We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rates, but not friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good rates, but not friendly”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The rate of hostel is good in Melbourne. The facility of YHA is new and location is also good. You can take no 35 city circle in front of YHA. There is only a small fan in the room and you will feel hot right now. Moreover, the man in reception is not friendly. Especially when you took a long flight, you will be exhausted if you meet the stubborn man. All other ladies are very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xpeoplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    160
    80
    23
    11
See reviews for
15
48
218
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Melbourne Central YHA was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and I honestly think I picked a good one! The entrance is located next to the hostel's bar, Bertha Brown's and the only indication that the hostel is there is a small YHA sign next to the door. You walk into a concrete corridor past the bar to a lift (useful for the heavy bags) and a car park style stairway. "Eek what have I let myself in for?" was my initial reaction but once I was lifted up to reception, I lost every worry I had.

For a start, this is the most secure hostel I stayed in on my trip. You need a key card to get into the building (it is open before 9pm) and the lift doesn't work if you don't scan your key card first. Once you get out of the lift, you need your key card again to access your floor and again to get into your room.

The reception area is warm and friendly with plenty of books to delve into should you wish to and every snippet of information you could wish for to help you get the most out of Melbourne, including noticeboards (also on every floor) advertising current events and local excursions. The staff were all lovely, very friendly and incredibly happy to help. Check in was also easy and quick.

I stayed at this hostel for four nights, the first of which I stayed in a double room. This room was very spacious but basic, containing just a bed and a chair, a mirror on the door and bedside tables. Linen was already prepared so thankfully I could jump straight into bed and a towel was provided too. The room I chose wasn't ensuite (though they do have ensuite rooms should you want one) but the communal bathrooms were just down the corridor, very clean and well looked after. the showers each have a changing room too with a bench and hooks to hand clothes on which was great.

Check out time is 10am and I couldn't move into my new room until 2pm but the reception staff put my bag in a secure storage room with a tag/receipt for free and also gave me a key card that enabled me to use all of the facilities in the hostel until I checked into my new room.

For the remainder of my stay I was in a three bed dorm on a comfortable top bunk. The room was quiet (apart from someone moving in at 4am) but very warm and stuffy. The window only opened a small amount and at least let some fresh air in but didn't really help. There are lockers provided under the beds but you need a padlock for them ($8 from reception if you don't have your own). Linen is provided but you need to make your own bed and remove the sheets when you leave (as per most hostels), towels are not provided in share rooms.

The communal facilities were excellent. There are laundry rooms, television rooms and kitchens on every floor, a lovely, spacious balcony on the first floor and a fantastic terrace on the roof with great views of the surrounding area.

The best thing about the hostel was the location. Being on Flinders Street you are close to everything. Southern Cross Station, home to the Skybus terminal is just around the corner, five minutes by foot. The Melbourne Aquarium, the Crowne Casino Complex and Yarra River are all opposite the hostel just behind the buildings you see as you walk out. The Eureka Building is about a 15 minute walk if you cross the river and walk down Southbank. The Neighbours centre and tours to Ramsay Street and Phillip Island leave from two doors down to the right and Flinders Street Station and Federation Square are a 15 minute walk if you turn left out of the hostel. There is also a tram stop right outside the hostel which serves the major tram routes (including up to Flinders Street Station and Fed Square) and the free City Circle Tram.

For the money you pay for a double room ($90 a night) you may find a cheap hotel or B&B that may be a little more amenable but I doubt you would find as good a location for the same price. My only other advice would be to be wary of the cafes locally as they are a little more expensive than other places used by locals. If you need to eat in the immediate area, take advantage of the hostel discounts for breakfasts etc. Also be aware of the wifi cards. If you have travelled in Australia/New Zealand before, you will know that wifi is expensive and most hostels connect to global gossip. When you enter your code and pin, make sure you choose the correct plan (ie. pay as you go, per hour, 24 hours etc) otherwise the $8 you paid for 24 hours disappears very quickly. The home page isn't always clear about this. Also if you connect using your iphone first, you have to use pay as you go and you can't transfer your credit to a laptop.

The Melbourne Central YHA is possibly a little more expensive that other hostels but you get what you pay for and with YHA that is a certain standard; clean, roomy, friendly, well looked after and a fantastic location. I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel or to stay there again myself.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UKRoamTheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I had a very good stay in yha central. It is very clean and comfortable, which is much more than my expectations. I will definitely stay here again for my next melbourne trip! The room, wash room and kitchen all are clean and new. I totally like this place. It is an ideal stay for backpack and big group travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misschai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Only the location is great, the rest is average. I slept in a 3 bed female dorm, with a window that didn't stay open. I fixed it with one of my shoelaces and they just left it there.It is really (too) hot in the hostel during summertime, no aircon. The only aircon is at the reception. The older female receptionists are really nice, the younger ones a lot less.The elevator is often out of order (which lasts at least 24 hours!) What I really couldn't appreciate is the very loud intercom. At 9.45, 10.00 and 10.15 AM they call people on the intercom to check-out on time! (like they do at flight terminals, really annoying) Seriously, just charge people who don't check-out at 10 AM extra and leave the rest of us alone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

As the title says.

The location is great being right in front of free tram station and also pretty close to the train station. Very clean, secure (even quite annoying how many times you need to slot the card) and everything. Staffs are very nice, too.

They also store storage for only $2 which is a lot nicer than coin locker.

The only thing I didn't like so much is that you only have access to the floore where you stay and each floor has its own lounge and kitchen which are quite small. Also not very ideal to socialize with others for solo travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisakimchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

i stayed in a 3-female dorm, got the single bed from the 2nd night, yays!! clean sheets and room. room is in a corner, so its pretty quiet. however, not much opportunity for socialising except a small kitchen and lounge room. loves the combined toilet + shower room though!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preppy_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

excellent catering service as well as a good self-catering kitchen. nice quiet part of town

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 134 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 134 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#30 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Property: Melbourne Central YHA
Address: 562 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen, TV room and Free Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available for purchase). Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing