We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,758)
Filter reviews
2,758 results
Traveller rating
725
1,262
555
135
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
1,262
555
135
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cocoon great location soul cafe two double beds david jones central location bourke st mall accor member the heart of the city a bit tired valet parking buffet breakfast your doorstep room was spacious street noise tram stop public transport
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2,758 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

I was lucky to be GOTD and we received room upgrade, champagne and chocolates. Great after long flight. With a short stay this hotel was perfect for shopping. Staff friendly and helpful. Room quiet and had all requirements.excellent.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MissWendy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear MissWendy2,
Thank you for your feedback. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your upgrade and amenities for being our Guest of the day.
Appreciate your kind words on our staff as well as the accommodation provided.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

I stayed here one weekend in Melbourne. Hard to find the drive way as it is hidden on the left and you have to look hard to see it, but once you are there it has valet parking so they take your car and can walk to where you want to go. It is close China town and the transit system is excellent so no problem getting around. The hotel is clean the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, all in all it is a good place to stay. They have a pool on the 15th floor but I did not see it. Basic Gym too.

Room Tip: the entry is on the left as it is on a one way street and it does not look like a street.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlayBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear FinlayBeaton,
Thank you for staying with us recently.
We appreciate your detailed review and sincere apologies experience in finding the way to our hotel's driveway.
Appreciate you highlighting the friendliness of our staff as well as the accommodation provided.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in the city centre area, close to the station, shopping area and sports stadia. It is on the edge of Chinatown, and has a good selection of restaurants nearby. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit small. The bathroom was very small. The reception area is a bit chaotic, with a lot of people seemingly wandering around without any reason for being there. Parking is available nearby for $15 per day.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ritchielawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Dear ritchielawyer,
Thank you for your recent patronage and time to provide feedback. I am disappointed that not everything was as you expected please accept my sincerest apology. Appreciate you highlighting our convenient location.
We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights whilst visiting Melbourne to shop & eat out. Our primary reason for booking this hotel was for its location. The room in general was tidy and spacious, however bathroom was very dated and quite tired. Beds were okay, but both my pillows were quite uncomfortable. Location is definitely the main appeal for this hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ameliac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Dear ameliac2,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently.
We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel.
Sincere apologies that the pillows and accommodation provided were below your expectations.
Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018

Really appreciated the early checkin and late checkout. The location was the best feature though as it is around the corner from Bourke street mall and tram stops are outside. Easy walking distance to the theatre and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Amanda S,
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. Very happy to read that we were able to assist you with early check-in and later departure, and that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel – it is ideal for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews