We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All Class”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel has it all. I was traveling on business and was impressed with all the services. The restaurant was fantastic for both brunch and dinner. The club lounge is always such a treat. The head Concierge (James?) knows anything and everything. Met a fellow Macedonian porter as well. He ensured my stay was perfect. So much so that I applied for a job the day of checkout! Sad to say I didn't get the job, but boy oh boy I will be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and request a room closer to the elevators. We got the last room and it is a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Nathan C,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your glowing review, I will be sure to share your feedback with James and the Concierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    565
    196
    64
    37
See reviews for
251
853
129
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

All in all another great stay in Melbourne. It's a fun place and the hotel is well located to Melbourne trams which can get you everywhere. Don't forget to see the Concierge for your tram tickets...easiest way. We also always take the Skybus from the airport and walk the 10 minutes to Collins Street but there is also a free shuttle from the Skybus terminal. Don't take a taxi from the airport..it will cost you over $60 and take twice as long!

Would recommend you become an Ambassador with IHG hotels just because you can get a room upgrade and free weekend night stay that pays for membership which is around $200 per year.

We got Room 321 in the Rialto building (much better than the other side of the hotel) and this room was huge. The ceilings must have been 15 feet high which really made the room feel light and airy and very large. Rm 321 is on Collins Street so you will hear noise (trams and a couple of drunks) but not a problem at all...the tram noise made us feel like we were in Melbourne. Another advantage of the room is that you have natural light.

Hotel is in a great location..10 minute walk to CBD and on 2 major tram routes so you can get anywhere with ease (ask the Concierge team for your tram tickets).

Another great stay at this beautiful historic hotel with great staff and great rooms.

Room Tip: try the Rialto building as it has rooms with higher ceilings and a chance of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Megt01,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful feedback. We indeed feel very lucky to be located in a heritage building which means we are able to make the most of the period features of the building, such as high ceilings and other ornate period features which were accentuated during our renovation.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have travelled to this hotel before, but this is my first review for it.

It is definitely a business travellers hotel
- Rooms are smart, but on the small side
- Staff are competent and mention your name
- The Sleep quality is very good
- The bathroom is on the small side, but has everything you need, including a rain shower
- The breakfast is great (get this included in your room) but is on the expensive side
- Best of all is the design of the hotel, you have to see it to believe
One thing of note:
The local suburb had a power outage for some work/maintenance. The hotel called me before hand to discuss options.
Although the outage did not affect me, they did everything to accommodate during that time. Great Service!!.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjr-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Bjr-au,
Thank you for sharing with me your review, I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your past stays with us. I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding the power outage. This was a very difficult time for the hotel team and I was extremely pleased to read that the outage did not affect you, and that you felt it was well managed by the hotel team.
I hope to have a chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I spent our first wedding anniversary here after finding a great deal with Wotif.com - package included Full Buffet Breakfast, Valet Par Parking and a late 2pm check out. Prior to arrival, I emailed the Concierge for Flowers to be in our room prior to arrival - A huge thank you to Jacob who arranged this. The wife was very impressed!!

Upon arrival at 2pm, things were a little hectic (as everyone else arrived at the same time) but the front desk staff handled it very efficiently and smoothly. Having found out it was our first wedding anniversary, the hotel then delivered a complimentary gift (with card) to our room. This was very much appreciated.

Overall, my wife and I were extremely impressed with the I/C Melb. Room was very clean and presentable, room service food was prompt and delicious, customer service was of high quality.

Thank you to the I/C Melb for a great one night stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Craig H,
Thank you very much for your kind review, and may I take this opportunity to wish you and your wife a very happy first wedding anniversary!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Such a beautiful way to enjoy beautiful Melbourne. The building itself is something else, however service, amenities, facilities and food to match such grandeur. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a deluxe twin, plenty of space for two friends enjoying a weekend away. Very very very difficult to leave their beds. So soft. 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nochlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear nochlo,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your review. I was so happy to ready that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay so much.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titisee-Neustadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is amazing! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We was happy with the qualitiy of our room and of course the food and the service was perfect! The architecture of the hotel is also very interesting. We had wonderful four days in the beautifil hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra200670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Sandra200670,
Thank you for sharing with me your lovely review. It made me so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We are Priority Privilege Members and booked a club room for 6 days. Check in was just okay. Although we had booked for 6 nights, but she could only see 2 nights. Spent some time looking for the other 4 nights, even though it was clearly written on my confirmation. Mistake in the bill on check out, and had to get a manager to sort it out. Once he stepped into the conversation it was sorted very quickly. The guy at front entrance (wears a bowler hat) was very friendly and helpful. He entertained us with a joke or two every morning.
Room cleanliness and housekeeping excellent with turndown service. We gratefully had room with street view, as I didn’t like the look of the rooms without. Size of the room and bathroom was fine, with walk in shower and bath.
The club facilities were adequate but some minor issues of inconsistent service and supplies niggled. There were only 3 tables available for breakfast, and if they were taken we then had to eat breakfast seated at a low armchair with a high table. It was very uncomfortable. On first 3 mornings were offered eggs with breakfast, on the last 3 mornings there were no egg offers at all. Evening canapes were cheeses and sushi, plus a chefs tasting plate, which was a nice treat. There seemed to be no attempt to replenish bar supplies as they ran out of Sauvignon Blanc for 3 whole nights. How could that happen in a major hotel? Felt the club lounge was understaffed and only as good as the personnel on duty.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window to the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajusnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear bajusnz,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your very detailed review. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any confusion with your reservation upon check in, I was happy to read that this issue was resolved for you. I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the Club InterContinental Lounge and staffing levels, I will be sure to share this with the Club InterContinental team.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in future.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,342 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing