We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean but had an awful odour in the apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Ranked #120 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great value you for money and close to the city. I stayed here for one night and would not been able to sleep if i didnt spray the entire apartment with an air freshner. I would stay again, make sure to have an have an air freshner with you!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Issadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place was a little disappointing. There were a number of issues which we detailed for them - the towels were so thin that they ripped, the bed had some kind of loose mattress protector on it which was really a doona. It crinkled up underneath you and if you sleep restlessly this bed is a nightmare!

The windows were supposed to be double glazed - looks like the only one that was was the one that opened. Noise from other air conditioning units also kept us awake.

And the chopping board had food left on it (put away in the cupboard)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marigold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom studio apartment at the City Edge Treasury in East Melbourne. Price was good as we got a 4 day+ special and the location was fantastic. You book in at reception at 92 Albert Street and then the hotel is only 200m or so away. Had off street parking which was a bonus. Less than 15 minutes walk to the CBD through the parklands. IGA just across the road through a lane and an IGA liquor next to it to get some supplies to fill the fridge. There was a pizza and fish and chip shop in the lane, didn’t eat there but food looked yummy and fresh, not bad prices either. Room was nice and roomy, all cooking facilities were there plus the fridge, aircond worked well and even the window opened to let in some fresh air. Big TV on the wall. There are only a couple of power points around but I always have a small powerboard to plug in to keep all the electronic gadgets charged. Bathroom had shower and bath, nice and big an airy, but I don’t know what the story with the hand basin was . . . it was about 3 foot up from the floor, very weird indeed! The beds have seen better days and were a bit lumpy but we’ve had worse over the years. The hotel is 3 storeys which is serviced by a lift and of course you can use the stairs. Plenty of tourist information as you come in through the entrance and a couple of food and drink machines near the lifts. All in all it was pretty good and I would stay there again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Back rooms, which we were in, have a beautiful view of a brick wall! Front rooms would look onto the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenoathtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Kenoathtravels,

thank you very much for your custom. Very happy to see you back staying with us at City Edge Apartment hotels.

City Edge Treasury Apartment Hotel is our 3.5 ***rated property and it an older style building, however it was operational for last 25 year and was recently updated. It enjoys great following from a lot of return clientele. It is conveniently located walking distance to MCG and is polular with a lot of sport fans. So if you visiting Melbourne and want to be close to City and MCG please book with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Hi,

I stayed at 92 albert street, east Melbourne, city edge apartment last week, booked online, arrive 10:00 pm after 15 hour long journey and found the keys in electronic box easily, so no hassle.

My apartment was of one bed, nice and tide, all amenities in perfect condition including aircon, LCD tv, kitchen items etc. And most lovely thing is park infront of hotel. Convenient location to CBD, just 5 minutes by Tram or bus. For shopping/grocery IGA is just near by. So for new arrival in Melbourne or in australia, City edge is the best place to start and live in with affordable cost.

Minor problems are ignorable, though its budget hotel. Staff is also very cooperative, Specially Elizabeth and James.

Thanks City Edge!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jovi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Jovi,

thank you for your review and patronage. We wish to welcome you back to stay with us at City Edge next time you are in Melbourne.

As you correctly noted City Edge brand is a low cost brand with excellent facilities and can be found in many convenient city locations.

City Edge brand is aiming to provide clientele with optimum value for your hard earned money. Have a good day and safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at the Tribecca Apartments from the City Edge apartment chain for a boys sports weekend. Basic 2 bedroom apartment within walking distance to mcg and rod laver arena. Bedding was very comfy. Balcony was the smallest balcony i have seen. iga and bottlo in complex which is great for a boys weekend away. overall good for a boys sports weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Damo79,

alway happy to have you back at City Edge hotels. Our apartments are the closed accommodation available to MCG and the prices are very competitive.

I also want to recommend for your consideration our new hotel City Edge North Melbourne - it is conveniently located close to Etihad Stadium.

Currently we have on our website some good specials starting from $89 for studio apartment.

Have a good day and safe trip home.
Regards,
City Edge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I booked with short notice during one of Melbournes busiest times ( Aust Open) so was surprised to find such a great rate. Although very modern the Peel St appartments are tiny. We had twin beds.one of which was really in the kitchen space. Well equipped with kitchen facilities good for eating take away but probably dangerous to try and cook anything in such a confined space. We used the stairs as the lift seemed very unreliable. Air conditioning is great, large TV with all digital channels. Better than a motel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelinspector08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

As I have a family and we are from interstate and budget conscious ,we always select an apartment with a kitchen and free parking facilities.This time we tried the Treasury apartment on Albert St rather than the Wellington apartments.The room is advertised as a family room but it is extremely small.The kitchenette was the most disappointing part as it lacks a proper stove, no cupboard space for groceries and a very small preparation surface. All that is provided is a portable hot plate , a microwave and a small bar fridge. We had to go out and buy a decent frying pan as the one provided had seen better days as a non stick pan. The cutting knife was blunt as well.One needs to step into a bath tub to have a shower so it may not suit an elderly or disabled person. The car parking is so tight that I picked up a dent on my passenger side door. Parking is available in the street but a clearway operates from 7.00 am so one needs to get up early to move the vehicle.The air conditioner is a bit dodgy as it lacked any real grunt. Fortunately we didn't have any extreme weather of 40 degrees plus as our windows were facing north. On the positive side the beds were comfortable , a short walk to the city through Fitzroy gardens to the CBD , walking distance to the Asian shops and restaurants on Victoria St and walking distance to the clothing shops on Bridge St.There is a nearby park and tennis courts for hire.
I recommend paying the extra dollars to stay at the Wellington apartments as they have a fully functional kitchen ,dishwasher and washing machine. The bedrooms are separated and they have a large living area . The extra money spent on eating outside when staying at the Treasury will more than compensate the extra cost of the Wellington apartment with its better facilities.

Room Tip: Occasional street noise from drunks at night so southern side is better but they have no views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaaNahmLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
116 reviews
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 160 in Melbourne
212 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert

Address: 179 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Whether you’re looking for accommodation near Mercy Hospital or accommodation near Fitzroy Gardens, there’s no better choice than City Edge’s East Melbourne serviced apartments. If you want the comfort of a bed and breakfast in East Melbourne at the cost of a budget hotel, you’ll love our studio and family apartments, equipped with all the features and amenities you need for a comfortable stay. Our accommodation near St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne is ideal if you’re looking for hotels within walking distance to the MCG or Rod Laver Arena. Whether you’re a family seeking family accommodation near the MCG, a businessperson looking for weekly apartment rentals, or a traveller searching for accommodation near Melbourne Park, City Edge is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing