We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$268
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$133
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$141
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,220)
Filter reviews
4,220 results
Traveller rating
2,404
1,234
359
140
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,404
1,234
359
140
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr hiveluxe roominfinity poolcasino complexvalet parkingpre dinner drinksshower and toiletsteam roomfloor to ceiling windowstop floorroom servicebuffet breakfastcity viewmodern hotelcorner roomsouth bankyarra river
Filter
Updating list...
3,409 - 3,414 of 4,220 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've booked a room 2 months in advance to accommodate 4 people (family suite) and required specifically a non-smoker unit. But when we arrived, we've been told that there was no non-smoking room available for 4 and that we had to stay in a smoking one. Of course this is not bearable for non-smoking people, and when we told the staff (including the manager) the answer was "the smoking/non smoking criteria is not guaranteed": how can such a criteria can't be guaranteed in 2012? it is such a deal breaker! The only solution they found is to squeeze us 4 in a 2 bedroom with only one king size bed plus one sleeping on a day sofa (!) and they brought a portable bed (like the one you use for kids). A backpacker would have been more comfortable. Believe it or not but the other "solution" was to make us pay for a second 2 pax bedroom although they should have upgrade us into 2 bedrooms without charging us. That's what you expect from an hotel at this level. Not saying that the staff turned very unfriendly in managing this situation. Also they never brought the additional towels required for 4 and we had to share the one already in the room (for 2). In a nutshell, this kind of hotel lives on big groups or foreigner coming for the casino and relies more on volumes than quality customer- relationship. Next time I go to Melbourne, I'll try something smaller. Definitely not recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you get them to confirm you have a non-smoker room if you do not want to then waste an hour negotiating with the staff for a terrible outcome when you check in !
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tdexmier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Crown Metropol overall was a great experience. We booked a Luxe Twin Room, the room was small as we had a family of 4 but was nicely set out and done. We were on level 10 and the views were nice but mainly obstructed by buildings. Aim for a higher floor!! The hotel pool was breathtaking, set on level 27 high above the city the infinity pool was beautiful but always completely full of people especially noisy young children. The pool area is nice and has lots of lounges etc.. The pool would be amazing at night with the view of the city but unfortunately closes at 9 and it doesn't get dark in Melbourne till about then. The bar up the top was nice as well, overpriced, but nice set out and had amazing views being on the highest level of the hotel, Unfortunately under 16's aren't allowed in after 7 pm.. and half the time the 28 was booked out for a function, so we only had one visit. One bad side about the hotel was the room key cards, you need them to go up the lift, and ours only sometimes worked after trying about 15 times and sometimes didn't work at all (all 3) including trying to open up the room! I had read other reviews about this happening as well, so I went down to get the keys re cut and was served by a disappointed, annoyed looking staff member who eventually re cut the keys. Overall the Hotel is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be returning in the new year.

Room Tip: higher the better.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Walking down the corridor to our room felt like we were entering a bunker. The dark grey walls, low ceilings, curving corridor path felt like we were on a mission rather than weekend away.
The very "modern" room features a floor-to-ceiling window wall (hopefully yours won't mainly view the concrete parking area).

The king size bed was comfortable, the room was spotless and the bathrobes were generous and comfy. But we found the vaguely Japanese-influence screens dividing off the bathroom and the glassed-off toilet and shower less than impressive. A bathtub rather than a shower would have been welcome and using the toilet at night, unless you put on a light, could be quite dangerous in terms of walking into glass floor-to-ceiling doors.

The lack of any decoration (the large flat screen television is really the only thing on any of the walls) and the space-lighting (by the bed, in the bathroom, by the desk, rather than overhead) contributed to a contemporary but slightly negative feel for us.

The toiletries were ordinary, and while the mini-bar had an extensive selection of things that actually spilled over into the closet area where the electric kettle, iron, etc were stored, the prices of everything were such that you wouldn't consider actually using any except in emergency.

Room service prices are also extremely high, but there are plenty of options at Crown and around the area.

The pool area was great-looking and filled with happy looking families when we visited, and the Level 28 bar/lounge was attractive with impressive views, but again, expensive.

The next visit we were certainly try another hotel. Never realised how much I liked art work on a wall!

Room Tip: Ask about the view; check if there is a bathtub if that is important to you.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binduAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After a less than inspiring visit to crown metropol earlier this month our return visit was great.
We were allocated a 25 th floor room (my unfulfilled request on the first visit) with a fabulous view. Because it was a very high floor there was virtually no traffic noise, which made sleeping much more comfortable. We also appreciated the complimentary sparkling wine. Room amenities are top notch and the sparkling clean rooms enhance your stay. I love the big shower at the metropol. However, we did wait over two hours for different pillows, but the room attendant apologized and explained he as the only person from housekeeping attending to 20 floors of the hotel. Clearly, staff levels should be improved. Also, we took our bathing suits but did not attempt a swim in the pool because it was so overcrowded.
Checkin was exceedingly friendly and check out was efficient. Luke from the front desk warrants a special mention for friendliness and attention to detail.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable and relaxing post Christmas stay.
Good location, good rooms and more attentive service was appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 2537 - fantastic city and Yarra river river view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I travel extensively almost exclusively for work. On a given year, I stay for minimum of 200 nights in five star hotels.

This is my first visit to Crown Metropole and definitely the last.

With my extended family, I stayed for 5 nights in 3 rooms. The rooms look OK, something you would expect from a five star hotel. Nothing more worth noting.

Everything was ok until a few days into my stay. I have been using the provided bathrobe for a few days. On the first day, after use, I chuck the robe on the floor thinking that It will be replaced with a clean one as per the norm.
I was surprised when I return to the room that my old robe has been re-hung in the bathroom. I thought maybe this is how OZ does things (read: lazy).
A few days later, to my horror, I happened to slip my hands into the robe's pocket and found a a cigarette!

The cigarette is still in perfect shape. Clearly, the robe hasnt been washed before.

I called the hotel and asked to speak to the manager. The lady on the other end was polite and (without asking about the background of this request) attempted to connect me to the manager whom did not pick the phone unfortunately.

She then asked me if there is anything she can help me with. After my explanation, she promised to track the manager down and give me a call back. Well, the manager never did, even though I was there for the next 2 days.

I sincerely hoped that it was an isolated case and gave a chance for the hotel to explain. Clearly, they did not even bother.

The thought of wearing someone else's bathrobe AFTER you shower is enough to put me off this hotel for good.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank l0negunm4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews