We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$100
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Crossley Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$107
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$122
US$105
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,707)
Filter reviews
2,707 results
Traveller rating
712
1,245
542
131
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
1,245
542
131
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cocoongreat locationsoul cafetwo double bedsdavid jonescentral locationbourke st mallaccor memberthe heart of the citya bit tiredvalet parkingbuffet breakfastyour doorsteproom was spaciousstreet noisetram stopan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,707 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2018

As always our 3 night stay at The Swanston is one of the highlights of my year and always exceeds my expectations. Loved our room on the 13th floor with a great view of the twinkling night lights. The Hotel is in the most perfect location and made it so easy to attend the 2 stage shows which we were lucky to have tickets for. We loved the meals we had at the Louden and Cocoon Bar and can't wait to eat there again. Thank you to all staff from check in to check out. You rock !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 997MARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear 997MARY,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We’re so glad to hear that you and your daughter once again enjoyed your annual weekend getaway with us.
We will ensure that your kind words and feedback are passed onto our team.
Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

I am a Accor member for years and among all the hotels this is the place where we received average and unfriendly service.
Arrival - we reached very early. After pleading for a room (emailed and requested before arrival) and persistent checking with the reception duty manager, finally she allow us to check in. Appreciate that. Comparing to Novotel Langley I Perth, when the GM or duty manager save us with children and jet lagged he immediately ask his staff to get a room for us without us asking for it.
Room- clean and average. Understand it will be a new look soon.
Conceirge at the Little Bourke street - This is where we felt the degree of service to Asian and Caucasian. We have 2 young kids age 10 and 5. I remembered very clearly we did not ask for help to bring the luggage out to the main road. We pulled them ourselves as our rental car is at the David Jones side. The concierge guy in white shirt, dark skin, short hair with slight curl could just starred at my younger 5 year old pulling and carrying his luggage to the car without offering to help. He even went to the extend of focusing at my boy giving him a grin when his luggage fell off and he tried to pull up again. My 5 year ma age to lugged it all the way with him looking. The time of our departure is approx 10.15am. You can check the cctv if u have. This is so sad.
All other mercure or novotel that we frequent whether in Asia or Australia we have never come across such bad service.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Portis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Portis,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your experience.
We endeavor to assist all our members with early arrival and late departure whenever we can, unfortunately it's not always possible due to our generally high occupancy.
Portis, we treat ALL our guests with mutual care & respects, and I apologize if at the time of your departure, you didn't receive the assistance expected. I can assure you that the lack of assistance provided had nothing to do with race. Our Front Office Manager is fully aware of your concern and have addressed it with the Portering Department to ensure the incident remains isolated.
Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you again for providing a review.
Regards,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

Located in the heart of Melbourne. Walking distance to all the main sites or jump on the tram.
Right across is a shopping mall with an excellent food court. The breakfast has many options, hot and cold.
The rooms are large with a seating area. Plenty of space in the bathroom with an over sized tub.
They are redoing the main lobby so it a little crazy.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank madtana97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Front Office Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Thank you so much for your comments. I'm glad that you found our location to be so convenient - as you mentioned we are right in the heart of all the best shopping and dining options. Also happy that you enjoyed your spacious room and our great value for money buffet breakfast. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
Nick Phillips
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

hotel is right in the cbd, close to shopping, trams, bars, train
rooms are basic, small with a fridge n bathroom, but worth the money for location.
easy check in process, bar in lobby, no breakfast included

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Dear Jimyz,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018

The location is awesome and staff were friendly but the rooms looks very tired as needs refurbishment . Just at doorstep of the cbd everything was so close and so much food around . Walking step to Chinatown.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rajen2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Guest Relations Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear Solo traveller, Yes you are right. So much food around! We are really lucky to be right in the centre of all the best dining (and shopping) that Melbourne has to offer. I'm glad that you loved our awesome location and friendly helpful staff. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
Nick Phillips
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews