We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ”
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #70 of 4,656 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We waited for about 45 minutes for a table which is fine, we were expecting a long wait. We had a few drinks in the bar downstairs and after a lot of back and fourth conversation seeing if the bar could make a cocktail, we finally got our drinks. In the restaurant we sat on a table which should be for 2 (there was 3 of us). Service wasn’t great, rather non existent to be fair.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 313lewisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 415 of 5,130 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

we paid for the meal where they bring you a selection of their favourite dishes. we got a bit confused and though the price was between us, but it was each which was $80 i think. however, despite the shock of the price at payment, the food was delicious! we had so much, so would be worth the price. it was very busy and people were queuing outside! but we turned up early so we would get in. it was very very good food, i definitely recommend. only thing it felt like we were being cleared out very quickly after we ate, but it was busy so i can understand that, just felt a teenyyyy bit rushed. but highly recommend nonetheless.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Great Food, good venue but the set times takes the shine off the night. A group of 10 with different dietary requirements was easily catered for. Great selection of beers. If you want a longer night suggest you try to book the later sitting.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We waited for almost two hours to get a table on a Monday night and we were happy to do so after hearing amazing things !
The food did not disappoint , it was incredible !
But be warned, it comes out very very fast so if you have the tasting menu Like we did, you end up with lots of food and lots of dishes all at once !
Felt rushed but I get it when there’s people still coming in to eat at 10:00 at night!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank lkamphuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We have managed to get in for a lunch and dinner twice without having to wait more than a few minutes which makes you feel like you won lotto . Food is delicious , certainly not cheap but service is good , venue is buzzing and well worth the money .

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank LynneP714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing