We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed here on the 6th floor and we were impressed with the service it was very good .
The architect is beautiful its a shame that we could only stay for the night but we will be back as we loved it. It was very late by the time we got in but the staff were cheerful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wonderer951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear wonderer951,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service from our team.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
James Ridenour
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

My husband and I stayed here for only 1 night.

As we arrived on an early flight we dropped our bags in so we could enjoy our day. We found the staff very polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

After a day of shopping we returned to the hotel, check in was completed quickly and our bags had already been delivered to our room.

The room was very comfortable and clean we could not fault it at all.

The location is in walking distance to most attractions and if you are not up to walking then the tram is just outside

Before venturing out a night staff were able to provide us with the best options for transport to our function. They provided us with maps etc to ensure we knew where we were going.

Whilst we didn't eat at the hotel the dining area looked fantastic.

Checkout was completed very quickly and again the staff were very polite and professional.

I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Donna1910,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service from our team.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
James Ridenour
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

So, I’ll start by saying the hotel was great and the stay very pleasant. But what I found outrageous is the way the hotel manages the payment system.

Let me explain.

I stayed 7 nights. Upon check in my credit card was authorized for the costs of accommodation and incidentals. I asked for the mini bar to be taken out but that didn’t change the incidental costs. Total pending charge on my card is $3,192. The charge is still there after I checked out today.

Upon check out I have paid the actual bill. $2,241.21. That charge is an actual debit and has been processed.

So total costs for my stay, according to available funds in my account, is $5,433.

As I have a visa debit card this means my real cash funds have been allocated to the $5,433 and I cannot access the $3,192 that the hotel is holding.

They tell me don’t worry, we don’t actually take the money, we just put a hold on it. Well that’s clearly wrong!

The hotel can reverse the pending transaction at the merchant facility. That’d take them 30 seconds. But no, the pending transaction does not reverse for 5-10 days.

I travel regularly through Europe in hotels more prestigious than the Melbourne Intercontinental and these hotels apply a token hold of €1 to check the validity of the credit card.

To the hotel a short message. This is very bad practice and I won’t be back. To readers of this post, stay elsewhere as there are other hotels equal and better and don’t hold your money hostage.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank TravellerSport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear TravellerSport1,

Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with the payment processing and that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all comments and I have forwarded your comments to our Front Office Manager for review.

I would be happy to have our Front Office Manager review your comments with you so that we can better understand your concerns. Please feel free to contact me in order to set up a time to review your feedback which will be valuable in helping us to improve our service offering.

Again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely yours,
James Ridenour
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Beautiful architecture. I was given a room on the sixth floor that stared out at the 'old building' within the hotel. The room was well lit notwithstanding there was no external window.

While I did not mind, privacy could be an issue given rooms are facing each other unless you were planning to keep your curtains closed.

My room was well maintained, clean, comfortable and felt luxurious. No real issue other than perhaps the moderate shower water pressure.

In terms of location, the hotel is in a great part of town and there is a tram line right outside the hotel which is great.

If you are in town for business, I would definitely recommend staying at the InterCon. If you are here with family, the standard room may be a tad small.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank kerwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear kerwei,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
James Ridenour
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Loved the stay, i spent 7 days there everything was great , food/service/employees were perfect specially James from concierge big thanks to him, only problem
Is that i asked 3 times for a membership card but each time they told me
It will be ready now but its been 10 days and nothing yet :/ thats why i give them 4/5

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hashem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay - the room is really lovely and the bed is super comfortable! The building itself is really nice too . We only spent the night but I would love to stay again .

I would recommend a stay here for sure

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Leanne M,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our very comfortable beds.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
James Ridenour
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Booked intercontinental last week at the last minute - two standard rooms on a weekend deal with breakfast. From end to end our experience was excellent. Thoroughly impressed with the fabulous team, excellent food and super comfy rooms. Food was brilliant both in breakfast and room service. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with excellent amenities. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Keira T,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service from our team.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
James Ridenour
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,567 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
8,614 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $187 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing