We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, love the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not my first stay, not my last one....
From the checkin to the check out (unfortunately), we have been impressed by the level of service. Check in was flawless and very professional.... Lucky on that day, we have been upgraded to a larger room for two days. Room was large enough to play hide and seek.

Bed very comfy, large enough for two personns even sleeping in diagonal.
Good idea for the lovers: the tab in the bath tub is on the side.

If you have to work, internet access is compatible with IPass. It makes everyhting much easier.

Gym is ok, and I like the view from the swimming pool. (keep in mind, we are in Melbourne, not Singapore).

The building has been restored with taste and attention to details. It looks stunning!

We will be back for sure

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear agregoire,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your lovely review. I was so happy to read that you had such a great experience during your recent stay and that you were impressed by the level of service that you received from the hotel team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,841 - 1,847 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on six occasions now and have been left very satisfied with this property each and every time. Such consistency is indeed a rare commidity in most Australian properties.

Firstly the public areas of the hotel are architecturally stunning. The rooms themselves are also beautifully appointed with all the modern amenities one expects from a 5 star hotel and more. I particularly like the generous walk in showers over those crappy half sized bath tubs found in comparable properties (eg IC Sydney). The beds are also very comfortable and coupled with the light-blocking curtains results in a great sleep each and every time.

I recently treated myself to the club lounge for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. Whilst there are no views I found the quality of food and beverage to be fantastic with breakfast offerings such as eggs to order, cooked mushrooms, tomatoes, sausages etc along with a high quality continental spread. Both the afternoon tea and dinner drinks were very good and really enjoyed the tasting platter. Service was also top notch- ultra professional staff that were eager to please yet laid back as well. I've never felt so comfortable and at home in a club lounge before.

Service at this hotel is top notch- any requests from "instant service" are always dealt with promptly and room service has always been timely and enjoyable too. Can't fault the place so far and hope it remains that way!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Tony A,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your wonderful review. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is indeed a very special and indulgent place and I am glad that you enjoyed it so much.
I was particularly happy to read your glowing comments regarding the hotel team and the high level of service you have received, I will be sure to pass this feedback on to them.
We are very motivated to keep a strong focus on on our service culture and colleague engagement within the hotel and I can assure you that we will continue to work very hard on this and I believe that you will continue to notice improvements.
The entire hotel looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I come to Melbourne a couple of time a year for business and I will never stay anywhere else but the InterCon apart from the fact that it is so close to my Melbourne office, The entire Hotel feels like a home away from home. I love that the rooms face into the beautiful light filled atrium and I don't have to look out onto a car park or into another building. I decided last week to get access to their club lounge for the first time which was amazing, read the paper in the morning, watched the news just like at home. The staff in the lounge told me that they also had evening drinks, perfect way to finish off the working day.

I have also noticed a change in how helpful and nice the staff are, prior to this stay I had not stayed in 6 months so I don't really remember but the staff were amazingly helpful and so lovely even retrieving my phone charger from my room after I had checked out.

Room Tip: Make sure you get access to Club! Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Sunsunshine,
Thank you for sharing with me your generous feedback. It warmed my heart to read that we have been able to make you feel so at home while you are in the hotel. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is indeed a very special place and may I mention also serves breakfast and afternoon tea. Wifi in the Lounge is also included and you can even borrow an iPad - the perfect place to relax or work!
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I treated myself and my partner to a few nights in the Rialto in a Club room as I was celebrating my 40th birthday. The hotel itself is a stunning building with loads of character, the rooms are a good size with decent specification and the club lounge very welcoming.
My only suggestion for improvement would have been if the hotel had realised it was my birthday and perhaps sent a card to the room. I did give many clues such as filling in my DOB at check in, being a priority club member and having a few dozen birthday cards on display in the room. A small point maybe but sometimes these things make a big difference.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank Chris-HK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Chris-HK72,
Thank you for your kind review and may I wish you a very happy birthday! Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not realise this was your birthday trip, despite all the clues that you gave.
Please allow me to make up for this oversight and please contact me directly to make a booking in the future. I will ensure that a belated bottle of champagne is placed in your room.
I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again, ideally for another special occasion so that we may help you to truly celebrate.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

When you stay in hotels a lot it comes down to three things: the location, the facility and the staff. The first two are great here and the building is genuinely beautiful. Super swimming pool, central location and so on. If there is a problem its the staff and management. This hotel does not have the people it deserves. I had a series of small problems which took a LOT of energy sapping effort and persistence to resolve each time. Nevertheless, it a stunning property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Well_travelled_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Well_travelled_Dad,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your feedback. I was saddened to read that your experience was not perfect, which I can assure you is not what we strive to deliver.
We intend to deliver a consistently seamless service experience to our guests and keep any problems and distractions from you. Therefore we are very focused on engaging with our guests and encouraging them to engage with us.
I am so sorry that we did not deliver on this service promise and I would love to meet with you when you return to ensure that not only our location and facilities are as wonderful as expected, but our colleagues too.
I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel at another time so that you may have a more seamless experience.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My favorite hotel in Australia!
I travel interstate almost every two weeks and the team at the Rialto are amazing. Considering the size of the hotel they still treat you as a name, not a room number. The rooms are superior and the service is to match...
All they need now is an upgraded hotel lobby bar and they would be in world class.

Your just a stones throw away from all of melbournes amazing nightlife..

I highly recommend you stay there!!!

Room Tip: 328 is unreal, however don't expect a view, this hotel is in an old building where the top end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsABSOLUTVODKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear MsABSOLUTVODKA,
Thank you very much for your kind review, I would be interested to hear your thoughts about Market Lane Bar, and I would like to invite you to provide me with more information should you wish to do so. I will message you my email address and I hope to hear from you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have read a number of the reviews on the hotel and agree with some comments made but all in all we had a great experience at the Intercontinental. I found the staff friendly and helpful, the concierge desk was able to point us in the right direction for dining and shopping with a map provided. The check in was prompt and easy and our luggage was brought to our room quickly. We also liked the remote control blinds, the history of the building and the way it had been converted to accommodate the hotel. Our only gripe - we agreed that the main restaurant was chilly - too chilly for evening dining (thank goodness for Merchant tucked away just off reception). We also felt breakfast was expensive compared to other hotels even for a continental option but the food was nice. I also agree that some aspects of the breakfast buffet needed replenishing with more enthusiasm and more promptly but this didn't detract from our overall stay and it is certainly a great place to use Priority Privilege vouchers. The room and bed were comfy and having a normal shower instead of the over the bath affairs that you see in many Crowne Plaza's was a bonus (would have just preferred the setting wasn't on the dumper option instead of the wall option as I got caught out with that). All in all, I would stay here again and who really needs a room with a view when most of the time you are just there to sleep - appreciate the history of the place and take time to look at some of the old photos and plans. We also took advantage of the business centre which had free internet access and can sometimes be better than bothering with wifi.

Room Tip: Higher up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear NZTraveller20,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your thorough review and thank you for your feedback regarding the air conditioning in Alluvial Restaurant, I will certainly share this with the engineering team.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,089 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
931 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,571 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,637 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $222 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing