway Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Booked twin room but got room with one bed no apology from staff stated deluxe room would hate to see a basic room Basin in bathroom badly cracked breakfast very ordinary only thing good was location and was clean

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Donna T,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean, and that you made the most of our central location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer; it is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion.

Please accept our sincere apologies that the room you were assigned was in a double bed configuration rather than twin beds as was booked. It appears that this may have resulted from an oversight by housekeeping staff, so I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping supervisor to work constructively with the staff involved and ensure that such an occurrence does not happen again. In future please do not hesitate to alert our friendly reception staff to such an issue when you become aware so that they can have it attended to immediately and the negative impact on your stay can be kept to a minimum.

The issue with your bathroom sink has been investigated by our maintenance department who have found there to be hairline cracking in the enamel coating of the sink. While the crack is not to the structure of the sink itself I understand that this can still be unsightly and it is now being attended to. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Finally your constructive feedback in relation to our continental buffet breakfast has been shared with management and taken on board. Your feedback will be taken in to account in an analysis of the breakfast as we constantly look to evolve our offering in to the future.

It is unfortunate that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest on this occasion however I hope we may one day have the opportunity to welcome you back again and deliver a start to finish service of the standard we strive to deliver to all guests.

Kind regards,

Sam Tobin
Guest Services
Causeway Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here, clean and very friendly staff (they helped us out heaps) free internet 24/7 and a perfect location

Room is basic - but that’s what you pay for, esp when most of the time you’re out and about in Melbourne !!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NickHolcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Dear NickHolcroft,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found your room to be clean and good value as you made the most of our central location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. I am also pleased that you took advantage of our fully complimentary Wi-Fi and I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff who will no doubt be delighted to have their hard work recognised.

We appreciate your recommendation and I speak on behalf of the whole team when I say that we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sam Tobin
Guest Services
Causeway Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews