We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!”
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #124 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is located near the city centre, the tram stops in front of the hotel, so travelling around Melbourne is easy. Rooms were clean and good, we enjoyed put stay very much. Breakfast in the morning is a treat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_S_on_tour_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The Hatton was a fantastic discovery with so many things going for it. Close enough to get to where you want to in town, but just far enough away (5-10mins by tram from city centre) to be able to unwind among the surrounding parklands. Stylish, low key rooms with a casual but assured service from the staff, this is just the place you want to be basing yourself in for a long weekend in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Top floor will have less noise of people walking about in the mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterslogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Such a lovely place to stay. Great rooms. Clean. Friendly. So relaxed. Lovely fresh bed linen. Helpful staff. Stylish. No kids there when we were there. Maybe that's why it was so peaceful & relaxing. A short tram ride away from city itself but not a problem at all. Loved everything & would definately recommend & return :D

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We were welcomed after our long flight with the most gorgeous coffee and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibbs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were celebrating an early Chrismas get together with our friends and found The Hatton to be a real find. The staff were fantastic, they helped us with any questions regarding local restaurants, to tram tickets and the history of the Hotel. The six of us made full use of the roof top terrace with wonderful roof top views of Melbourne. Our rooms were clean and the beds were comfy too. We loved the selection at breakfast and the staff make a great skinny latte, you can also have a piece of fresh fruit and sit on the front veranda and watch the world go by. Check the big blackboard in the breakfast room for what's on in Melbourne!
Thanks Girls from the Adelaide group Not the rowers! We'll be back

Room Tip: Towards the back of the hotel as it is a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I have been visiting this property for 10 years and its always a delight - attentive yet not obtrusive staff, lovely fresh beds with fluffy doonas and plenty of towels - always the same high standard.

Its so good its often booked out and I cant get in!! Book in advance.

Great location for South Yarra - the botanical hotel and restaurant strip. This is Melbourne - not some horrible CBD hotel for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I have been staying at the Hatton for business for at least 3 years. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The other reasons to stay include - you are treated as an individual not a room number; complimentary wifi; simple and tasty brekkie; location; view from room 19; roof top deck and fire place. Some of the beds could be replaced eg room 5 - and that is why I gave a 4 out of 5

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Royce Hotel
#33 of 159 in Melbourne
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,033 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 159 in Melbourne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing