We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #99 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We had a warm greeting at reception on arrival. Location is in walking distance of most of our chosen tourist spots including the MCG for cricket.
They have a rooftop swimming pool which was nice to have available to use.
Breakfast was ok.
Our room was comfortable and we had a good sleep, on negative is we would have liked more storage space for our clothes aside from hanging clothes such as a chest of drawers.
Overall a good stay and we would return.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 2,445 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Great time. Quiet area for the city as there are no trams in the street. Fantastic service. Will definitely go there again. Lots of great restaurants in the vicinity Enjoyed the fabulous breakfast. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cherylrU6367YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This hotel has a very welcoming and informative reception team. Great location for getting around Melbourne and being in the heart of the city and near China Town. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The pool is a little disappointing good for a dip but if you want to lie back and relax this isn’t for you the same with the Gym I’d recommend a run round one of the beautiful Melbourne parks instead

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annafZ1722DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Grand Chancellor always hace lovely Staff who make check in and out easy - nothing is ever too hard!
They have Great Facilities
Fabulous Room Service Options
Fantastic Rooms comfy beds
what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Rose S
Thank you very much for your 5 star review and terrific feedback! We are thrilled to be your home away from home in Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Hotel Grand Chancellor. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Great room good location parking was a bit of a pain being a public carpark aswell but the staff where happy to help advise us on the public car parking across the road room was very tidy and bathroom was great

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mitchell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

This motel is in the heart of Lonsdale Street, near Chinatown and easy walk to Bourke Street Mall, Parliament House, trams and great restaurants. King suite was roomy but lots of traffic noise due to windows not being double glazed. Our bed and pillows were very hard and uncomfortable, making for little sleep during our stay. Amenities and room clean. The pool looked inviting and popular. Staff were friendly and attentive. Downstairs bar handy and breakfast was very nice. Did notice other guests getting breakfast and drink vouchers and free room upgrades. We asked for a room upgrade when checking in (not selecting any particular type of room) but had to pay for it and didn't receive any vouchers. Car parking is a problem - we were extremely lucky to get a car park but I met a very flustered guest who wasn't as fortunate and had to find another car parking centre and pay much more. Trying hard but not quite there.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harmony17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Great comparative price. Was provided with an unrequested upgrade and one complimentary drink voucher which I did t use. It was discovered the next morning at check out. I have previously stayed at this location.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 816darrenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear 816darrenr
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and it was our pleasure to provide you with a small gesture of appreciation for being a highly valued return guest of ours. We hope to welcome you back again soon to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,598 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
2,395 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#120 of 161 in Melbourne
1,428 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 161 in Melbourne
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: C$126 - C$312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing