We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
394
263
87
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
263
87
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free pancakes common areas basement bar free wifi bed female dorm chill room big kitchen opposite flinders street station great location top bunk common room every morning rooms are clean great facilities central location air conditioning free tram zone
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 778 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights and loved every part of it. Firstly the staff were super friendly and helpful, it was my first time in Melbourne and they gave me loads of advice on what to do in and around the city.
This hostel has one of the best kitchens I’ve used since being in Australia, lots of space, a free spice and sauce rack and ovens!
The rooms were spacious and clean, also you get your own light and plug with each bed which is awesome!
The bar on the basement level is great also, they have cool events on most nights and the host and bar staff are cool people too.
When I come back to Melbourne I will definitely be staying here again!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank r_p_thomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thanks so much for leaving us review! It really means a lot to us that you have enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully you will get to stay with us again soon. Best of luck in the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Female 12 bed room was a disaster (I cannot imagine how it would be to stay in the mixed room). There is no space to order personal belongings so everybody just throw their things in the way. Extremely messy. If you are in the second level bed you will have to sleep with all the small bags you have if you don't want to get the room even messier. Also, too hot. The two fans in the room didn't help at all.. The beds shake af, so if you want to go to the toilet in the middle of the night you will wake up the other person for sure. Bathrooms are absolutely disgusting, every time someone takes a shower it turns to a real sauna. Only one toilet in the bathroom that is not clean at all. The bar was ok, good activities but drinks are a bit expensive to be a hostel. Toilets in the bar were the worst. Stinky and dirty. Booked for 4 nights and checked out after the 2nd. After all, if you want to enjoy your vacations you need to be satisfied with your accommodation. Good thing is the free pancakes in the morning, but no other option for breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank luciananovellad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnitedMel, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

G'Day there, thanks so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate feedback from guests whether it is positive or negative. All guests are encouraged to store their belongings in the huge locker underneath your bed to make sure that the room is as clear as possible. Housekeeping will also put signs on the room door if they feel that guests are not utilizing the space in the dorm to its best advantage. I can see that you had stayed with us for one night and then made a second booking to stay longer, so you must have thought we were good enough to extend.We would advise you to perhaps book a smaller dorm in future for a bit more money if you wanted some more space, rather than booking the cheapest room in the hostel. We also apologize if the free pancake breakfast wasn't enough for you. We really hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

For young backpackers, it is an ideal accommodation; but for a couple from interstate who are visiting Melbourne, it is not a good idea to stay here. Noise late at night and wee hours of the morning is a challenge and upon entering the main lobby at night, the smell of cigarette smoke from the bar is evident; their elevator has faulty issues too and expect to take the stairs. However, for the price-it is cheaper and excellent location as it is in front of Flinders Train Station and trams are accessible; but might as well spend extra $50 or $70 to the total cost and stay in a hotel where noise and other factors will not be an issue.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budzg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnitedMel, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

G'Day! Thanks so much for leaving a review. The bar is non-smoking so the smell that you are speaking of must be coming from Flinders street, which is unfortunately out of our control, we do try to keep the doors closed to prevent smoke from getting in. We also very rarely have any issues with our lift, luckily we only have 3 floors if this were the case. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

There was a great vibe in this hostel. I stayed 2 nights and left with lots of new mates! It’s a lot more social than other hostels I’ve stayed at in Melbourne and it’s really modern and clean. The Peter Pans staff are great too - I enjoyed their pancakes they made for us every day.
Would stay again!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JammyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnitedMel, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thanks so much for the awesome review! We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

The hostel was good, has a great kitchen and a good bar (closes a lot bit early). The bathrooms are not too clean. The staff was good and helpfully at all times.
The location is really great, it's opposite to Flinders station (Melbourne's biggest station) and across federation square.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nicolás B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnitedMel, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We will pass your comments onto the housekeeping team. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews