We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,725)
Filter reviews
9,725 results
Traveller rating
5,452
2,791
1,034
309
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,452
2,791
1,034
309
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm cricketers bar traditional room grand old lady high tea parliament house spring street superior room pillow menu beautiful hotel an upgrade a wonderful stay valet parking public transport concierge doorman pillows
Filter
Updating list...
1,000 - 1,005 of 9,725 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018

The windsir does not disappoint! Great service, room was very nice and breakfast was amazing. Great location at the top of cbd. Highly recommend a stay at the hotel especially if you love heritage Melbourne

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sarahjanechamber2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018


Dear Ms Chamber…Sarah Jane,

Thank you for your kind words and for posting this very flattering review.

Excellence in service is what we all strive for. Our team will be delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Until next time, our thanks for your recommendation along with our very best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

This ancient and much loved landmark is now showing its age. If you like mid twentieth century it is for you. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff attentive but you can get a better breakfast at any of the restaurants or cafes nearby. Valet parking is a plus but he whole place could now do with a makeover. Well situated for the ‘top end’ of town.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JudithO211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Mr O…Matthew,

My sincere apologies for such disappointment.

Our job is to present the hotel at her best with breakfasts that match. We are at this time accelerating our painting schedule with new carpets ordered in the last few days.

Hoping that we may look forward to welcoming you back so that we my leave you with memories more befitting The Windsor. There will be no mediocrity at breakfast.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful, but the rooms are noisy, I can hear people in the next room coughing at night and walking past at all hours. The presentation in common areas lacks any imagination and the whole place has a damp old smell. Location is great but way overpriced. Definitely 3 star not 5

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank glenngenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Mr Genrich…Glenn,

Thank you for your valued feedback and sincere apologies for clearly not aligning expectations with delivery

We shall check your room for noise suppression and redouble efforts in hotel presentation

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in future when we will be working harder than ever to leave you with memories more befitting The Windsor. In the meantime my apologies are extended once more,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018

this hotel was in the perfect location for everything we wanted to do. perhaps location and staff were the best features. the concierge desk answered all my annoying questions in a timely manner. we especially enjoyed ***. he was especially kind and great at recommending things for us to do and see. we are craft beer nerds and he recommended some great spots near saint Kilda. the valet for $50 a night was very convenient as well. it was unlimited in and out even on weekends and the care was ready within 10 minutes of calling from our room. we also utilized the pillow menu with aromatherapy which was a nice touch. the rooms themselves are old/vintage as expected. this is a historic building so the few things that could have been 'better' were likely intentionally left as is. the air conditioning was not strong but livable. the room has a few dents in walls and trims, a few areas that need touch up. some new caulking and bathroom details may spruce it up a bit. all in all we had a great stay. the small details cannot fault the awesome location and staff here.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Ms P…Amanda,

Thank you for your kind words and generous endorsement.

The pleasure of your company was ours.

So glad that team here played a part in creating such positive memories of your visit to Melbourne.

We are certainly take a look at your bathroom and refresh where necessary. Apologies for the lapse in standards.

I believe this is the first tripadvisor review of The Windsor from residents of Bolingbrook outside Chicago Illinois. Thank you.

Wishing you both continued safe and wonderful travels.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

The Windsor is a grand old hotel from the 19th century still trying to position itself as grand. The place is clean and lovely with helpful staff. Alas, there is a definite air of faded glory to the place. They simply have not been able to keep up the luster of yesteryear. The location is excellent, on the edge of downtown and at a stop on the free trolley that circumnavigates the business district. A lovely place, but it could be even nicer with a bit of work.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Poohbah1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind consideration in passing on such feedback following your recent visit to Melbourne.

The pleasure of your company was ours.

So glad that team here played a part in creating positive memories.

We are certainly focussed on refreshing aspects of the hotel with, amongst other things, new carpets expected in the next 3 to 4 months.

Apologies for the air of faded glory.

I believe this is the first tripadvisor review of The Windsor from residents of the historic town of Wolfeboro in glorious New Hampshire. Thank you.

Wishing you both continued safe and wonderful travels.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews