We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$159
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$156
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crossley Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$115
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$259
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$99
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,337)
Filter reviews
2,337 results
Traveller rating
1,342
641
228
79
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,342
641
228
79
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungealluvial restaurantambassador membermarket lanecollins streetjunior suitebeautiful hotelnatural lightrain showerstar hotelheritage buildinghigh teaan upgradevalet parkingbuffet breakfastcrown casinosouthern cross station
Filter
Updating list...
1,892 - 1,897 of 2,337 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

All in all another great stay in Melbourne. It's a fun place and the hotel is well located to Melbourne trams which can get you everywhere. Don't forget to see the Concierge for your tram tickets...easiest way. We also always take the Skybus from the airport and walk the 10 minutes to Collins Street but there is also a free shuttle from the Skybus terminal. Don't take a taxi from the airport..it will cost you over $60 and take twice as long!

Would recommend you become an Ambassador with IHG hotels just because you can get a room upgrade and free weekend night stay that pays for membership which is around $200 per year.

We got Room 321 in the Rialto building (much better than the other side of the hotel) and this room was huge. The ceilings must have been 15 feet high which really made the room feel light and airy and very large. Rm 321 is on Collins Street so you will hear noise (trams and a couple of drunks) but not a problem at all...the tram noise made us feel like we were in Melbourne. Another advantage of the room is that you have natural light.

Hotel is in a great location..10 minute walk to CBD and on 2 major tram routes so you can get anywhere with ease (ask the Concierge team for your tram tickets).

Another great stay at this beautiful historic hotel with great staff and great rooms.

Room Tip: try the Rialto building as it has rooms with higher ceilings and a chance of natural light.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Megt01,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful feedback. We indeed feel very lucky to be located in a heritage building which means we are able to make the most of the period features of the building, such as high ceilings and other ornate period features which were accentuated during our renovation.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have travelled to this hotel before, but this is my first review for it.

It is definitely a business travellers hotel
- Rooms are smart, but on the small side
- Staff are competent and mention your name
- The Sleep quality is very good
- The bathroom is on the small side, but has everything you need, including a rain shower
- The breakfast is great (get this included in your room) but is on the expensive side
- Best of all is the design of the hotel, you have to see it to believe
One thing of note:
The local suburb had a power outage for some work/maintenance. The hotel called me before hand to discuss options.
Although the outage did not affect me, they did everything to accommodate during that time. Great Service!!.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjr-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Bjr-au,
Thank you for sharing with me your review, I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your past stays with us. I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding the power outage. This was a very difficult time for the hotel team and I was extremely pleased to read that the outage did not affect you, and that you felt it was well managed by the hotel team.
I hope to have a chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I spent our first wedding anniversary here after finding a great deal with Wotif.com - package included Full Buffet Breakfast, Valet Par Parking and a late 2pm check out. Prior to arrival, I emailed the Concierge for Flowers to be in our room prior to arrival - A huge thank you to Jacob who arranged this. The wife was very impressed!!

Upon arrival at 2pm, things were a little hectic (as everyone else arrived at the same time) but the front desk staff handled it very efficiently and smoothly. Having found out it was our first wedding anniversary, the hotel then delivered a complimentary gift (with card) to our room. This was very much appreciated.

Overall, my wife and I were extremely impressed with the I/C Melb. Room was very clean and presentable, room service food was prompt and delicious, customer service was of high quality.

Thank you to the I/C Melb for a great one night stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Craig H,
Thank you very much for your kind review, and may I take this opportunity to wish you and your wife a very happy first wedding anniversary!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Such a beautiful way to enjoy beautiful Melbourne. The building itself is something else, however service, amenities, facilities and food to match such grandeur. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a deluxe twin, plenty of space for two friends enjoying a weekend away. Very very very difficult to leave their beds. So soft. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nochlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear nochlo,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your review. I was so happy to ready that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay so much.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is amazing! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We was happy with the qualitiy of our room and of course the food and the service was perfect! The architecture of the hotel is also very interesting. We had wonderful four days in the beautifil hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra200670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Sandra200670,
Thank you for sharing with me your lovely review. It made me so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews