We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,784)
Filter reviews
2,784 results
Traveller rating
734
1,269
558
139
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
1,269
558
139
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cocoon great location soul cafe two double beds david jones central location bourke st mall accor member the heart of the city a bit tired valet parking buffet breakfast your doorstep room was spacious street noise tram stop public transport
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 2,784 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Right in the middle of town. Rooms very clean and comphy, quite big. As Accor members we had a free stay but the room was right near a linen cupboard which was quite annoying as it was being opened a lot as you could imagine, so quite noisy. The hotel has a nice bar and gambling room and separate restaurant. We found it very convenient. No complimentary water which we have normally had elsewhere in the world.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inged59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Dear inged59,
Thank you for your feedback which helps us to improve our services. Please accept my apology as we fell short this time.
We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Located in the dead centre of all the things you'd want to see or visit in Melbourne - easy walk to all tram and train lines.
Got upgraded for free to a 10th floor corner room with surprisingly good views of the city scape. Two room suite with everything you'd need. The breakfast was high quality hot/cold buffet.

The decor is just on the edge of getting a bit old, but we didn't visit Melbourne for the taps and towel rails. The close proximity to just about everything makes this place a winner.

Room tip: Ask for a corner room above the 8th floor, rooms on the West side are quieter
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adamant_About_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Dear Adamant_About_Travel,
Thank you for being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can change. It is lovely to hear you enjoy your stay with us, and found our location perfect for your time in Melbourne. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017

Being a Accor member I booked 3 nights at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure and one night was free, the location was great central to everywhere.
Unfortunately they placed us in the room next to the Gym on floor 3 and every morning about 6am thump thump thump from someone running on the treadmill, not what you want when on holidays.
I booked the room approx 1 year in advance so they had no excuse to put us next to the Gym and also off season so they couldn't claim shortage of rooms.
The view out the window of brick walls and tin roofs was very welcoming to Melbourne,,,, not.
I wouldn't stay there again unless they could guarantee a better room.
Maybe because i had a free room for a night was the reason they placed us next to the Gym ????
Very much doubt if i renew my Accor membership.

Room tip: Make sure they don't put you in the room next to the Gym
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Dear Alan F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel.
Our sincere apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us.
Should you have advised us of your concerns with the room allocation after the 1st night, we would have endeavor to relocate you to another room. I have taken a liberty to amend your profile to ensure a quiet room with a different look is to be allocated on your future stays with us. Once again, our sincere apologies.
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

One night getaway with my hubby. Great location and within walking distance to everything. We wondered the lane ways and walked to parliament. We were upgraded to king room. Room was facing Swanston street and was a little noisey but tolerable. Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jom413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Dear Jo M,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. Apologies for the inconveniences experienced with the noise from The Swanston Street. Truly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Alex MihardjaOperational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights, in a corner King room. Loved the view, and the separate lounge area. We had breakfast in the café each morning and it was really nice. It is really close to everything, and I thought the staff were just wonderful, especially in the downstairs bar. We had a really great time!

Room tip: Swanston Street was a bit noisy, as the trams start ringing their bells at 6.00. Didn't bother us but might annoy others though.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear Karen C,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and all aspects of your stay with us. Your kind words on our staff is greatly appreciated and I'll be sure to pass it on to them.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews