We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful lunch”

Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne
Ranked #26 of 4,482 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Afternoon tea at The Hotel Windsor is a quintessential Melbourne experience, steeped in tradition. Our hotel has proudly served over two million guests since 1883.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Afternoon tea is more like lunch but in a good way. The building is beautifully cared for, rich in history. You dine in very pleasant surroundings. Staff are friendly, efficient and courteous.
Sandwiches and pastries were very fresh along with the desserts. Champagne topped off the usual decadence of the high tea.
We tried the Windsor blend tea which was good but I didn’t find it outstanding.
The two hours sitting was plenty to enjoy for the afternoon.
I would definitely do this again. It was very relaxing.

There were 4 of us. My husband, teen son and friend. We all were well catered for. My son has a nut allergy and this was no problem. A separate high tea stand was bought out solely for him. We were advised that they are a nut free kitchen but still went the extra length to avoid any cross contamination. Very impressed and grateful.

1  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Dear Monica,

The pleasure was all ours. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always a delight to hear when guests can soak in the glamorous old-world charm of the restaurant whilst enjoying their Afternoon Tea.

I am thrilled to hear that you felt your son's allergy was looked after with sensitivity and care - we do try our very best to make sure all worries are put aside for everyone to enjoy the afternoon equally.

We look forward to the pleasure of you and your family's return in the near future.

Warm Regards

Julie David
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2018

My Partner and I were celebrating our engagement and we have never experienced high tea before. The Windsor was amazing! Excellent, attentive and personal service. Food was incredible so good that I would recommend not to wear tight jeans. Would 100% recommend the High Tea at The Windsor as it is also such a beautiful building.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Dear Clare,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you here, especially for such an important celebration as your anniversary.

I am thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed all the element of the afternoon from the surroundings to the food, and thank you for your kind compliments regarding the service - they will be passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another relaxing afternoon with us for your next celebration.

Warm Regards

Julie David
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

If you want to do High Tea properly, especially if you have not experienced High Tea before, the Hotel Windsor is the place to go. Impeccable service, excellent ambience, attention to detail with the cutlery and crockery...simply sublime. I will be returning later this year.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank makeupnamehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you here with us for a lovely, relaxed Afternoon Tea. Thank you for your kind compliments of the service as well as your recommendations to others.

I am thrilled to hear that you could sit back and soak up the atmosphere of our elegant dining room. It is always a pleasure when guests can celebrate the old-world charm of the Hotel Windsor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit later in the year.

Warm Regards

Julie David
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

From the moment we entered this historic hotel we were greeted warmly by all staff that we passed. Our table waiter was bubbly and friendly and was happy to full-fill any of our requests. The food served was delicious and the variety of teas available suited all our personal tastes. The peaceful, elegant atmosphere made it easy to talk and was very relaxing. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay all day. We can't wait to find an excuse to go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JKR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

What a delight to read through your glowing review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you here, and we also regret that you couldn't have stayed longer.

Thank you for your kind compliments of the team, as well as the delicious savories and sweets. Indeed our beautiful dining room does lend an aura of elegance, and I am thrilled that you could relax and enjoy Afternoon Tea in style.

Looking forward to your next celebration with us in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards

Julie David
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

The afternoon tea was amazing starting from the first glass of champagne. The three tiers afternoon tea menu along with the delicious scones and premium tea were simply an enjoyment. It was the first time of the high tea that we could reorder the dish again and again if we could finish it. The atmosphere was amazingly with high ceiling and simply classy. Service was awesome too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mooliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

The pleasure was all ours. Thank you for these kind words, your glowing feedback is much appreciated, and I am thrilled to hear that you could have such a lovely, relaxing afternoon with us.

I am so glad that we could cater for you with more savories, sometimes they're too delicious not to try again!

Thank you, again, for your kind compliments of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Julie David
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing