We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreat Location, Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Quest on Bourke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Bourke
Ranked #106 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
orange
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Agreat Location, Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This quest hotel is nothing fancy and unassuming but has such a great location at a good price, which makes it a great place to stay if all you need is a bed for the night. All amenities worked beautifully and the reception staff were really welcoming and helpful. We had a two bedroom apartment with an unnecessarily large bathroom which makes the second bedroom ( with queen bed) rather small. Again, the same gripe I have with many places - every side of the bed needs a lamp!!! Very close to all shopping, theatre etc.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasparorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    207
    112
    46
    30
See reviews for
135
77
11
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flynn
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Quest including New Years Eve. I was a little concerned after booking seeing some reviews talking about noise and a night club (especially given we were there on NYE). We were very pleased that the rooms were extremely quiet as the Night Club has closed down.

The rooms were spacious, great location and extremely well priced. The rooms werent serviced due to it being Sunday and a public holiday (but nobody comes and makes my bed at home everyday either!!). We were informed we could get more towels or supplies - just to let housekeeping know and they would deliver, so this wasnt a problem and meant our rooms were reasonably priced. Air conditioning worked welll as it was 35C during our stay. We arrived at 10.30am by train so wanted to drop off our bags, we were informed our room was ready so we could check in then - very impressed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had 3 nights at Quest and once again great service,clean room and a big pat on the back for Jac in reception,he does a great job.As far a the rooms go for the cost of a self contained unit you won;t find better in the CBD.quite.clean and big units.Am going back in Feb as we looked around while we were there and nothing else competes with it for valuu

Room Tip: If you smoke ask for a balcony,the 1 bedroom balconies are small but do the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My partner and I stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom suite (very small but was ok).

I was surprised that I had to almost beg for a balcony - which I finally got, However no one told me it was half the size of a single bed :s

On our second night we attempted to have our second spa of our 2 night stay. 20 mins of cold running water.. When we called reception to enquire the receptionist was very unhelpful to why we had no hot water - this was very disappointing. And this was not resolved..

We were questioned when asked for more towels.. We got them but did not particularly like the tone of the woman who seemed uneasy that we had asked for more towels..

Overall the apartment was alright but I would not go back due to the lack of customer service. The only good thing is the location. But i would recommend Quest SXY in
South Yarra anyday!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyasAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_W555, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your feeback - and I apologise that your stay was not all that you had hoped for.

I have been looking into our reservation history and have not been able to find anything mentioning hot water issues in a One Bedroom Executive apartment with a balcony. Without this information I cannot unfortunately follow up with our personnel either.

I can assure you that we pride ourselves on our guest service and should we have been able to offer another apartment or take emergency actions we would normally have done so, this is part of our training for all of our personnel at Quest on Bourke. I can only apologise at this stage for your disappointment but I would welcome the opportunity to make amends should you wish to give us another opportunity to accommodate you.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed for six days in a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment. We were a group of 4 adults with 1 toddler. The bathroom is really big and was great for giving my son a bath. He loved the big bathtub or spa. My husband also tried to use the spa, the motor was running but it wasn't working properly. Nevertheless, he still enjoyed his bath. The rooms are big, beds are ok, the blankets are a bit on the threadbare side. Kitchen facilities were complete and housekeeping cleans the dishes everyday except for Sunday's. Now, my only concern with an otherwise great stay is the laundry. They do provide a washer/dryer but it is a steam dryer and does not dry your clothes at all. You have to request for a clothes rack to dry your clothes. And it's not that big either. If they had a real dryer, I would have given them 5 stars.
The staff are courteous and efficient. They lent us umbrellas on a rainy day, printed boarding passes for us and even booked a tour at short notice. We would recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: When you are getting a two br apartment, make sure to ask for the two bathrooms. They have a 2 bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_W555, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback Siomao - it is wonderful to feel we have further contact with our valued guests even after they depart!

We are aware of limitations with the steam drying in the laundry - we recommend small loads and have the clothes airers available for this reason. Normally this assists to the guests satisfaction.

We are currently looking into upgrading to install separate washing machines and dryers for the apartments in the future for Quest on Bourke. A timeline for this is yet to be finalised.

We hope to see you again when you next plan a trip to Melbourne - thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This is a very centrally located apartment. Everything is just a short stroll away, Swanson street, Bourk Street Mall, Parliament, Federation Square... etc.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment which is spacious and functional, eg full kitchen, washing machine, DVD player, LCD TV. Bathroom is spacious.

If I want to be really picky, I find the queen size bed is on the softer side and the house keeping was on the stingy side without replacing the shampoo and the soap.

The service at the front desk was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_W555, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

We agree the location is excellent and it gives us a great opportunity for every guest to really enjoy the variety of tourism and cultural offerings that Melbourne has to offer.

Reception can also assist with additional toiletries for your apartment and we are happy to deliver them to you promptly. Simply dial down and we will assist.

Hope to see you again soon and thank you again for the feedback.

Vanessa Warnock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here recently with 3 others and loved the place. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Executive Apartment which had 2 bathrooms, plenty of room for everyone to get ready to go out. Apartment even had a spa however we didn't get a chance to use it.

The apartment was very spacious, had everything we needed in it, staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend it to others to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#70 of 159 in Melbourne
965 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#131 of 159 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
2,071 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Property: Quest on Bourke
Address: 155 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing