We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,603)
Filter reviews
4,603 results
Traveller rating
671
1,873
1,376
443
240
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
1,873
1,376
443
240
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the cocoon david jones rooms are small bourke street central location the heart of the city buffet breakfast valet parking would stay again public transport federation square free tram tram stop myer emporium concierge
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 4,603 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2018

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

We recently spent 1 night at the Mercure Welcome Melbourne. All the staff were very friendly, the room whilst basic was clean and functional! Hotel is in a fantastic central location in Melbourne CBD and is within the Melbourne free tram zone. Car parking was a block away (5min walk) and if you get you ticket validated at reception before you leave it was only $15, sooo cheap in Melbourne! Would recommend and would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank escd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Dear escd2017,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your positive review.
We are delighted to know that we will will see you again on your future visits to Melbourne, and thank you for your recommendation too.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future for another enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2018

As previous posts I have made, yes I have stayed in hotels all around Australia and also Internationally. My first impression of the Mercure was this.... they have dropped their standards terribly. I have stayed here before approx. 5 yrs ago and it wasn't too bad. This time... I wont be back. The staff, tick, very friendly no issues at all. The room, well below standard. Mould was all through the bathroom, on the ceiling and also in the grout in the shower. There were dirty marks on the walls in the room, dents in the walls, cracks in the joints from the ceiling to the walls. I understand that renovations are being carried out, but this is no excuse to have a clean room. Under the bed, there was rubbish.... come on Mercure your standards have unfortunately dropped. Even the springs in the bed were starting to come through which made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep.
So would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I recommend you staying here? I would suggest you spend an extra $30 and go somewhere else. The price of the room is just not worth it. Even thought the staff were friendly and the hotel is located close to major attractions and shopping venues.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Dear Travis B,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory. The sub-standard of the accommodation provided does not reflect our hotel’s usual standards of room's cleanliness.
I appreciate you highlighting the friendliness of our staff.
You have indicated that you won’t be staying with us again and for that, I am really sorry.
Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

The Mercure Welcome is conveniently located for great shopping, easy access to free trams of Melbourne and short walking distance to lots of nice restaurants.
Location is great. Rooms are small but clean. Bathrooms have been renovated but again small.
Great for a short stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear Jane R
Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review.
We look forward to see you again on your next visits to Melbourne.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018

I chose to stay in this hotel for the location. It is right in the centre of the city with lots of great eateries and shopping just outside the building. The rooms were clean and bathrooms good. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating - they let us check in early (9am) at no extra charge and when we didn't like the first room they very quickly put us in a new room without any hassle. There is a café in the hotel which serves good food and coffee. The hotel is also next to a few tram stops within the CBD free tram loop which means it is easy to get around. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harrietallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Harrietallan, Thanks so much for your great comments. We certainly are very lucky to be in such a great central location and to have such friendly and helpful staff. I'm really glad that we were able to check you into the room nice and early and that you enjoyed your meals in our Soul Cafe. w e hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Nick Phillips, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews