We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,848)
Filter reviews
2,848 results
Traveller rating
1,145
1,170
382
99
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,145
1,170
382
99
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pensione hotel shoebox room southern cross station great location rooms are small spencer street shower door short stay crown casino the ground floor sky bus double bed train station short walk public transport would stay again one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,848 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

What a great little hotel!! We love that they market their rooms true to size! They know they have small rooms - so they don’t hide it! Matchbox and Shoebox anyone?

We opted for the Courtyard room, and even though small (15m2) - it more than met our needs!! The bathroom was super spacious, shower was excellent- good water pressure and nice and hot, plus decent shower head. Whilst the shower was open (no door) for once the internal space was large enough that water didn’t go absolutely everywhere! And there was enough shelving & hanging space for all your toiletries too.

The courtyard itself was super cute and private, even though we didn’t use it (too cold this trip!) - having the glass door view meant the room felt even more spacious.

The bed was very comfy! Only sadness is it was a double (I knew this when I booked!) but I do feel there is enough room in the Courtyard room to fit a queen easily. That would really have made our stay even more comfortable!! But I understand it may be annoying from a laundering perspective to manage different sized sheets, etc - for different rooms.

We were impressed with how clean the room and bathroom was two! However, cleaning staff may like to focus on dusting the gap between the bedhead and the shelf behind - it looks like it’s not been cleaned in months! I get that it may be hard to access, because the headboard is fixed to the wall - but I think it should be addressed. It lets down how clean the rest of the suite is!

The only other feedback we can provide is regards the room service and water saving request. We made sure we kept our towels hung up, so that house keeping did not replace them all. This was as per their water saving request leaflet. The only towel on the floor, was the bathmat. However each day, we had fresh towels. Whilst this was appreciated, we were surprised that it was done, when they specifically request us to save water.

Other than that - awesome stay! Brilliant location, def would stay again (yup even with a double bed!)

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SonyaMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke D, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hi SonyaMuller

Thank you for leaving us such a detailed recount of your recent stay.

It was great to read of your experience and we appreciate your kind words feedback in general. I must say it is refreshing to read such a realistic point of view.

We really appreciate your feedback which allows us to continue to focus our energy in the right areas, with our guests experience in mind.

Please contact directly us directly if you wish to stay again :)

We hope to see you back in the near future

Warmest Regards,

Best Western Melbourne City Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here as it was booked for me by Trailfinders. The shoebox room lives up to its name. The room itself is clean and well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board and television. The shower room is not good if you are claustrophobic. Also the walls and ceilings are so thin, that you can hear everything so not recommended to stay on a Friday night if you want a good sleep. Staff are very friendly and helpful, so a mixed bag of experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DebbieB3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke D, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear Debbie,

We are sorry your experience was overshadowed by the room/bathroom size.
Given the opportunity we aim to remedy any guest needs that may not be met at the time, and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future, in a room category that is suited to your needs.

Thank you for your review.

Warmest regards

The Best Western Melbourne City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Stayed overnight before traveling from Southern Cross the next morning, room clean beds comfortable. 3 of us in the room so always expect to be a bit tight, but the bathrooms.... Ssoooo small... Had to get in sideways and wouldn't want to be any bigger... Me I mean!! Amazing what can be fitted into a cupboard!

Room tip: Let booking know if you are a larger person
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke D, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear Joan M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review in regards to your recent stay
I am sorry to hear that you found the room to be a little cosier than expected! We do have a wide range of options to suit people with all sorts of different needs and would have been more than happy to show you a larger room as your comfort is always of the highest priority!

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Best Western Melbourne City Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

For a Melbourne hotel which usually costs $300 a night, we are paying a good price of $240 for first week of October.

Best part of our stay is the very private courtyard (room #7 courtyard room). Can leave the curtains open without facing other rooms or buildings.

Breakfast is basic: coffee/tea, fresh fruits, cereals, some cheese/cold cuts, and bread/croissant. Nothing fancy or much varieties. Croissant is usually very dry and tasted a day old.

Worst thing is lack of hot water. We stayed for 5 days and every morning when we took showers at 7am the water was only barely warm. It was the very last day when we got up at 5am that the shower had hot water.

Front desk was efficient but not friendly. No greetings of a hello when we returned and left for the day. A couple of staff did. The rest just stared forward into the street.

Good to have laundry facility at the hotel. A definite plus.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnmango928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

What a little gem. Lovely soft pillows and bed, very clean and quiet. What a great location! Was upgraded from matchstick to shoebox room n arrival and was allowed a check in well before I was entitled. I would highly recommend for a short stay without the fuss and stuff uou get at more expensive places. Thanks

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews