We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
5
12
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
12
6
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I see a lot of people bagging this place but it is in a great location within walking distance to the CBD, galleries & parks and is great value and if you ask nicely, you can get some off street parking. Sure the decor is outdated and the roof leaks a bit but it's an old building with character. We have stayed 3 times. I just tried to ring for our next visit but doesn't appear to be open at the moment????

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We needed an overnighter within walking distance of Melbourne's CBD (we don't mind an exercising walk; you might prefer the tram!), with off-street parking at a reasonable rate. The APMBH looked about right and proved to be the case.
As long as you're not expecting newly furbished slickness and are primarily interested in a good night's sleep at a reasonable cost, this place is fine. The room and en-suite were both large and reasonably well-appointed, given the price paid.
The reproduction period furniture didn't quite work for us, and the whole place could use a freshen up. But, for the price we aren't complaining.
Would we stay again? Given the same set of requirements - yes.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the bit of extra money
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located on St Kilda Rd just down from the Shrine of Remembrance and near the Botanical Garden, this is a great location for exploring Melbourne. Good tram connections to CBD and St Kilda. Reasonably priced, for Melbourne. Our room, no 8, had none of the problems mentioned in other reviews - on the back of the hotel, with no view, but quiet. Tea and coffee-making facilities provided but no breakfast included in the rate. Pay laundry facilities available on site. Wifi worked wel. There are cafes close by for breakfast. Based on our experience, we would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after googling accom near Rod Laver Arena. Perfect location - 20 minute walk to the Arena. Room size was great, bathroom was a little grubby, mould in grout, corners etc looked a though it needed a good scrub and bleaching! Overall for budget, we didnt have high expectations, and got what we paid for. Staff were quite helpful, couldn't fault them though.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I don't often feel inclined to write a review on trip advisor but our experience was not a terribly pleasant one and I wish to advise others to avoid here if possible. Very outdated and dirty, rooms and bathroom need a good clean and upgrade. We also had a room facing the road and found it difficult to sleep with all the notice from St Kilda Road. Owner was also not helpful when we broached the subject. You're better off staying at a backpackers if you're on a budget.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews