We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

stayed 4 nights in April and found this ideally situated for what we had planned. A minute from the free Circle tram, 5 mins walk across the bridge to the Crown complex, and maybe ten from the heart of the CBD. We had the basic suite with king bed and paid the $30 extra for breakfast included - the breakfast was well worth it and saved the time (and expense) of traipsing out each morning to find somewhere to eat. The room overlooked the river, so we saw the flames from the Crown complex each night, and the double glazing was good enough to block out nearly all of the noise from the trains and trams.
If you're on a bit of a budget I'd certainly recommend it.
btw - William St is undergoing road works at the moment so the free shuttle bus doesn't stop on William at the moment, but you can pick it up over the bridge.

Room Tip: most overlook the river but I'd ask to make sure anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan42Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Alan,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location, room features and breakfast, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    348
    81
    26
    13
See reviews for
224
369
64
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. Had an apartment with amazing views of the Yarra and Crown. Apartment was massive and well maintained. Limited interaction with staff, but each time we did they were all exceptionally professional, pleasant and helpful. As with every hotel there are some things Housekeeping need to pay more attention to such as a rangehood so covered in grease I thought it was frosted glass when I first pulled it out to use it! This didn't matter as we wiped it off ourselves. Will definitely be back here next time in Melbourne!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcs2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and the view from your apartment. Thank you for bringing to our attention the rangehood cleanliness, please be assured that the Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of the need for improved service standards and attention to detail in relation to the kitchen amenities.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hotel was in a good location, close to spencer st station. Not many restaurants in this part of the city being its only real downfall. We used the on site parking which was ok at $20 per night. The room itself (1 bedroom suite) worked fine for a young family of four. The hotel was clean and quite modern, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithFamilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I do apologize if we did not make this information available to you, insofar as eateries in our neighborhood are concerned, in Southbank alone there are 21 restaurants & 14 restaurants in Southgate, as well as food courts & cafes & bars, this does not include the more high-end restaurants in the casino complex which totals another 13. We would be delighted to recommend eateries next time that we have the pleasure of your company, there is so much to choose from.

May I also take this opportunity in thanking you for staying with us.

Kind Regards
Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nites and was upgraded to a 1Bd suite on the 9th floor. Friendly and very helpful staff, they had in-house parking spaces for $20 a nite which was helpful.

Room had a 42 inch television in the lounge plus a 26 inch one in the bedroom which are in better than the other hotels nearby.

Excellent views of the Yarra from the room, only drawback was the sound of the trains starting their runs at 5:15am. Will come back when I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne, and that our rooms and facilities met your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us; this allows our team to endeavor to exceed your expectations as this is our primary focus. This information I believe may be helpful in relation to noise levels, in that, the bedroom windows are double glazed; therefore we do recommend that the bedroom door is closed before retiring, so that the double glazing is more effective. If you would be so kind as to email (info@clarionsuitesgateway.com.au) your contact details we will note your preference of a quiet room for your next return visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway.

Thank you also for the opportunity in being of service to you.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days over the Easter period. Staff very friendly, we booked a 1 bedroom riverview room with views of the Yarra River and Crown Casino. Our room was spacious, bed comfortable, and clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernuch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always a delight to read such positive comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Staying here on business. The bathroom is from the arc! The sink ans mirror is in the bedroom. The bath has a Plastic mat! Beds ok and clean
Faced crown casino so heard Flinders St station from the 11th floor all night as well as the snoring from next door!!
Will never come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, this certainly offers us some input in relation to the bathroom set-up, which we inherited from the developer, and I am somewhat unsure if we will have much input when we commence our next refurbishment program in due course.

Although from a practical sense the set-up may be viewed as convenient, in that, whilst one person is in the bathroom, the sink and mirror allows each guest some privacy, as per your image.

We understand that the rubber mat does not suggest an aesthetic appeal; however, due to popular demand by guests, who are concerned about an accident, we think that this may be a suitable option in this regard.

All our rooms are double glazed, and I do hope that in this instance the room that you occupied was sealed properly, sometimes guest remove by sliding the additional glass panel which impacts noise penetration. Thank you also for your comment in relation to noise emanating from the adjoining room, we will certainly monitor future guest comments, generally we do not experience feedback of this nature.

It is with regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us, your comfort is our primary focus, we do have limited recourse in matters in how the building was designed, however, I would like to assure you that we will endeavour to do our best based on your comments when we have an opportunity in presenting suggestions during our next refurbishment program.

In the interim if you will kindly provide your contact details, so that we may have an occasion in making available to you various room/suite options. Should your travel schedule bring you back to Melbourne, I would be delighted if you would contact my office so that we may have an opportunity in restoring your confidence in our hotel and services.

Best Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my 5 year old and 5 month old for 2 nights. We were in room 1381, a one bedroom apartment and found this to be quite suitable for our trip. The room was very modern, complete with full kitchen (oven, full size fridge, stove cooker) and also had its own LG washer/dryer combo unit which came in handy for me to wash cloth nappies. The room was also very clean. There were only a couple of things I could gripe about. 1. Our room was situated right behind the lift shaft. Whilst I could here the comings and goings of the lifts during the day, it did not keep me awake at night, but traveling with two small children may have helped my sleeping! 2. The bathroom was an ensuite off the main bedroom. Bit of a pain if the baby was asleep on the main bed. The shower in the bathroom was very small and even having the sliding door opened fully, I struggled to squeeze through the gap sideways holding my baby. On the whole, this is not a family room as such so would be perfect for a couple :). The staff were great, allowing me to leave my luggage secured upon my early arrival. I ordered dinner from the room service menu and it was very good, as too was the buffet breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. There was a large lap swimming pool on level 5 although I did not go in! The hotel is located on the south side of the CBD area and within walking distance of Flinders Street train station, Southbank and Melbourne Aquarium. Trams pass by the front, although you MUST carry coins to buy tickets. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure :)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Melinda,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed our location and service.
I note you comments about the bathroom, next time can I recommend you book a one bedroom riverview suite, this room type has access to the bathroom from the lounge room and not the bedroom.
May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing