We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great service by the concierge team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service by the concierge team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed at the hilton for over a week. tony, the concierge leader was great in getting things done. when i checked out, there were no male bellhops and two female staff helped me with the bags, loading them into the taxi. felt bad... i was loading my other bag.

location wise, everything is within walking distance. nice area for morning jogs by the yarra river.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenT000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I really appreciate your comments and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Concierge Team was a great help. Hope to see you soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,027
    1,015
    239
    81
    34
See reviews for
438
1,217
200
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I think this hotel is one of the best in Melbourne. Love the rooms with the large shower and soft plump beds. A very quiet hotel in a good position. Staff friendly as always. The best modern hotel in Melbourne.

Only a small minus was that after staying at Hilton hotels and clocking up points I used my points plus extra to get an upgraded room on a higher floor. For some reason this didn't happen which was a little disappointing when you've religiously used Hilton overseas and in Australia for the past two years.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goddesslozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your comments and acknowledge that this site is an important tool for future travellers.
Regarding your comment about the upgrade using your points I would really appreciate if you can send me some details so that I can follow this up with my team.
Once again, thank you for staying with us again. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,318 reviews
373 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,917 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Having enjoyed our previous stay at Hilton South Wharf we decided to give the hotel another go.

Arrival - We were welcomed as Diamond members & to our delight were immediately upgraded to a corner suite.

Room - Our corner suite had spectacular views of the Yarra River, city & Port Phillip Bay. The room was amazing with a separate lounge, plasma TV, small kitchenette, with it's own cappuccino machine.

Off the lounge room was a powder room & large dressing room with full size mirror. The bedroom was very comfortable with views looking out to the bay.

Bathroom - Wow.. super cool with large combined two shower heads, enormous vanity units & a bath,

Breakfast - We dined in the Executive lounge one morning & also experienced breakfast in the ground floor restaurant. We found the executive lounge to be brilliant. Fabulous views, comfortable chairs & a excellent selection of food with its own juice machine. The only thing missing was some eggs.

The Hotel Restaurant also was super with a wonderful selection.

Overall: We will return again as it's our favourite hotel in Melbourne - wonderful location for experiencing Southbank Restaurants. A little out of the way for the CBD but there are plenty of taxis available which take 10mins. A big + for Hilton regongizing us as Diamond Members.

Room Tip: if you can afford it - ask for corner suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
We always try our best to accommodate all our guests’ needs especially our Hilton Hhonors Members. Hope to see you soon…safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business attending a conference at the convention centre.

The newly built hilton is conveniently located for the melbourne convention centre, and has a direct walk through on the first floor.

The rooms are clean, neat and what you would generally expect from a hotel room. A very well thought out bathroom, with four 'separate' components in one place (bath, shower, toilet and wash basin). I can see the convenience in this if more than one person were occupying the room. The bed is more on the soft side, and although it wasn't to my liking, i'm sure this won't be a problem for the other 50% of the population. It was unfortunate I couldnt change the mattress like how i could the pillows - being a hilton, they have their pillow menu.

there were little things in the room which could have been better thought out - but i'm sure the designers had their reasons. 1. no electrical plugs near beds to charge phones overnight. had to get out of bed to reach for my phone. 2, electrical blinds. i was fortunate enough to have a city view room, if i could have slept in, i would have loved to wake up to the view of the city. electrical blinds are cool, unfortunately, the switch, again was way out of reach from bed.

breakfast - i was in a hurry both mornings, but the range seemed very acceptable. toaster wasnt great though. As i was in more of a hurry on the second morning, i ended up asking to pack a few things on the run, the waiter was very kind and although had no boxes to offer me, he offered several serviettes so i could take some pastries - which is all that i wanted.

service - cant really say service is good. all staff are very well mannered and courteous, however, the front desk seemed to be understaffed (1 staff) on a sunday morning. with a complicated case in front of me, i was waiting for a while before i could check out - i would have expected someone to step in...

location wise, for the conference, it is perfect, wouldn't even get wet on a sunny day, however, for everything else, in my opinion, it isnt very convenient. the car route is not very direct, and the entrance is under a large intersection of a busy highway. as for public transport, i had to walk around 10 minutes to the crown to be able to catch the tram to the city. this was the same for restaurants (besides hilton's own) which are located on the southbank. there is however, a large dfo shopping centre next door.

besides small glitches, i cant really fault this hotel, except for its location perhaps.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting our guest needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that you enjoyed the connectivity to the Convention Centre.

Thanks you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

On arrival we were greeted with a smile, followed by an upgrade of room type, followed by constant smiles and customer service.
What a great hotel....woould highly recommend staying there when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.
I’m glad you and your grand kids loved your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne ,Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Have to give this great place credit again,We treated the Grandkids, 7, 4 , to a Christmas eve stay with us as they were off up to the Bush on Christmas day,

Room service, fluffy dressing gowns,nighttime views looking up the Yarra and a Christmas tree that the front desk staff donated us for the night really made a special time.

Most special though was the staff member( sorry I forget his name ) who "ho ho hooed" outside the door late at night and gave a knock,
After waiting a suitable amount of time the Grandkids went and opened up the door to reveal our presses we had bought for them (well the ones we had given Santa the money for!)

The magic was made complete with sleigh bells ringing that sounded like they may have come from either outside or an iPhone inside!

All in all ,highly recommend and a true example of how the staff at this hotel can adapt to either romantic couples or doting grandparents.

Bravo, again, Hilton south Wharf and the people who make this place, the STAFF!

Sorry about the delay in the report but I was reminded today by the Grandkids of our stay when driving past.

Room Tip: Go the City Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madirish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.
I’m glad you and your grand kids loved your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for conference next door to hotel.
Went for my morning jog around the local area and upon my return to the hotel, Concierge offered me a bottle of water! What a great thought!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendellsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,558 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,718 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing